Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A psych-pop gem
While their later albums concentrated more on the folk/rock/jazz elements of their music, this grand first effort can be seen as Traffic's 'Sgt Pepper'. A masterpiece of atmosphere, songwriting and psychedelia (without succumbing to the excesses of bands such as Pink Floyd), every track strikes true. 'Heaven Is In Your Mind' and 'Dear Mr Fantasy' are expansive rock...
Published on 30 May 2001 by adaml@callnetuk.com

versus
14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Digital Sound !
I bought this album on vinyl because the cd has a terribly compressed sound , only to discover that this album has been mastered directly from the cd and also has that awful digitally compressed sound , which defeats the object of buying the vinyl in the first place .
Vinyl Lovers might be the name of the label , but do they really love the sound of vinyl , as all of...
Published on 2 Jan 2009 by P. D. Laffey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A psych-pop gem, 30 May 2001
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
While their later albums concentrated more on the folk/rock/jazz elements of their music, this grand first effort can be seen as Traffic's 'Sgt Pepper'. A masterpiece of atmosphere, songwriting and psychedelia (without succumbing to the excesses of bands such as Pink Floyd), every track strikes true. 'Heaven Is In Your Mind' and 'Dear Mr Fantasy' are expansive rock showcases for Steve Winwood's many talents, Dave Mason's 'House For Everyone' and 'Stupidly Simple' are Beatle-style toytown psych at its best (check out the inventive "music box" opening of the former) - not to mention Cockney Singalong 'Berkshire Poppies', featuring The Small Faces' Steve Marriott; soulful ballad 'No Face No Name No Number'; and cheery jazz instrumental 'Giving To You'.
Along with 'Sgt Pepper', 'Ogdens Nutgone Flake' and 'Village Green Preservation Society', this is one of the seminal albums of psychedelic England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine debut for Winwood & Co, 7 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. C. W. Smith "karyobin@hotmail.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
'Dear Mr Fantasy' was a product of Steve Winwood's desire to distance himself from the hype of the pop scene and make a serious 'ROCK' record instead of the hip singles that he had been churning out with Spencer Davis and the angst of Dave Mason's desire for hit records ( only Mason wanted 'Hole in My Shoe' released as the groups second single the others opting for the more solid rock feel of 'Coloured Rain' ) .
With three hit singles under their belt, 'Paper Sun', 'Hole In My Shoe' & 'Here we go round the Mulberry Bush', the tensions within the band over direction and control proved too much and Manson left before the LP's release in December 1967.
'Dear Mr Fantasy' is a sucsess in spite of the waring factions as the varied material makes for interesting listening.
'Heaven Is In Your Mind', the beautiful 'No Face, No Name, No Number', 'Dear Mr Fantasy' (much loved by the Grateful Dead & Stephen Stills) and 'Coloured Rain' show the promise of a great rock band while the whimsy and pychedelic trappings of 'Berkshire Poppies'(with a little help from Steve Marriott), 'House For Everyone', the caustic mesage of 'Utterly Simple', fairground grind of 'Hope I Never Find Me There' and the multi layered pop march of 'Giving To You' showed a perfect grasp of the pop ethic.
Its such a shame that they couldn't see it that way at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 11 Mar 2011
By 
G. Wilkinson "Who are you?" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
As an impressionable 14 year old in 1967 I was simply blown away by this album. To this day No Face, No Name and No Number and Dear Mr Fantasy remain two of the tracks I would have on my desert island disc. To understand that Steve Winwood was just 19 years old when this was recorded is extraordinary when you hear the depth and clarity of his voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album and the best version, 11 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Fantasy (Audio CD)
In a few short words... a cracking debut album, and mono is the only way to hear this album. I originally owned the mono vinyl and that was getting a little battle-worn through decades of playing. I recently sold it to a collector and used part of the proceeds to replace it with this marvellous Japanese mono CD issue. Go and find one (it is also housed in a replica cover to the original vinyl, real nice).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic, 16 April 2013
By 
Mr. Peter J. Wilson (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Loved their music when 1st out
Have all their LP's
Now buying their CD's
Highly recommended to any 60's / 70's blue fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60's Super Group, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Paul J. Clawson (Milton Keynes Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
Superb album from a great 60's Super Group. I liked Stevie Winwood when he was in the Spencer Dabies Group. Then I went to see Here we go Round the Mulberry Bush and heard the title song and I was hooked on Traffic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a cult classic, 14 Mar 2003
By 
nick g black (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
yes, there was even a film to go along with the strange cover, over which me and my youthful contemporaries used to pore on many a long night..
The curse of the mellotron has doomed such albums to a particular time and place.. hippie England 67-69.. but it contains some gems,and if you think this is all pastoral whimsy,you'd be wrong.
No accident that the Grateful Dead later appropriated Dear Mr Fantasy for their own,because it is a great jamming track, and well played on this album. The songs are well put together.. very much a feature of the post Sgt Pepper age ...different tones and textures coming fast and furious .. and seemed to herald the arrival of a major band. In fact Traffic headed into a completely different direction, rapidly ditched the mellotron, and got interesting.
get When the Eagle flies if you want to hear how they ended up. If you want to dwell on musical cliches, put this down to an exotic example of psychedelia meets jazz/rock/blues...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Traffic all in all has few iconic albums, this is one of them. The title track is a masterpiece itself where so many bands played this tune; enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Traffic at their best, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
This Album was after all at the time a bit of fun but I think by default it turned into a work of art.

"No Face ,No Name ,No Number" is an excellent track IMHO.

"Dear Mr Fantasy" is another gem, nothing not to like about this, get it and dive into yesterday in the room of percussion.

Actually that's from the group Kaleidoscope which is much in the same vein of Psychedelia, a chef that likes music!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mr fantastic, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Fantasy (Audio CD)
still sounds as good today as when it was originally put out,music that really stands the test of time.a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Fantasy
Mr. Fantasy by Traffic
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews