Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I bought this album on vinyl when it came out in 1984 as an 18 year old and played it to death - it somehow perfectly captured how I was feeling as a teenager. 26 years later, I find it still strikes a chord and has lost none of its freshness or originality.
Published on 12 July 2010 by alimarcam

versus
44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's good news, and there's bad news...
The good news is that, presentation-wise, the folks at Polydor have done a good job with this reissue. The original LP jacket artwork has been restored, as have the lyrics and Cappucino Kid liner notes (part of an A5 booklet included with the LP, but missing from the original CD release), and the new liner notes are excellent.
The bad news is that it appears that...
Published on 6 Sep 2000 by Kevin O'Conner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's good news, and there's bad news..., 6 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
The good news is that, presentation-wise, the folks at Polydor have done a good job with this reissue. The original LP jacket artwork has been restored, as have the lyrics and Cappucino Kid liner notes (part of an A5 booklet included with the LP, but missing from the original CD release), and the new liner notes are excellent.
The bad news is that it appears that the over-compressed remasters used for 'The Complete Adventures..." have been used here. At the time that set was released, the backlash against using tons of compression during mastering was still fairly new - and too late to have any impact on how the songs were remastered. With the gap of about two years between the release of the box set and the remastered TSC albums, I harbored some hope that perhaps they'd be re-remastered in order to remedy the over-compression. Sadly, the remastering credit indicates that this did not happen.
As a result, while the tracks do benefit somewhat from added presence and clarity, you'll risk ear fatigue rather quickly (it hit me during "My ever changing moods") if you don't keep the listening volume relatively low.
Of course, the music is still excellent, although "A gospel" is now somewhat dated. It's easy to forget how defiantly different 'Cafe Bleu' was at the time of its release, even as the music press briefly lumped TSC in with the emerging "new jazz" clique that also included Sade, Carmel, Working Week, and Everything But The Girl. The album contained a mix of 60s-influenced jazz, easy listening, and pop, and even rap and funk, that made it stand out from just about everything else on the charts.
There was also a sense of fun, freedom, and optimism that would be missing from the later albums. There were the print ads that cheekily proclaimed "Here come the classics" and "Contains no hit singles". There were the Cappucino Kid sleevenotes. There were Mick Talbot's instrumental rave-ups. There were the photos that showed Paul Weller almost smiling. And, of course, there was the willingness to follow one's passion, and not simply do things a certain way because that's how they'd always been done.
Not to mention that springtime has never been better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl when it came out in 1984 as an 18 year old and played it to death - it somehow perfectly captured how I was feeling as a teenager. 26 years later, I find it still strikes a chord and has lost none of its freshness or originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cafe Bleu, 14 Feb 2010
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (MP3 Download)
This is a crazy little album chock full of different styles and a few guest musicians/singers (honorary councillors). This is my first dip into the Council after only being aware of the singles and its become a quick favourite as other albums from Paul Weller's various incarnations. The album version of ever changing moods is gorgeous and one I was unfamiliar with and is more haunting without the drums. A gospel and the paris match feature guest singers and are so different from each other perfectly summing up the variety of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOULD BE REISSUED IMMEDIATELY, 4 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
The Style Council were hip for about five minutes but they did make some great albums, and this is the best. The zenith of the cappuccino years, this is effortlessly cool and always uplifting. An album to return to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Little England, 29 Sep 2002
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
This LP came as a big shock to the Parka clad hordes who believed Modernism began and ended with "Going Underground". Paul Weller and Mick Talbot took their listeners on a trip around non-guitar music, taking in jazz, rap, ragtime and brilliant pop. Truth is, "Cafe Bleu" sounds like the work of a man released from the constraints of his audience - the same audience who heckled and bottled when TSC refused to pander to the cries for "Eton Rifles".
Highlights are "Headstart for Happiness", "Paris Match" (with the delightful Tracey Thorn on vocals), a piano-led "Ever Changing Moods" and the incisive "Whole Point". Oh, of course it also has Weller's fantastic "You're the Best Thing".
TSC were never afraid to experiment, sometimes to their cost, but in pushing the envelope they were never found wanting.
Keep On Burning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cafebleu, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
i had this when first released played it to death. Mislayed it somewhere in fact I think my brother took it, anyway rebought it and once again playing it not stop, but then i am a massive weller fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought it to replace my vinyl version, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
I love this albumn. When I got my new HIFI system vinyl playback was no longer an option so got the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cafe bleu, 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
I saw this and thought its a must have A's never bought it first time round, as a Paul Weller fan it brought back a bit if nostalgia of bad hair and awful clothes, not quite as good as I remembered but still one fir the Weller collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absoulute Class., 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
Utter brilliance.The songs shine out and show Weller as the genius that he really is .He steps back and allows others to shine ,the group click as a collective.Still is one of the best albums released by a British recording artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars '80, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Carla Noya (Milano, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Bleu (Audio CD)
great sounds and great memories...fine music with style, not for only but sure Paul Weller is one of the best singer not only in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cafe Bleu
Cafe Bleu by The Style Council
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews