Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Contender For Best Album of the Nineties.
With Stanley Road Paul Weller has managed to prove to his fans and his critics that he is still an important musician even in his solo days. He hasn't just written 12 good songs, instead, he's written one great album. A factor in any great album is the overall feel that perpetuates each song, making them all feel as though they deserve their place and complimenting the...
Published on 7 Mar 2006 by S. G. Toyne

versus
1 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment � needs time
I have had this CD for a long time and have never really listened to it properly - it just did not jump out and grab me at all. This is a really serious listening CD and I think you need time to sit and listen intensely. Not a CD I would want to play often.
Published on 14 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Contender For Best Album of the Nineties., 7 Mar 2006
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
With Stanley Road Paul Weller has managed to prove to his fans and his critics that he is still an important musician even in his solo days. He hasn't just written 12 good songs, instead, he's written one great album. A factor in any great album is the overall feel that perpetuates each song, making them all feel as though they deserve their place and complimenting the songs that come before and after them.

A mostly guitar driven album, Weller fuses good solos and riffs with his usual effective lyrics, often ending a song with a long instrumental that gently ushers in the next song, which gladly and competently carries the album along. However, there is the occasional song that primarily uses the piano evoking another great feel. Though these songs are quite different from the guitar based ones, they seem to come at just the right points in the album so that, not only are they a nice change of direction, but also they effortlessly fit in. To truly appreciate this fine album start at the beginning and just let it play on to the end. It far outweighs the sum of its parts, and as these parts are so good, you're in for a great journey.

The Changing Man- This was a hit in the UK and is a good indication into how this album will sound. There are some great little examples of guitar work going on here, more will follow throughout the rest of the tracks.

Porcelain Gods- This songs brings the mellow vibe with its gentle electric guitar opening. The highlights are the lyrics; `How disappointed I was to turn out after all, just a porcelain god, that shatters when it falls'.

Walk On Guilded Splinters- Another slow bluesy track that follows on nicely from the previous. Again, the lyrics shine above all in this song. Wellar really does have a way of writing some interesting lyrics and his delivery of them are always great. The track ends with a slow jam that trickles to the end. Not a great tune, more of a little jam session that made it onto the album.

You Do Something To Me-From the beautiful piano intro we immediately know that we are going to hear something different in this song than wat was heard in the previous tracks. Simple and effective lyrics and likewise in the piano and guitars make this song so beautiful. A major standout on the album, absolutely heaven.

Woodcutter's Son-Back with a rocking guitar intro, a piano quickly joins in and we're back with a more upbeat tempo. This tune is quite catchy, and Wellars gruff voice shines throughout. Again, another track that ends with a long jam.

Time Passes-A lovely intro, great lyrics and a lovely mellow feel to it. I always forget about this track whenever I think about this album, but when it comes on I just fall in love with it all over again.

Stanley Road-The intro will have you tappin your feat to the piano and drum, another catchy little number. Despite the fact that this is the title song, it isn't anything too special. There is nothing wrong with it but there isn't that certain somethin that makes it stand out.

Broken Stones-Broken Stones is another simple yet beautiful track. Wellar can write great songs with great guitar parts that rock and groove but songs like this prove he can strip it all down and write a track that has the beauty and passion that other artists can.

Out Of The Sinking-A very bluesy song and once again some good lyrics. This song really suits Wellar's style of singing, I find he has a really underrated voice.

Pink On White Walls-I really like this song, though it is by no means one of the best on this album. It surely is underrated, it is borderline mediocre but i think it just manages to get on the right sode of the line.

Whirlpools' End-Overral I dont rate this song, but there are some good parts to it. I find it really gets good about 2 minutes in. I do love the jam that appears at the end for at least 4 minutes. Would be nice to play along in the studio.

Wings Of Speed-The final song is a strange one to end with, it has a gospek feel and almost sounds like nothing else on the album, save for the piano that was present in some of the songs. I really love this song, again simplistic and beautiful, Paul's voice holds it's own and the background singing is just fabulous. This song is too short, it needs to have a few more minutes of it. I just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly superb album, 1 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
This is definitely an intense listening CD, but then if you're not into intense listening surely you could buy the flavour of the month CD (e.g Backstreet Boys/S-Club 7). Weller is a musical genius. Depending on your taste you may find yourself skipping a track or two when repeatedly listening to the album but this proves it's diversity.
Porcelain Gods is the substitute title track, it gets raving reviews every time the album is mentioned and I can't disagree. But there are songs on here, namely Out of the Sinking and Whirlpool's End, which can take you to a different level. The music can completely take you over and control your state of mind.
This is an album that will be firmly in your CD collection for decades to come, as opposed to many which you'd be selling on a car boot sale for 0.50 in 5 years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weller's finest, 8 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
The third studio album from Paul Weller, released just prior to that unforgettable swealtering hot summer of 1995, is easily the finest LP of his solo career to date. This album was really the consolidation of styles and influences that had began with the man's eponymous album in 1992 and Wild Wood the following year. After this album, Weller opted for out and out dad-rock, which is a shame because that's now become a label with which Mr Weller has been tagged. Sure, there are retro influences here, but not as direct as 1997's Heavy Soul album. Many fans prefer Wild Wood to this album but, although I would agree that album contains some great songs, it's Stanley Road that does it for me. This album simply oozes with class and superbly written songs. The CD also carries many memories for me as a lot of unwelcome things were happening in my life at the time this was released - some of the songs are inspirational (to say the least) and it was this album more than any other that helped me through not only the hottest but for me personally the most difficult summer I can remember. I could listen to this album over and over again, it's an under-rated classic in my opinion. Great album, great songs, ignore the negative reviews - they just don't appreciate quality songwriting. A fine album that will sit happily in ANY collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE WELLER, 6 Aug 2005
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
This is an amazing C.D and it has most of wellers best songs on it. I love it and I am sure that you will love it to. Paul Weller has a voice like no other sinnger out there and he the lyrics to his songs are just amazing. BUY THIS C.D NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars takes a little getting used to, but it's worth it, 27 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
It's a great CD, especially if your into more mature music than what finds its way into the charts nowadays. It's worth listening to just to appreciate Weller's awesome talent, and although some people find it a little 'intense' or 'heavy' to have on in the background, I find that it's a great CD to drive to etc. I was torn between giving it four or five stars - it's not perfect, but it is a damn good listen. In the end I gave it five because if it encourages more people to listen to music like this, then that can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted this album for ages!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
I have wanted this album for a very long time and I am not disappointed by it. Well worth waiting for. The songs are timeless and sound as fresh now as they did when the album was first released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect - and he knows it!, 3 Jun 2008
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
Weller fans will love this, but then again, so will almost everyone!

I'm quite hard to please, but I have to say that in a career spanning over 30 years, there's been very little of Weller's work that I've disliked. Admittedly, as a 15 year-old lad, I was sad when The Jam dissolved, but later in life I realised the importance of that move. Likewise, I lost the plot a bit when TSC became completely obsessed with themselves, but apart from that, there have been very few "speed wobbles".

So for me, the stand-out tracks are "broken stones", "thechangingman" and "time passes"....but what an awesome album! Choose your own favourites. Who remembers when he did "The White Room" with Noel Gallagher?

Hands up who wants to be Paolo Hewitt?.....that's a "no" then?...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well ARD Weller !, 29 Oct 2005
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
now we're with the big boys. the modfather is one of our greatest singer songwriters. lennon/mcartney,townsend, ray davies,ian dury, elvis costello,page n plant, bowie and even Bolan. Mr weller is there with all our greats. forget commercial success. listen to the music, top of the pops are fake ,the top 40 does not matter. weller saw a vision,a land of songs for the massis.what ever encarnation you prefer. An angry adolesent, soul boy or cool elder statesman of cool britania. i first heard the mod father when i was a teenager with no direction. its corny but after listening to snap i had a direction. politics.anway less of my left wing stroke marxist views. lets talk about the best album to come out of the ninties. by stanley road he was already a multy millionair, but you would never have guessed. he still had the common touch. enjoy the music of a modern genius !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, 9 Aug 2001
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums I wish I'd bought on vinyl, not just for the sound, but because it would suit the timeless yet rustic quality of Weller's best EVER work. Weller's original, charming style, which is not, unfortunately, remotely prevalent on Heliocentric, is in its element here; the harsh mod chords on Woodcutter's Son, the majesty of You Do Something To Me, the complex and thoughtful Out Of The Sinking... the list goes on. This album is one of my all-time favourites, and helped make me pick up the guitar. Steve White's funky off-beats and idiosyncratic style shines. In fact, all the band are impeccable. Even the mixing and production are crystal clear. Go and buy it. I really think it's almost flawless (with the exception of Pink On White Walls; a simultaneous nudge-wink-finger click). A stunning record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 15 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. R. Clarke "clarkey6881" (Liverpool, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stanley Road (Audio CD)
This Album is Brillant From Start to Finish. You Do Something To Me Is 1 Of The Greatest Songs Ever Written. Wings Of Speed Is In My Top 5 All Time Greatest Songs. Stanley Road Should Be In Everyones Cd Collection And In Every List Done By Music Magazines Of The Top 100 Albums You Must Own, Stanley Road Should Be In The Top 5.

Just Buy It, It's A Masterpiece, Weller Is A LEGEND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stanley Road
Stanley Road by Paul Weller
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews