Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-affirming soul classic
So much passes for soul music that isn't.

"Baduizm" slipped out onto the scene in 1997 as a debut that contained classy soul-jazz, perfectly delivered.

From the stunning single "on and on" to the ice-cold "certainly" to the charming "four leaf clover" this is a self-assured classic debut, comparable with soul standard classics.

Subtle yet...
Published on 29 Aug. 2006 by Merry Terry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but "samey"
Only heard one track before purchase. Good but "samey"
Published 3 months ago by Brian Chamberlain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One classy lady!, 23 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
I first heard this CD being played in a burger bar on a sultry summers afternoon. The vibe matched the heat and mood of the day. Badu's album is sheer class! It's one of those CD's you put on late afternoon/early evening in the summer. Just relax and let the cool grooves wash over you. Her musical style is an eclectic mix of jazz, rare groove,hip-hop, R'n'B and soul. Relaxed, mellow and intelligent. Badu is top of the class at the school of cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a way to get into R&B, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
I admit I've never really listened to R&B before, but I had enjoyed snippets of the genre when I had heard it. So I hit up Allmusic's 'Contemporary R&B' category and found this well recommended. I can see why! It is a relaxing but interesting collection of songs which I find utterly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived without the original album cover., 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great album! Love having the vinyl version in my collection.
Just a shame that the one I received from Amazon has just a plain black cover. Not the original one.
Other than that, all is fine! Delivery was super fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD CAN SOUND GREAT?, 18 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
One of my favourite CD's which clearly demonstrates how a well recorded CD SHOULD sound with DEEEEEP BASSSSS that ONLY good digital can do and I really love my vinyl too!!! Brilliant through my big Leak 2075 speakers. Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for all serious music fans., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
Baddu is to soul, funk, jazz music what Kate Bush is to rock'pop music.
Totally individual pushing the boundaries redefining the musical landscape.
Join the dots between Kate, Erykah & Bjork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable!, 27 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
I have owned this album for a number of years, but it remains my favourite! There is not a duff track on this relaxed, soulful and beautiful release from Badu. I only hope it doesn't take until my 'next lifetime' until a CD of this calibre appears again so that I can prise Badu from my CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
Even though this album is a few yrs old, its still a good sound for today.
Really enjoy the vibe a couple of tracks are not for me but on the whole well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album. best purchase in a long time, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
Best album I have purchased in a long time and only found out about her NY accident. Saw her on an old TV programme about soul divas. Will definitely be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music to enjoy, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm (Audio CD)
We took a bit of a gamble with this as shewas one of the suggested artists when we bought something else - it worked out very well - she's a great singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baduizm (MP3 Download)
Good Album some excellent tracks. Erykah has an out of the world voice and a great empowerment message to tell you about I am sure you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baduizm
Baduizm by Erykah Badu
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews