Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DANCE THE NIGHT AWAY, 10 Mar 2003
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
Like the band, who make no secret of their contempt for the Nashville-music industry, controversy surrounds whether this album is country or pop. Certainly this record, with a fully fledged orchestra including the ‘Havana Horns’ and the ‘Nashville String Machine’ has a big sound which falls outside the strict definition of traditional country.
I’ve always been a big admirer of the Mavericks during their early country days and was not surprised when their last album, ‘Music For All Occassions’, was well received by critics. This album represents a natural progression from their earlier work but retains the Maverick latin-american influenced (Tex-Mex) sound.
The sleeve notes are refreshingly different. Each of the four Mavericks are depicted on the front cover, one dressed as a clown, the others holding a megaphone, a meat cleaver and a doll respectively. Old-style photos cover two-thirds of the inlays (with song-titles overlaid along with lyric excerpts from the songs), with modern day pics of the band at work/play on the remaining third.
After seeing them give an impressive live promotion of this album it appears musically the Mavericks can do no wrong. The best track, ‘Dance The Night Away’ went on to become a top-ten cross-over pop hit. The slow burner, ‘Tell Me Why’, and frenetic ‘Save A Prayer’ were also blasted out, leaving the assembled audience with ringing eardrums and a feelgood factor times 10. Apparently the album was recorded live, with musical arrangements worked up in advance before going into the studio.
Listen out for the upright bass western-swing on ‘Fool #1’, the instrumental on ‘Melbourne Mambo’, the hauntingly touching vocals of ‘Moon River’, the deliciously ironic lyrics of ‘Someone Should Tell Her’. Give lead singer, Rao Malo, a mega-phone and what do you get? ‘Dolores’, with the memorable opening lyric ‘Dolores from the silver-screen, A bigger star than Charlie Sheen , With Quite A Knack For Being Mean’. Then there’s ‘I Don’t Even Know Your Name’, which has echoes of the Travelling Willberries sound. ‘All I Get’ and the closing track ‘La Mucara’ round off a truly brilliant album.
‘I’ve Got This Feeling’ that the best is yet to come from the Mavericks. This offering was thoroughly enjoyable, await their next album with anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 give the Trampoline that extra bounce, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampoline (5.1 Music Disc)
Trampoline is easily my favorite Mavericks album and this 5.1 surround sound version gives it that extra bounce. As soon as the hit 'Dance the night away' comes dancing out of all five speakers the album just pick you up and carries you along. A masterclass demonstration on just how a well mixed 5.1 DTS version of an album just blows the conventional stereo version away. Why aren't more albums given the 5.1 treatment especially when it's done this well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to make you feel like dancing, 11 April 2008
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
This is that jackpot album the Mavericks were waiting for. You'd be forgiven for not having heard of them, as until Trampoline, they used to be filed under Country & Western. Actually the band is from Miami, they just do their thing in Nashville!
With each successive album (and since I discovered Trampoline, I've bought the rest!) they've gone less C&W, and more mainstream. On this one they've added a great horn section to give a latin flavour, and boy do they have fun!
Raul Malo, their lead singer has one of those voices that's clear as a bell, and soars effortlessly into falsetto as Roy Orbison's did, and Chris Isaak's does now. The musicianship from all is absolutely top class on ballads, and the foot tappers.
You must have heard the hit `Dance the night away' on the radio or TV ... it's the first track on the album, and it gets you within the first few seconds. I just have to dance every time I hear it - and it's definitely one of my desert island discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nashville but not Nashville, 23 Aug 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
The Mavericks certainly don't make it easy for those people who want to fit everyone and everything into neat categories. From the evidence of this set they're not Nashville country though it was recorded there and the expertise of their pickers isn't a million miles away from the more famous ones from that city (as observed by the Loving Spoonful). Nor are they to be considered Alt-country - somehow they've always seemed either too flash or maybe too frivolous, to get into that grouping. Nor are they straight retro though Raoul Malo's respect for Orbison and earlier vocal heroes is worn on his sleeve. Nor are they tex-mex as is sometimes claimed: their sound is totally unlike tejano music - compare it with the Texas Tornadoes for example - but their use of Mexican flourishes bring more to mind a thousand filmic memories of a romantic Mexico which probably never existed. You wouldn't call them a latin band but there are very pronounced latino touches in this set. What the band do, and they do it very well, is entertain with a whole lot of skill and knowledge of a whole range of musical forms that they obviously enjoy playing.

Initial listening suggests that they have moved a bit further away from their early country influences but I'm inclined to see the country aspects as still there but more deeply absorbed into Malo's songs.

"Dance the night away" gets us off to a great start with all the mariachi horns - this one's an absolute pop classic. Track 2, "Tell me Why" has Raoul in pleading mode backed with an even bigger brass section. Then it's more mex with "I should know" with nice pedal steel as well as the horns. A rumbling bass guitar line introduces a bouncy country inflected, "Someone should tell her". Track 5, "To be with you" brings on those memories of the big "O" - its almost a tribute to the man with the glasses. The same mood continues with "I've got this feeling" but the drama quotient is up a notch. It's all calm down a bit for the lightly brushed track 7, and we can all guess who's "Fool no 1". Nice drifting guitar on this one. And so it goes. Tracks 9 & 10 introduce some latin into the mix - touches of the Buena Vista Social Club!

Track 12, "Save a Prayer" has a slow gospel intro with choir giving way to an out and out, hot gospelling rocker with country guitar licks that you can imagine fitting neatly into their stage show. "Dream River" a slowie with acoustic guitar has me scratching my head - what does this remind me of - no matter, Raoul emotes nicely. The closer "La Mucara" has more traditional instrumentation - upbeat and swings along very nicely in Spanish - Raoul obviously loves this stuff and it reminds me of his work with Los Super Seven.

A good set. Four and a half stars but I'm feeling generous so I'll make it five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revisited, 24 April 2010
By 
G. Gensbygel "Arthur Teak" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
I loved this album when it came out and bought a copy. From there I realised that The Mavericks, whom I had not previously heard of, had a long recording pedigree. Sadly I got into the band shortly before they decided to go their separate ways. Nevertheless, The Mavericks have left us a fine volume of work.

My original copy of Trampoline disappeared somewhere, I know not where; as a result I had not heard the songs for a long while. On a whim, I decided to buy another copy via Amazon and I am so glad that I did as it was like listening to all that music anew!

If you haven heard Trampoline, buy this album, you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country music with horns, 5 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
Ostensibly this is country music but, despite the inclusion of a steel guitar, a banjo and some acoustic guitars, this album cannot really be described as country - even using contemporary definitions. Along with the aforementioned instruments, there are electric guitars, organs, pianos, drums, strings and a full horn section including trumpet, trombone, saxophone, flute and clarinet. Of all the instruments, the horn section is the most important but what makes the album so successful is that, despite the plethora of musicians, the overall fell of the album is relaxing and the musicians never get in the way of the outstanding voice of Raul Malo.
The album didn't fit easily into any popular category, which may explain why it became far more popular in Britain (where radio stations generally play a broad range of music) than America (where radio stations cater for specific audiences). The first single (Dance the night away) made the top five in the UK pop charts, much to my surprise and delight. There are many other great songs here, all originals except the final track, which is a traditional song (La Mucara) whose origin is unknown to me (it sounds Latin) but it definitely isn't country.
This is an outstanding album, very different from their previous album (Music for all occasions) or indeed anything else they've recorded. Country fans may not appreciate it (unless they have eclectic tastes, like me) but if you enjoy high quality, easy listening music, you might enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maverick Travel, 6 April 2009
By 
G. Cooper (Chester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
I found the Mavericks almost by mistake some years ago and I just love them and their music.
I had this title on audio tape which I played endlessly in the car - wonderful to drive to. Changed my car - boo hoo! no tape player so no Mavericks. Easy answer was to get the CD version. I'm happy again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maverick, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
Ex got custody of the original - had to have replacement to sing and dance round the kitchen to while cooking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic mavericks, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Viki "Viki" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampoline (International Version) (MP3 Download)
the first album of the mavericks I'd heard and always been a favourite since. Original owned on cassette!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The oldies are the best!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trampoline (Audio CD)
Great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews