Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOT MORE ARGYBARGY FOR YOUR BUCK
1980's Argybargy was the album that proved Squeeze were more than two hit wonders. Artistically it was a big step up from Cool for Cats and managed to maintain the cheeky chappy persona of the previous records whilst upping the intelligence factor and greatly expanding Difford & Tilbrook's songwriting horizons. Chris's lyrics in particular were becoming very smart by...
Published on 19 Mar. 2008 by Mr. Christopher J. Welch

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy argy bargy
Most of the spate of 2CD Deluxe Edition re-releases of recent years are not worth the accolade and 'Argy Bargy' is no different. It's a good, but not great album which sees the band pushing on from the instant party pop of 'Cool For Cats' in search of music with more depth, something which came to fruition on 'East Side Story.' Both of those albums are classics and are a...
Published on 30 April 2008 by D. J. H. Thorn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOT MORE ARGYBARGY FOR YOUR BUCK, 19 Mar. 2008
1980's Argybargy was the album that proved Squeeze were more than two hit wonders. Artistically it was a big step up from Cool for Cats and managed to maintain the cheeky chappy persona of the previous records whilst upping the intelligence factor and greatly expanding Difford & Tilbrook's songwriting horizons. Chris's lyrics in particular were becoming very smart by this, the bands third long player.
This remastered and hugely expanded reissue is without doubt the pick of the first batch of Squeeze re-releases and presents a band on the cusp of true greatness.
'Pulling Muscles From A Shell' and 'Another Nail For My Heart' still sound as fresh and full of energy as they did 28 years ago !! The former, in particular, is a masterclass in songwriting and features one of Jools Hollands greatest piano solos. 'If I Didn't Love You' is every bit the great lost single (it was an A Side in America) with the best lines on the record - 'singles remind me of kisses/albums remind me of plans' - genius. 'There At The Top' and 'Separate Beds' are both underated gems and 'I Think I'm Go GO' showed that Tilbrook had lost none of his passion for experimentation within the mainstream.
Of the extra tracks on this 2008 reissue the best is the beautiful 'What The Butler Saw' - apparently left off ArgyBargy because it sounded too middle of the road. The Del Newman string arrangement is highly inventive, Tilbrooks melody is stunning and Difford's lyrics are near literal. The 1980 concert is also an added bonus and shows a band both hungry and surprisingly accomplished for ones so young (Tilbrook was still in his very early 20's)
They would go onto make better records, but for sheer vibrance and ambition Argybargy is still a winner. In it's expanded form it's also great value.

cw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP CLASS POP!, 11 Sept. 2008
I have to say, I totally disagree with the previous review - this is a top class pop album featuring Squeeze at their best. (To descibe the album as "patchy" makes me wonder if Mr. Thorn actually sat down and listened to the album more than once..?!)
Alongside the classic singles "Pulling Mussels" and "Another Nail.." there are some real crackers such as "Farfisa Beat", "Separate Beds" ('her mother didn't like me, I'd never peel the spuds...'), "Vicky Verky" and "There At The Top". In my opinion, this album shows Difford & Tilbrook's songwriting maturing majestically: lyrically, melodically and musically. (Like The Beatles a la Rubber Soul). It's a natural step on from the punky pop on the "Squeeze" and "Cool For Cats" albums - and shows an emerging maturity and confidence (to be surpassed even further in 1981 with the magnificent "East Side Story" album).
The remastering on this album is excellent, really brings the songs to life and makes 'em sound as fresh as a daisy - and the bonus live disc is a further reminder of what a great live band Squeeze truly are...
So, I urge you, ignore the previous review and buy this album: it's a bona-fide Squeeze classic, worth every penny.....and you won't be disappointed!
Cheers then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding,why didn't it sell millions?, 20 Aug. 2010
By 
s "s" (north west) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argy Bargy (Audio CD)
Nearly twenty five years ago,i took my wife to watch Squeeze at the Royal Court in Liverpool.They were superb.They broke up,we have stayed together though my interest in music changed.Now,i've rediscovered them and this is a second album of theirs that i've purchased recently.They are both superb but this has tracks that are so brilliant,i can't believe i haven't heard them before."Separate Beds" has great lyrics,"Farfisa Beat" has a catchy tune and "If i didn't love you" is apt because i hated it at first but now love it.Vicky Verky is amazing but even better with just Glenn Tilbrook and Simon Hanson playing live on a video on YouTube.Buy this album and you won't be disappointed.I only wish i'd discovered it earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 30 July 2010
A great collection of Squeeze's greatest work that includes a live concert CD at Hammersmith 1980. It brought back some fond memories when I was 16. A great buy, absolute value for money for some timeless music. We don't get lyrics like those anymore!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quintessential English band :) <3, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
Hannah Stringfellow "Squeezefan4ever" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argy Bargy (Audio CD)
Squeeze really came into their stride with this album, and its one of my faves! Every track is fabulous, with the well known ones probably being 'Pulling mussels {from the shell}' and 'Another nail in my heart', but there are many other fantastic tracks on this album, including the brilliant 'I think I'm go go', I would definitely recommend this to anyone who knows good music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, great remastering, but the usual major flaws with expanded reissues, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
Laurent (Bordeaux, France) - See all my reviews
Other reviewers have pointed how great this album is. The live performance is terrific, a must have. The remastering job is very good, not too loud / too compressed like all other reissues out there. But the usual flaws with expanded editions are there: 1) the missing track: of all the non-album songs released at the time, all are there (and it's great having Pretty One on CD for the first time) except Christmas Day, the first single released with John Bentley on bass in late '79, although the b-side Going Crazy is included. So you'll still have to buy Excess Moderation or The Big Squeeze if you want that particular song. 2) the inaccurate credits for the bonus material: how can this 1979 version of Someone Else's Heart be produced by Bechirian/Costello which they didn't meet and work with until later in 1980 when Jools Holland had left the group? How can a Glenn Tilbrook home demo of I Didn't Love You be produced by John Wood and Squeeze?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Argy Bargy - Squeeze, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argybargy Deluxe Edition (2CD Set) (MP3 Download)
Great album from a great band. Music like this will go on forever. Shame there isn't more of it about today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argy Bargy Review, 4 July 2010
By 
Bought for the live concert, which is very good and contains their most popular hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy argy bargy, 30 April 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Most of the spate of 2CD Deluxe Edition re-releases of recent years are not worth the accolade and 'Argy Bargy' is no different. It's a good, but not great album which sees the band pushing on from the instant party pop of 'Cool For Cats' in search of music with more depth, something which came to fruition on 'East Side Story.' Both of those albums are classics and are a distance ahead of this. It begins, nevertheless, with two great singles, 'Pulling Mussels' and 'Another Nail In My Heart,' the latter being arguably their best ever recording. Most of the other songs are simply barely above average, with the notable exception of 'Separate Beds' and 'If I Didn't Love You,' while Jools Holland's party piece, 'Wrong Side Of The Moon,' is impressive, even if it does sound more suited to his rhythm and blues orchestra. 'Misadventure' is messy, while 'Here Comes That Feeling' highlights Chris Difford's vocal limitations. As ever, the lyrics are imaginative and witty, but the music is relatively uninspiring, despite the band's obvious enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews