Customer Reviews
Aja


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best
I can remember sitting a car in 1977 when the song 'Deacon Blues' came on the radio. I was instantly mesmerised. Having never heard Steely Dan before I was amazed by the quality and feel of both the song and the recording. I immediately went out and bought the 'LP'. It was this that started my love of the music of Messers Becker and Fagen.
If you are considering your...
Published on 22 Jun 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Super Audio CD in 2 way stereo
Little bit disapointed about the SACD Sound. On vinyl The drums on the title song sound much more natural.
It is a new player by Marantz. The SA14s1. I hope the player still needs a Break In period.
Published 3 months ago by Harry van Enckevort


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 22 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
I can remember sitting a car in 1977 when the song 'Deacon Blues' came on the radio. I was instantly mesmerised. Having never heard Steely Dan before I was amazed by the quality and feel of both the song and the recording. I immediately went out and bought the 'LP'. It was this that started my love of the music of Messers Becker and Fagen.
If you are considering your first SD purchase... THIS IS THE ONE TO GET. Don't muck around with those compilations that. Steely Dan albums must be listened to in their original context.
It is solid testament to Aja that it hit the streets slap bang in the middle of the 'Punk' era, a musical movement that was championed by the 'New Musical Expresss', yet, in their review the NME hailed Aja as one of the all time great albums with possibly the greatest 'side 1' of any album ever released. (Remember 'side ones'?)
Side one actually comprised of three musical masterpieces; Black Cow, Aja and Deacon Blues and even now, 25 odd years later I am hearing new things in these songs, especially on the newly remastered release. Side 2 isn't bad either. Peg, Home at Last, I've got the News and Josie are all fantastic offerings.
As well as the superb songwriting and mind blowing lyrics watch out for virtuoso performances from the likes of Wayne Shorter, Steve Gadd, Chuck Rainey and Larry Carlton as well as the amazing vocals of Fagen and the backing vocals (including Mike McDonald). The slick production of Gary Katz tops it all off.
"This is the day of the expanding man, that shape is my shade, there where I used to stand"...classic!
An absolute masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scintillating, Smooth,Sparkling and so so cool, 30 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
If you were not around in the 70's and have heard that Steely Dan are worth discovering you could do no wrong in buying this beautifully crafted piece of work that features some of the slickest US session guys around. I recall this album being used as a hi fi show piece when it came out and it still stands out as a fine recording - tastefully remastered by the duo themselves in recent times. If you want to hear a little bit of jazz sneaking into your music this is a great introduction. The stand out tracks are the title track and Black Cow. Steve Gadds famous drum fade out at the end of Aja being one of the high points of the bands career. The album closes with Josie which is cool beyond cool. If you are wondering about Steely Dan, start with this and then buy all the albums - they are all gems. Aja does not quite have that lyrical streetwise savy found on Katy Lied and Countdown to Ectasy, but it marks a high point in the Steely Dan collection as a work of outstanding musical genius and a showcase for the talent of those reluctant maestro's Messrs Fagen & Becker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way this should sound at last yippee!!, 13 Nov 2002
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
The music contained on this album does not fit in any neat and tidy box.

What can you say about it? is it jazz, is it pop? is it music? in one word "YES" it's all of this and more.

"The men from Dan" used some of the best session men in music business to record this, rehearsing and playing these guys within an inch of their lives!

It shows for contained of this album not only is music but audio art.

Of course Becker and Fagan did all the remastering themselves and what great job they have done, they are such control freaks, who can blame with music of this standard.

For all you Dan freaks out there who didn't buy the first C.D. release because of poor sound forget that buy this version with confidence, it is WOW!! in terms of sound and content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss out at your peril, 13 Nov 2009
By 
B. J. du Cille (West Bromwich, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
If you love music as I do then you cannot miss this album out of your collection. Yes it is Jazz influenced , but is also rock, pop and everything else influenced. The title track alone is worth the price of admission. It features Steve Gadd on drums and has the best recorded drum break ever committed to disc. I have had this album since it was first released and listen to it regularly-it still makes my hair stand on end and shivers down my spine. It is THAT good. The Dan never actually made a bad or even indifferent album (Katy Lied is my least favourite-but it's still great). I have them all and wish I could hear them again for the first time. If I had to choose just one to keep then it would be Aja and Gaucho (sorry one would never do!!!). Buy , buy buy. And then buy Becker's solo albums and Fagen's solo output-also superb quality music for the discerning listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slick, 31 May 2012
By 
D. S. Sample (Turnipshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
I used to play this all the time when i first discovered it probably about 1981 a few years after it was released , some people think that it is too slick , too perfect , which is exactly what it is , absolutely perfect studio production on a selection of wonderfully crafted songs ,especially the title track 'aja' a cool mixture of jazz & laid back west coast rock , some great harmonies by Micheal Mcdonald through out the album . Still listen to it today , still as captivating .[ tittle track got me interested in modern jazz ] . Also if your a fan you may like to hear this New York Rock & Soul Revue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meticulous Crafting Meets Musical Genius, 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
Having proved their superior credentials throughout the seventies, the Dan found themselves retired from the stressful tour scene, with countless hours of studio time on their hands in much the same way as the Beatles had in the mid sixties. The fab four relished the lack of constraints and went on to produce their best work sans tour-bus. The same can be said for this unlikely duo. If Aja was a car, it would be a classic hand-crafted machine, finely tuned, slick, lightning fast and sporty yet maintaining an air of style, class and panache. Each component having been fastidiously assembled with incredible attention to detail. Much was made of the all star cast that contributed to this seminal masterpiece, but to simplify it this way would be a mistake. Aja is the piece de resistance of Steely Dan's celebrated output. True musical magic is created here, the whole is worth exponetially more than the sum of it's parts. If you have any interest in finding how the often polarised principles of musical talent and songwriting talent can be fused together in a bubble of listening pleasure, then look no further. - Dan Serpico
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Steely Dan, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
I bought the vinyl in 1977 and have always loved this album for it's amazing musicianship, brilliant production and iconic songs from that period. The re-mastered CD has exactly the same atmosphere as the original vinyl and is best played on quality headphones, or cranked up enough on room speakers to appreciate the whole tonal spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Steely Dan Album?, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
Regarded by many as the finest of Steely Dan's albums (although my personal favourite is Royal Scam), Aja does much to live up to its reputation some 36 years on. In that time it has remained one of those albums which I have been meaning to buy, but never got round to doing so until recently. I was familiar with the title track and "Deacon Blues", but having been recommended the album I finally decided to go for it. Absolutely no regrets! Other highlights include "Home At Last" which includes drummer Bernard Purdie with his famous "Purdie Shuffle" and "Josie" with a great Jim Keltner groove from behind the kit. In truth, there isn't a dull track here and the fact that there are only 7 demonstrates Becker and Fagan's dedication to producing only what they considered the best quality listening experience. A recently repeated TV documentary on how they made the album was interesting viewing, showing bassist Chuck Rainey, backing singer Michael McDonald and another of the session drummers Rick Marotta also explaining their input. If, like me you have held off for 36 years, end that wait now and buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bells and Whistles, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja Remastered (Audio CD)
I am an up front Dan freak. I've got all of their albums including Becker's solo stuff. I bought this because it was there, not expecting much, as I already had the AJA cd from ages back.
I must say I'm blown away with the sound on this. I can truly hear bells and whistles I hadn't heard on the standard cd. If you haven't bought AJA (if not why not??) this is the version to get - it's cheap enough too - way to go, enjoy the delights of these guys at the top of their game in their studio bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous mix of jazz and, 9 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
Aja is hailed by many as one of Steely Dans finest works. It is perhaps their jazziest album with some fo the finest session musicians in the business. The title track features Wayne Shorter on saxophone and blistering drums from Steve Gadd. An absolute must for Dan fans and people who like their music to be at the cutting edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aja
Aja by Steely Dan
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews