Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul music that actually has soul., 22 Jun 2008
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
Back in the 80s James was the acceptable face of blues as far as the NME was concerned, operating as Howling Wilf and the Veejays. That outfit was much more Chicago Blues orientated. I still have some of the vinyl and its great. Over the years though he has tilted more towards classic soul. His last album , People Gonna Talk, really nailed it. Fabulous songwriting, vocals like Sam Cooke, guitar like Howling Wolf's sideman Hubert Sumlin, lush horn riffage reminiscent of early James Brown, slabs of funky hammond. It was a terrific record and I'm surprised it didn't make him a household name. This follow up has if anything even stronger songwriting. Really tight pop soul numbers. The band sounds similar, with perhaps the addition of more strings along the way. I'd add the Drifters to the list of components this time out. The production is also once again excellent.

Some people are talking about James in the same breathe as Amy Winehouse and wondering why he is not as successful. I believe it is because although Amy references a lot of music from the same era as James, her records have a modern spin and modern lyrical concerns. James is a full on retro performer. It is difficult to tell if these songs come from 1968 or 2008. That can be nice. But I for one would love to hear producer Mark Ronson do a makeover on James Hunter - keep the classic references but give it a modern spin rather than stick entirely retro.

That said, this disc does not disappoint, and I hope James gets the success he deserves for this beautiful life-affirming music. Not all soul music these days actually has soul. James Hunter has it in spades though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr.Hunter does it again - with style, 12 May 2008
By 
S. Foster "Sharnalee" (Oxfordshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
Many of us have been eagerly waiting to see just how James Hunter would follow his highly acclaimed grammy-nominated album of 2006,"People Gonna Talk".Thankfully,he has once again evoked the warm,sweet sounds of the late '50s and early '60s,and somehow made them his own.This time round there are more complex arrangements,involving strings,additional instruments,backing vocals and all manner of clever touches,but it's all done in such a way it simply melts together into a rich,delicious whole,and feels surprisingly uncontrived.

Throughout the album,from the first infectious title track,with its backing vocal from music legend,Allen Toussaint,we hear exquisite arrangements combined with emotive vocals.By contrast,the stripped-to-the-bare-bones reworking of "Strange But True" is daringly uncomplicated - just the man and his guitar - but it's perfect.No more is necessary.

Stand-out tracks for me include the achingly beautiful "Hand It Over", with its gentle longing,the rockin' "Jacqueline",that surely even Jackie Wilson would have been proud of,"Carina",with its summery ska beat and "Class Act",which bounces along with James' trademark wit and humour.Having said that,there isn't a duff song on here - a testament to the songwriting skills of Mr.Hunter,who penned the lot.The upbeat Latin rhythms that the band are so good at are once again prevalent in "Ain't Goin' Nowhere" and the interesting reworking of "Believe Me Baby";the latter featuring Allen Toussaint's piano prowess alongside James' impressive fretwork."'Til the End" provides some moody blues and there's a new smooth sophistication to "Tell Her",with its horn and mellow,understated vocal,but it's still reassuring to hear James let rip on "She's Got a Way" and "Don't Do Me No Favours" as only he knows how.

Do see these guys live if you ever get the chance.They deliver the same effortless musicianship you hear on CD,but with an unbelievable added sweat value,derived from their relentless drive and energy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James makes it look easy, 6 May 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
James has had limited success in Britain on the blues/R&B circuit (where he was previously known as Howlin' Wilf) but in the last few years in the US he has enjoyed Grammy nominations for his 'People gonna talk' CD, nationwide tours and national TV appearances. I saw him on last year's San Francisco Blues Festival where, despite sharing the bill with established stars like Alan Toussaint, John Hammond, Charlie Musslewhite, Robert Randolph etc, he was (by far) the best thing on all weekend.

This follow-up to 'People gonna talk' was recorded in London's White Stripes-endorsed analogue Toe Rag studios and again sounds fabulous, straight from the late 50s. The sound, arrangements and indeed some of the songs are very similar to 'People gonna talk' but why change a winning formula? In truth some of the tracks have additional instruments (e.g. the strings and back up vocals on 'Hand it over' and the pedal steel on 'Carina') but the feel remains the same. It's easy to see James influences - Sam Cooke ('Carina') Ray Charles ('Don't do me no favours'), Sam Cooke ('The Hard Way', James Brown ('Believe me baby') - but what better influences to have? Alan Toussaint joins James for several tracks - possibly as a result of the meeting in San Francisco - but James' regular keyboard player Kyle Koeljer is also excellent throughout this CD, as are all his regular band.

If you liked 'People gonna talk' you will like 'The Hard Way', which has exactly the same feel and overall (excellent) sound but has just enough progressions to keep it interesting. In many ways James is doing similar material to Amy Winehouse, Dufy, Mark Ronson but doing it much more authentically; it's a pity he can't share their popularity in his own country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stuff heard from a friend he was good and not disappointed so would recommend to anyone who's into country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Music, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
I love, love, love this album, planning to buy other albums by him. Fifties feel to every track, a very good performer live!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not blues or soul..... nice easy listening, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. David R. Hopper "Dave H" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
If someone had played this without my knowing who it was, I would have guessed Paolo Nutini. But we like him too, so it's all right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
This is a great album from a great artist. Could listen to his voice all day long. Will buy his other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure retro soul, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Way (MP3 Download)
James and his gang catch the pure essence of early soul. A pleasure to kick back and enjoy when a chilled time is needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jh3, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
Good album if you like James Hunter I prefer the people gonna talk album myself but once youve seen him and heard him you want the lot,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Voice!, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hard Way (Audio CD)
I heard him for the 1st time on the radio recently, used Shazam (as was passively listening) to find out the owner of this marvellous soulful voice and Wow a 49 year bloke from Essex! I ordered the CD immediately. His vocals are so rich, a mix of Ray Charles, Sam Cooke and on some upbeat songs a touch of Chuck Berry, and the majority of his songs are written by him. The arrangements are excellent, backed by a very tight band. If Van the Man says he is great, that is good enough for me. If you like real music you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hard Way
The Hard Way by James Hunter
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews