Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jekkyl and Kurt
Applause. Kurt's voice. More applause. This, my friends is the start to the wonderful Nirvana's swan-song and what a start it is. About A Girl is not the high-point of the album but certainly a song liberated from the raw surroundings of its original recording. Come As You Are is very, very different to the confident, up for it version on Nevermind and is less a...
Published on 20 Jan 2001 by suck_a_lemon

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cd won't play
Cd came in good time well wrapped but when played sticks and jumps in middle of disc not happy next time will buy from shop so can just take it back
Published 17 months ago by Albarneymac


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jekkyl and Kurt, 20 Jan 2001
Applause. Kurt's voice. More applause. This, my friends is the start to the wonderful Nirvana's swan-song and what a start it is. About A Girl is not the high-point of the album but certainly a song liberated from the raw surroundings of its original recording. Come As You Are is very, very different to the confident, up for it version on Nevermind and is less a statement of intent but more a sorrowful lament to a past dream. "And I swear that I don't have a gun, no I don't have a gun" is one of the most haunting moments of music I've EVER heard and sends a shiver down your spine. Then a shaft of light after the introspection of the previous track, as the cheerful Jesus Doesn't Want For A Sunbeam makes you smile as you think of the bass-beserker Krist on accordion. The cover of Bowie's The Man Who Sold The World is also brilliant but not as ultimately moving as the others. Pennyroyal Tea is. Kurt is on his own and singing, no howling, as if his life depended on it. His cigarette-drenched vocals transport you to somewhere you never thought Nirvana could take you. The brilliant, bass-heavy Dumb picks you up and then puts you down all in the space of two and a half minutes and is yet another testament to the genius that is Kurt Cobain. Polly is not quite as good as the album version as it doesn't have quite the same metamorphosis as it's neighbours and just seems thinner. But they don't let you hang for long as they pick it up again with the suberb On A Plain which is BETTER than the album version. Again one line burrows into your mind and turns it inside-out. "I love myself better than you" uses the acoustics of the auditorium to perfection and haunts you. Something In The Way suffers from the same problems as Polly but it's likeable enough. Enter The Meat Puppets! Kurt takes a break from guitar duties and just concentrates on belting out the vocals and leaves the Kirkwood brothers to be musical maestros on the equally fantastic Plateau, Oh Me and Lake Of Fire. Exit The Meat Puppets! Then came All Apologies which isn't as lush as the studio version but just as good only in a different way. The mantra "All in all is all we are" repeated over and over makes you thoughtful but optimistic. Another thing I can never quite understand about people's preconceptions of Nirvana. They are not depressing!! No song to me sounds like it's dwelling on it's angst, but it's an exorcism, wanting to change things and make the world better. But, back to the subject, there was just one song left, the Leadbelly cover of Where Did You Sleep Last Night. Nothing special - until the end. It ambles along nicely but then transforms as Kurt takes the howls of earlier track to the next stage and screams out the last lines. Believe me, it blows you away with it's unstoppable passion and leaves you astounded. Applause, the band's voices and the end to another defining Nirvana album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks MTV, 25 Jan 2005
By 
marty mcfly - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
this record probably marked one of the finest moments in the history of mtv to date. nirvana had re-written the rules of popular music with the extraordinary popularity of nevermind in 1991 and had somehow captured everything that it meant to be a teenager in a bizarre post-80's world and put it down on one disc. nevermind was the antithesis of all that had emobodied the 80's, things like wall street or soulless synth-pop and nirvana were running the risk of being pigeon-holed as nothing more than a cultural phenomenon stuck in their time.
sitting down on the sofa with a hangover and flicking through the channels to find the live recording of this set just beginning came like a revelation against that background. where there had only been rage and passion before, now there seemed to be compassion and a calmer, purer music. i get shivers even now thinking about what might have been had these guys been around for a few more years. the range made nirvana complete and the vision of kurt as this vulnerable, lost looking guy with these baleful eyes and pleading tone in his voice will forever define him to his fans.
grunge was always about embracing the imperfections in sound and enjoying whatever happened on the day with live performances. peculiarly it is the covers that stand out because here without rehearsal is our only evidence of how nirvana might otherwise have sounded on future live sets. it is unembellished and glorious for it.
the versions of bowie's man who sold the world and the meat puppets' plateau and lake of fire were so good that they must have sold records for the respective artists. and come the rendition of ledbelly's where did you sleep last night you can almost feel kurt's pain.
is this the masterpiece? does it matter..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Contrast To The Rawness Of In Utero, 10 Dec 2003
Just prior to the release of "In Utero", Cobain was asked wether the new record would be hard and loud or quiet and acoustic. Cobain classically replied "Extremes of both". It was, but if "In Utero" learned more to the former, "Unplugged" definitely leans more to the latter.
Thankfully, the band chose the songs that would actually work acoustically as oppossed to their biggest hits that the casual MTV audience would recognize. Personally, I woul have loved to have heard an acoustic version of "Lithium", but they were right in not doing "Teen Spirit". As a record, it holds together very well, containing songs from their three main albums and an array of delightful and varied covers. Amazingly the covers sit perfectly side by side with the bands own compositions, "Come As You Are" being followed by an amazing cover of the Vaselines "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam".
The other covers are just as great, David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold The World", three Meat Puppets songs and an amazing, emotional cover of Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night". The bands own songs lose nothing in transition, "On A Plain" being amazing as is "All Apologies" and "Polly". Also, you can listen to the original version afterwards and not feel anything less, the acoustics dont ruin the songs.
With Nirvana, there was always an acoustic element in their music and that is what really helps carry it across. If Slayer did this it wouldnt work, but Nirvana always had this in them. Whether you are a Nirvana fan or just a fan of acoustic music, this is truly essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nirvana unplugged in new york, 19 Feb 2004
this is by far the most amazing thing that i have ever heard it really captures the emotion in kurts writing and brings to light some great music by some obsceure bands like leadbelly and the meat puppets. this is pure magic easily my favourite album and the best thing that nirvana ever did. this really lets us see deep inside a music icon. the climax (a cover of leadbellys where did you sleep last night) is absoutly amaxing and you cant help but wail along with Kurts distinctive gritty voice. any music fan simply must own this album. watch out for the show on Mtv and see just how much the songs truely meant to kurt.although this album contains 7 covers it is still stamped with Kurts personallity and all covers are easily better than the originals and that includes Bowies man who sold the world. BUY THIS YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only wish I'd seen it in person, 19 Mar 2002
I'm sure every die-hard Nirvana fan will already have this CD and therefore won't need persuading BUT if your not really into grunge, just looking for one the most beautifully crafted musical compliations ever recorded - this is for you! By this stage in the band's turbulent career, the focus seemed to be not on teenage angst and pain but how to make good music. This album is garanteed to give you a warm fuzzy feeling inside!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!! truely beautiful, 8 Jun 2002
This has to be my favourite album ever! Its truely beautiful i couldn't live without it. Kurts singing is amazing and the guitar sounds lovely. The CD includes many good songs, i like them all. It also features 3 songs that the Meat Puppets actually played live on stage. I strongly recomend that anyone who loves Nirvana or even if you're not a great fan, you should still get this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Nirvana's Best album...Maybe, 6 Aug 2007
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This album was recorded a short while before kurt cobain decided to end his life a few months afterwards.

It shows the bands (in my opinion) best talents as a band and Kurt's vocals really show in this fantastic live performance. Something in the way, lake of fire and plataeu are some of the best tracks here and are actually better than their studio counterparts, and the audince in the background makes the performance seem somehow even more epic. Strongly recommended Nirvana Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves as much credit as Nevermind, 24 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I truly love this record... If any two things about Nirvan define to me what they were, it is the explosive energy symbolised on Teen Spirit and the dark, painful pit of emotion that was Kurt Cobain. This record says so much more after his death. I love the stripped down versions of the songs they wrote and love the covers even more. All the hype went to "Where did you sleep last night" and rightly so. As a postcard of a mans torment, it paints a nasty picture, especially with what is effectively hindsight. But it is not the only gem. For me, the true standouts are the opening track, and the set of Meat Puppets songs... the cynic will point out that maybe Lake of Fire is a better pointer towrds Kurt, but maybe this, like WDYSLN gives it a ceratin edge. All in all, I rate this very highly and recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Until this performance, I didn't know anything about them, 1 Nov 2002
I saw the performance on television back in 1994 and was amazed. Being heavily into dance music at the time I rarely heard indie, rock or grunge because it just wasn't being played in the places I frequented. However, I had heard of the band and the song 'Smells like teen spirit' although I didn't know they were connected.
Now I've always considered myself a singles buyer rather than an album buyer, because in my opinion, especially when it comes to dance artists, most bands tend to have one or two good songs on an album and the rest are just 'fillers'. I also never liked live albums as I thought them to be of poor quality and a waste of money. Despite my 'logic' I ventured into the unknown and bought this CD on the day of its release.
This is the only CD I can bear to listen to from beginning to end. It's a fantastic live recording and having since heard their other albums the 'live' are far superior, far outweighing the polished 'thrashy' studio versions.
It's a great chill-out album and should appeal to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana: Not just electric, 3 April 2001
By A Customer
Nirvana prove two major points once and for all. Firstly, they don't just play music where the guitars are plugged in and the amps are turned up with maximum distortion, they actually play softly and gently when it is required, seen in such songs as the man who sold the world. Secondly, they can actually play, Nirvana play through a set of some of their most popular songs (such as polly, come as you are).
In between songs, you can hear quiet comments by the band on how they played, and it can seem at time like you are actually there.
If you don't own this album, I highly recommend you buy it now, it is worthy of your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews