Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ALBUM WITH FANTASTIC RE-MASTERING & EXTRA TRACKS
The original album 'Songs From The Big Chair' features the worldwide smash hits 'Shout', 'Everybody Want To Rule The World' (No.1 in the USA, No.2 in the UK) and 'Head Over Heels'. However, it was only eight-track long and didn't fully showcast Roland Orzabal amazing talent at writing meaningful and out-of-the-mainstream compositions. The extra tracks on this re-release...
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by Film Buff

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars five star album tacky deluxe version
songs from the big chair is still one of the best 80's albums, it sold millions and when you listen to it you can see why. Shout, Everybody wants to rule the world, Head over heals, every track could be a single, and in fact nearly every track was. The problem with this set is not the music, but the mistake's in the track listing the package no longer having the plastic...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by Mr. R. G. Prizeman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars songs from the big chair, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Big Chair (Remastered With Bonus Tracks) (MP3 Download)
If anyone wants to listen to a classic album from the 80`s then you couldn't get a better choice than this one from Tears for Fears its full of hits take a listen you want be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TFT, 9 Dec 2011
By 
K. L. Naylor "karen naylor" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this after watching Ashes to Ashes re-runs and remembered what I loved about it when I listened to it at school (showing my age!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Broken!, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. C. A. Laurie "Easy Reader" (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This digital remastering is excellent and fresh.
What a relief from the currently available hit music!
I bought the CD mainly for the Broken/Head Over Heels tracks, having been inexorably influenced by the Donnie Darko film.
The rest of it is also well worth it. Although it may take a while for me to get into the extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds amazing in 2009!!, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Miss R. L. Rettinger (Newcastle, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just want to say that the remastered version of this is one of the best i have ever heard, the production and the mix is perfect - all remasters should sound like this.
Also, this still sounds fresh and original - sometimes i find it hard to believe this was released back in 1985. A must have in every music lovers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute peak of British 80's Albums, 12 Nov 2010
By 
R. Walker "rw266" (Sussex, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes I know they were played to death at the time but this is still one of the best sounding albums of all time IMHO, the songs, the arrangments, the musicians, the recording equipment, the top notch mixing & production still hold up.

Do yourself a favor & get some really good headphones or a pal with a $10,000 stereo setup & crank this baby up
to 10 !!!, hearing it on the radio or tape simply cannot do it justice. MP3 cannot capture the nuances of the CD and it sounds over-compressed, distorted & lacking detail just like it did on FM radio.

Seeds of love is also a mastepiece but was a little overproduced IMHO, Big Chair still sounds REAL like a REAL band, as for the negative critics at the time they were typical no-taste, failed English-Lit wankers, as soon as you had a hit you weren't cool enough for them anymore, they would trudge out some out of tune, no-talent Garage Band as the next big thing, feckin' morons.

Anybody who is now in a band or planning a future as recording engineer or mixer MUST listen to this, it's sonic masterpiece that blows away all these new pitch corrected, drum machine, overproduced Corporate Drivel that pollutes our airways nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To paraphrase slightly -something happened and i,m head over heels, 19 Dec 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I remember at the time of the release of Songs From The Big Chair a critic said it fully justified the smug expressions on the cover . And it does. This is an exceptional pop album. Tears for Fears were major artists at the time but suspected they could be serious artists as well with their banging on about primal therapy and existential crisis. Well the conclusion is they were right. Songs From The Big Chair( the title is taken from the television show "Sybil") is a thematically thoughtful work .....though one with chunky gleaming pop hooks.
Released in 1985 it unfurled hit singles in the thumping percussion heavy Shout( there,s that primal therapy thing again ) and the anthemic , and frankly over exposed "Everybody Wants To Rule The World". However it,s in the less celebrated album tracks that this albums magnetic power really takes hold.
From the fat plonking notes of the grand piano on "The Working Hour"-"We are paid by those who learn by our mistakes" seems a touch naive in these times of corporate and financial incompetence but still holds empirical power- to the plaintive ballad"I Believe"( with sensitive saxophone by Will Gregory ) to the operatic vocals of Marilyn Davis on "Listen " Songs From The Big Chair" is a multi-layered treat. Unusually complex for a mainstream pop Roland Orzabal wrote or co-wrote every song on the album and shows touches of genius as a song writer and arranger.
He can sing as well , best illustrated on the magnificent "Head Over Heels"( used so cleverly for the soundtrack of the film Donnie Darko [2002]") a soaring pop song of such fulsome and incandescent tunefulness it could have come of a Win album .There is no higher praise. I also love the way it segues into the live version of "Broken " with the incendiary guitar solo by Neil Taylor.
The eighties , which seemed preposterous and over-indulgent at the time has now undergone something of a re-appraisal .I confess bands i loathed back then like Duran Duran or Spandau Ballet......well maybe not Spandau Ballet ..i quite like nowadays. Compared to just about all the dross around now they seem like ultra -talented surfers of the outer edge of pop possibilities. But this album was brilliant then and is brilliant still. Even better this re-mastered version has cleaned the sound up somewhat. Plus the extra tracks - various b-sides( three of which -"The Conflict", "The Marauders" and Broken Revisited" are from around the time of their first album "The Hurting") and a couple of remixes are actually worth having , unlike so many extra,s tagged onto albums.
Definitely an album to shout about then ....ha ha ha! .A never ending pleasure to hear from beginning to end . I love it like an especially lovable thing.To slightly paraphrase them- Something happened and i,m still head over heels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Very talented, especially Orzabal. However, in my opinion Tears Roll Down and Elemental are better. All the best songs on this are on TRD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of a generation, 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This became one of the 'must have' album's for a generation.
Superb songs, some of which have become classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs from a big chair, 6 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this cd for my other half and he thinks its great. Reminds him of his youth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs from the big chair, 3 April 2009
By 
Excellant, just as I remembered it if not better than the cassette format of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews