Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars116
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2005
Can a Moog be made to serenade? You bet it can. Stevie is blasting on all cylinders here - the album's moody, moralistic, funky, emotionally soulful.
There's the warning of being swept away by drug-induced euphoria in "Too High" but you will be carried off even higher by the "Golden Lady". "Livin' just enough for the city" and "Misstra know-it-all" will sadden - it's easy to identify with the victims.
Heart-rendering stuff.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2003
This is the Stevie Wonder album you need. I grew up listening to this music, and I still love it now. Every single track an absolute gem, nothing stretched too long, Stevie playing just about everything himself, and enough soul to last you a lifetime, this is just an absolutely awesome record. Stevie Wonder *never* made a better record, no matter what you're told elsewhere. Buy, listen, smile.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2008
Everyone who has reviewed this album has rated it 5 stars and I feel that says it all and I'm definitely not going to go against the grain. This is, in my opinion, Stevie Wonder's greatest album and in an ideal world every household would own a copy. In the real world however he is remembered by the masses for the dreadful 'I Just Called To Say I Love You'. Like someone else stated, this is a great place to start if you are looking to buy your first Stevie Wonder album (Talking Book was my first Stevie album and this is another great album to start). Forget the Greatest Hits, there is so much more to Stevie than the singles and I feel it's better to hear the songs as they were meant to be. A great mixture of songs and sounds - my favourites have to be 'Golden Lady' and 'Living for the City'. I'm predominantly a fan of alternative/indie/ avant garde music and another reviewer was a 'Prog Rock' fan, so this shows how great the songs on Stevie's albums of the 70's are, that they appeal to such a wide range of listeners. For your sake, please buy this album - you won't regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 September 2002
This is Stevie when he was at his most inspired and the result is fantastic. Sure, the synth sounds quite dated but the melodies and lyrics power through.The re-mastering is superb and the album is worth having for Livin' For The City alone which appears here in the long dramatic version. Litle things on this album are good too like the cymbal drumming on Too High.This is superb value and true music lovers won't be disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2006
While the conventional wisdom has "Songs in the Key of Life" as SWs best album, I found it to be a little long winded, with too many tracks running out of ideas/steam long before their end,

On Inner Visions IMHO, we find him with a collection of songs which hang together beautifully, which is perfectly paced, and without a duff track. The familiar hits need no introduction, and those which never made a single release are as strong.

When this album was released, Stevie was pushing the boundaries , developing the synthesiser sound he had pioneered on Music of my Mind" and "Talking Book", taking Soul music (and music in general in fact) to new places.

If you are in any way a fan of modern R & B, you need this album to find out where the sound came from, if you are a fan of Soul or Funk, it is indispensible.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2004
The best accolade I can give to this album is that "it" should have been called "Songs In The Key Of Life". Every song has a desire to reach out to people no matter what end of the social spectrum they happen to live at.In my own personal view this was his defining moment.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2001
It all started for me when Blue Note brought out Blue Break Beats Vol.1. That was the moment that I realised music from before my time could be truly awesome, and in fact laid the foundations for everything that I love today. Stevie Wonders' Innervisions is a classic case in point and is the latest in a long line of albums that I have bought, seeking to understand the roots of the music I love today. Anyone who owns a Hip Hop CD will love this. Anyone who owns a Chilli Peppers CD will love this. Anyone who owns the Coldplay album will love this (and that is just about everyone). If you have any music in your soul, you should buy this album right now. I mean it, buy it now.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm not usually a fan of Stevie's habit of running each song on an album right into the next but 'Innervisions' is such a monumentally good album that it makes no difference here. Every song on the album with the possible exception of 'Jesus Children Of America' is a classic and Stevie's voice conveys the power, pain, passion, love and occasionally anger in every lyric perfectly.

'Living for The City' has to be one of the best anti-racism songs ever while 'Higher Ground' sounds like the religious brother of 'Superstition'. Such is the strength of this album, 'All in Love Is Fair' on another set would be the standout song. Stevie himself has commented how he views Donny Hathaway as one of the greatest soul singers of all time and the influence Hathaway had on his style of singing is heard to spooky effect here. As a big Donny fan myself, I could almost hear Donny singing along to this in perfect harmony with Stevie and could almost imagine him clapping until his hands hurt at the end...

Throughout 'Innervisions' it is abundantly clear that true inspiration and real emotion is at work. Not one song sounds like it was 'written to fulfill a contract' and every song has something individual to say and make you feel. 'Visions' may be an idealistic slant on life but if every album was as good as this happiness and togetherness would certainly reign supreme...

Yes, back in 1973 Stevie Wonder truly was 'Misstra Know-It-All'.

An all time classic - buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2008
For much of my adult life i lived in complete ignorance of the glories of artists like Stevie Wonder, too mired in my prosaic parochial little existence of indie bands , spiky agit rock , and historically relevant classic rock groups. Then by happy accident i heard Innervisions. Till then the only Stevie Wonder songs that orbited my universe were "Master Blaster" which i liked because it reminded me of the great West Indian batsman Viv Richards. ( For the cricket ignorant that was his nickname) though it is a great song "Happy Birthday", "Ebony And Ivory" .and, "I Just Called To Say I Love You" which is a pleasant enough pop song but has the irritation factor of a swarm of midges.
Innervisions though is a masterpiece. I,ll leave the arguments about whether it,s Stevie Wonders best album (For the record i think it is) for others . Released in August 1973 Innervisions is considered to be the third album of the five albums considered to encapsulate his classic period. The 1972 album "Talking Book" vies with Innervisions for most people as his finest album. Conceptually and musically Innervisions is powerful and innovative. If put in cinematic terms Innervisions is the work of an auteur. The lyrics , arrangements , and production (Though Robert Margouleff and Malcolm Cecil also helped produce) are all down to Wonder , with the synthesizer, then a novel instrument, being utilised extensively .
The songs cover a range of social issues with only "Golden Lady" and "All In Love Is Fair"serving as a straight forward love songs."Don,t Worry About A Thing" sounds like a joyous plea for hedonistic freedom but is actually about drugs as is the slightly more querulous "Too High". There is palpable anger at social disintegration in the song "Higher Ground" and the magnificent "Living For The City" while the melodically splendid "He,s Misstra Know It All" is a scathing attack on the then President Richard Nixon."Visions" has a terrific vocal though of course all the songs do, and is the most graceful track on the album while "Jesus Children Of America"is a harder edged funk slice of funk.
Black artists singing about their status in society really exploded with bands like Public Enemy and NWA in the 1980,s yet artists like Stevie Wonder, Curtis Mayfield and Marvin Gaye were eloquently documenting the deprivation encountered by black people through their music much earlier. In the case of Innervisions Wonder was achieving this with a brilliant ground breaking fusion of soul funk and pop.Put simply Innervisions is a visionary wonder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This 1973 release is a glorious mix of high tempo funk and superior ballads. The extended version of 'Living For The City', the bouncy mid-tempo groove of 'Higher Ground' and the lovely ballad 'All In Love Is Fair' covers the full range of musical styles. In addition, 'Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing' and He's Misstra Know It All' also rate highly in any list of Stevie's classic tracks; quite simply, this is a highly satisfying 5 star album that any Stevie Wonder fans must have in their collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)