Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2004
Apparently created in less than 3 weeks, from start to finish, this is a great album and possibly Skynyrd's best. They worked 16-hour days during that time, their first break in touring for months. However, before it was released, guitarist Ed King had left (or been pushed - depending on who you listen to!), unwilling to put up with the workload any more. However, the superb Artimus Pyle is on drums, making this the strongest lineup to date. I'm amazed how the arrangement on songs like "I'm a Country Boy" and "On the Hunt" are so good - the three guitars all intertwining in that superb Skynyrd fashion - riffs, solos, slide - it's all there. There's really not a bad track on this album - even the back-to-roots "Made in the Shade" is a great foot-tapper - I defy you to listen to that song without a smile on your face.
Get the remastered version, for clarity and the two bonus tracks - not very good recording-wise, but interesting live stuff. And a very nice booklet with a few good snippets in too. Well done to the record company!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2002
Skynyrd rules man!! I'm only 22 and from the Black Country but I love southern rock. I'd say this is their most heavy rock album with poignant churners like saturday night special and surly crunchers like country boy (with an ace twin harmony bridge after the second chorus). On the hunt is excellent, somewhat reminiscent of Free, which I believe is intentional as it refers to their song the hunter. Railroad song is classic driving material that even has some of my non-fan friends tapping their feet. This is my all round favourite Skynyrd album, probably cuz I was always into the slightly heavier side of the band but dont get me wrong I love everything they do. GET IT!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
Nuthin' Fancy (1975) was Lynyrd Skynyrd's third studio album, and their first to reach the Top 10, peaking at #9 on the US albums chart.

It's got the classic Saturday Night Special, On the Hunt & Whiskey Rock-a-Roller as well as lesser known album tracks. This Re-issue also contains live versions of Railroad Song and On the Hunt!

Track Listing:
Saturday Night Special (E. King, R. Van Zant) - 5:08
Cheatin' Woman (R. Van Zant, G. Rossington, A. Kooper) - 4:38
Railroad Song (E. King, R. Van Zant) - 4:14
I'm a Country Boy (A. Collins, R. Van Zant) - 4:24
On the Hunt (A. Collins, R. Van Zant) - 5:25
Am I Losin' (G. Rossington, R. Van Zant) - 4:32
Made in the Shade (R. Van Zant) - 4:40
Whiskey Rock-a-Roller (E. King, R. Van Zant, B. Powell) - 4:33

1999 CD reissue bonus tracks:
Railroad Song (Live)
On the Hunt (Live)

So you get some classic Skynyrd tracks with two live tracks thrown in at a bargain price!

9/10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Despite not housing a 'freebird' or a 'sweet home alabama' this album is every bit a good as the previous 2 discs.Although personnel upheaval would ensue,Artimus Pyle replacing Bob Burns on drums and Ed King leaving after the recording,Skynyrd remained a strong unit.

Opening with 'Saturday Night Special' a statement of intent if there was ever one,Skynyrd rockin like only they can.Certainly on this disc the country roots are more to the fore with the likes of 'Im A Country Boy/Made In The Shade/Railroad song while the rock sensibilities kept in check with 'Whisky rock a roller,On the Hunt.That just leaves the stunning 'Cheatin Woman' with Ronnie's taut vocals over superlative guitar with some stunning solo's whilst possibly the stand out track ,the emotional 'Am I Losin' showing Ronnie's disenchantment with theworld he was now inhabiting as a result of the bands success.The Remaster adds an extra clarity to the disc,although it was always pretty good.

Bonus Tracks : interesting if not essential live recordings of 'Railroad Song' and 'On The Hunt' from the Winterland,san francisco 1975.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
My first impression when I got this album (on vinyl back in the 70's) was that I didn't like it as much as the first two. However, repeated listenings led to it growing on me. The album was written and recorded in a short space of time because of the hectic touring schedule and some of the songs might have developed more if they had had more time but the playing and singing are of a very high standard.

'Saturday Night Special' gets things off to a great start (the most immediate song on the album) and 'Cheating Woman' continues the good work but some of the other songs take a bit longer to get under your skin. 'I'm a Country Boy' and 'On the Hunt' are the tracks which made the most impression on me (the CD features a live bonus version of 'On the Hunt' as well as the original version) whilst 'Whisky Rock-a-Roller' is not as exciting as the version on 'One More from the Road' and 'Railroad Song' (also featured as a live bonus track on the CD) is possibly my least favourite Skynyrd song ever. 'Made in the Shade' is a back to the roots unplugged bluesy thing whilst 'Am I losing' highlights the more gentle country-influenced side of the band.

Overall, this is not the album I would recommend to someone who is looking for an introduction to Lynyrd Skynyrd but if you've already got some of the other albums it is absolutely worthwhile adding this one to your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Although not stated this is a Quality Record Pressing by Analogue Production in the USA they are without doubt some of the finest pressings in the world wonderfully quiet pressing Highly Recommended. No need to review music as its goes without saying superb!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
The title is misleading. of all their albums this is my favorite. Each song tells a story and they build a picture of a life far removed from my own. Its a joy to experience something so outside of my own experiences that it is an experience in itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
This album is awsoome if you like this band or style of rock you can buy with confidence this is deffently one of there best albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
great country rock by the best country rock band. great music to listen to when driving.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
CD Arrived promptly in good order. A valued addition to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)