Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Music, 27 Jan. 2009
This edition has too small liner notes (my eyesight is fine, thankyouverymuch, but still...) and the package is far from luxurious,
but this is desert island material...

Beautiful collaboration of two giants (and their collaborators); Duke is the composer of most of the material (Billy Strayhorn and Coltrane are composer of one song each) and this is probably more suitable for Duke fans (such as myself) than for hardcore late-Coltrane fans.
But, if you like Coltrane's My favorite things album, or his album with Johnny Hartman, you'll feel quite at home with this beauty.

Since the music is so simply but subtly beautiful, I don't need luxurious packaging to enjoy this (although I wouldn't mind it).
So - 5 stars for the music, the rest - I don't care about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Moments of Brilliance, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This 1962 collaboration between two of the all-time jazz greats provides some great moments, but, for me, probably does not quite reach the heights that it might have done, based on the stature of Messrs. Ellington and Coltrane. I suspect that this may have been due to the combination of a number of factors, including the novelty of playing together (on this once-off occasion) and the mutual respect between the two potentially inhibiting the flamboyance of the playing. Indeed, Coltrane did comment after the event that he would have liked to have re-recorded some of the numbers, given the chance.

Nevertheless, there is still much to be admired here, with an immediate highlight on show in Duke's superlative ballad In A Sentimental Mood which kicks off the album with some of Coltrane's trademark tremulously sensitive playing and Ellington's equally beautifully ivory tinkling. Other standout tracks for me are Duke's blues tune Stevie (dedicated to Ellington's drummer nephew Stephen James), on which Coltrane delivers a brilliant bout of blues sax, and Coltrane's own composition Big Nick (this time dedicated to ex-Dizzy Gillespie sideman, tenor sax player Big Nick Nicholas), which morphs from playful beginnings into another impressive Coltrane solo, this time on soprano sax. But my favourite track on the album is Ellington's Angelica, which builds from its notoriously jaunty and infectious theme into a true band tour-de-force, with both Duke and Coltrane excelling, along with the notably more up-front (Coltrane's regular) rhythm section of Elvin Jones pounding the drums and Jimmy Garrison on bass.

Not absolutely in the top drawer for either of these great jazz players, therefore, but certainly of considerable merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Roger Davies (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
didn't know what to expect. bought on the names: what would be produced from their very different talents coming together? the answer:magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best...., 11 Oct. 2014
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Duke Ellington and John Coltrane would not be seen as natural musical bed fellows. But much like the superb outing that Coltrane cooked up with singer Johnny Hartman this session works beautifully. Perhaps it is because Coltrane and Ellington have more in common then we might at first think. Firstly of course, while both have their distinct musical identities, they have the ability to adjust to the setting in which they find themselves. Duke often composed pieces or arranged musical settings for particular players in his orchestra. Also Duke’s piano was a never a dominate part of his musical vision. Rather it served as a part of the rhythm section or was restricted to making little melodic statements, particularly at the introduction of a particular tune. In other words, Duke was never battling to be a soloist. Meaning of course in this context, Coltrane has plenty of room to solo when the chance comes. Coltrane at the other hand, despite his ability to roam far and wide into the musical hinterland had a beautiful tone on the sax as well as a respect for melody that many sax players of his ilk could not so easily claim.

‘Ellington and Coltrane’ is a wonderfully relaxed but considered album. As I write I am listening to the bluesy beauty of ‘My little Brown Book’ and it is at moments like this that you hear the Ellington /Coltrane partnership really come to life.

So, like the other reviewers I rate this album as being a wonderful thing. The old seadog Ellington shows he can sit in with a young gun and still be relevant, while Coltrane demonstrates that he still has a feel for the jazz of a previous era. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Equisite jazz but..., 27 Oct. 2013
This is a wonderful CD documenting the meeting between two jazz giants. So why only 4 stars? It is wonderful to hear Duke's piano in a rare small group setting, but how much better it would have been to hear Trane in the context of the full Ellington orchestra. Or better still, a mix of both. With only 39 minutes playing time, we could have had four or five Ellington specials with Coltrane blowing his lungs out.
Still one of the great CDs of jazz, regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite meeting of two jazz giants., 13 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
One of the joys of the best jazz music is hearing great artists playing off each other. These two giants complement each other perfectly here. Coltrane's lyricism floats over Ellington's delicately textured piano playing to beautiful effect, especially in In A Sentimental Mood. An essential purchase for lovers of Trane and the Duke alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Just one of the definitive Jazz albums of the world. It just makes you want to kick of your shoes, open some wine, get comfy and just let the music take you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 4 May 2014
By 
K. √rsell "Symede" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this! The only thing I have against it is that it's obviously two totally different characters collaborating, and the don't always blend that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Greats, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. K. Bowyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (MP3 Download)
This album, although short in duration, presents a great collaboration of two superb artists. Classic tunes are given a slightly new twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Duke & Coltrane, 25 April 2013
By 
Stuart (MILLOM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (MP3 Download)
Two great artist performing together, its is pure Harmomey a very good Jazz recording you must give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duke Ellington & John Coltrane
Duke Ellington & John Coltrane by Duke Ellington & John Coltrane
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews