Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic work!
What can you say about this album that hasn't already been said in all these reviews.This masterpiece is nothing if not a mammoth musical journey through the mind of a man fit to burst with wonderful music! He is a visionary and,yes there are perhaps one or two songs that don't necessarily cut the mustard but then I've never one single album where every song does.You...
Published on 10 Aug 2001 by markhorton69@hotmail.com

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating purchase
Stevie is a genius and this is a great album.

So why 3 stars? The remastering on this CD (2000 remaster) gives the music a fatiguing sound, which of course reduces the listening pleasure. This is surprising given the standards of the original production.

If sound quality is of ultimate importance I would recommend the vinyl, original cd, mp3 or...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by Parx


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic work!, 10 Aug 2001
What can you say about this album that hasn't already been said in all these reviews.This masterpiece is nothing if not a mammoth musical journey through the mind of a man fit to burst with wonderful music! He is a visionary and,yes there are perhaps one or two songs that don't necessarily cut the mustard but then I've never one single album where every song does.You need to take those weaker songs for the message they convey,every song on this album conveys a message,there are no soppy love song fillers here (the love songs that are here are beautiful,heartfelt songs). This album displays Stevie's prodigious talent as a melodist better than any other.Every tune is hummable,memorable,above all musical! It is this allied to his no less incredible ear for harmonic invention that draws me to this work time and again. It is the outpouring of a man at the height of his powers,it simply put never got better than this. The quality of the songs is highlighted by the fact that this album really does still sound fresh 25 years after its inception (the secret to the lasting success of any album), even the now very dated synthesised sounds (many of them pioneered on this album ) don't sound intrusive because they are used very tastefully. Add to that the fact that,on most of these tracks Stevie plays nearly everything from Harmonica to kit(and then layers it) you get an idea of just what his achievement was here. Alongside various albums by the Beatles,Beach Boys,Marvin Gaye,Led Zeppelin etc.etc, this one must take its place amongst the 20th century's greats,even with all its indulgences {longer tracks than you might normally expect to hear), and its more idealist, less musically satisfying songs. Stevie sees more of our World and reflects on it more poignantly than most of us can with our eyesight intact, isn't that alone good enough reason to purchase this album? ( PS, if you can ,get the version with the extra tracks ,definitely worth hearing the dirty funk of "All day sucker" and the mellow beautiful "Easy goin evening".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting and beautiful collection of songs, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The result of a musical genius at his creative peak, "Songs In The Key Of Life" is a sprawling masterpiece, and Stevie Wonder's magnum opus. However, no grand words or superlatives can really do this album justice... the songs speak for themselves.
For an album of such stature and brilliance, there are surprisingly few 'famous' tracks. Of these, 'Sir Duke', 'I Wish' and 'Isn't She Lovely' are the most well-known, but merely represent the songs that were released as singles and hence into the mainstream. In reality, this album is far wider in scope than these three songs only hint at.
Stevie Wonder explores his creative and musical limits here, and executes his ideas with considerable aplomb. Quite frankly, there is not a bad song on the entire album, and there are simply too many highlights to single out for distinction. Suffice it to say that there is an example (and a good one at that) of every facet of Stevie's musical ability here.
But it's not just the music and vocal acrobatics that are outstanding, but also the lyrical content of the songs. Stevie Wonder has often been labelled, somewhat unfairly, as being too sentimental. However, this album represents a hugely powerful retort to his critics, with some really meaningful lyrics. Tackling issues such as race relations ('Pastime Paradise' and 'Black Man') to social deprivation ('Village Ghetto Land') and depression/suicide ('Have A Talk With God'), these are not lightweight, throw-away pop tunes by any stretch of the imagination. But the real skill in his songwriting ability lies in the way that you are always left with a feeling of hope from his songs. Maintaining a positive attitude throughout, without pandering to the over-sentimental (most of the time), "Songs In The Key Of Life" is an uplifting and beautiful collection of songs worthy of a special place in any record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better, 19 Nov 2003
I was only 2 when this was first released on vinyl and I'm still playing it 25yrs later.
In a time when most albums we buy are over processed, heartless, easily forgotten junk, isn't it time you treated yourself to something that's not only greatly pleasurable to the ear but can take you through every emotion known to man. You feel every word on SITKOL as if being told to you by some wise member of your family whom you love intensley.
I'm tired of forking out hard earned cash for lack luster albums with 3 out of 14 good tracks on them. I'm tired of skipping to my favourites because the rest are mostly annoying. You can't do that with this album! I've yet to hear such a spiritually satisfying mix of music on one album. Every song is a beautiful masterpiece that takes you on a journey.
No life is complete without this album! It's quite simply lifes greatest soundtrack. It's also an education in humanity!
Buy it and feel it's power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of magic!, 31 Mar 2009
By 
V. Buffery "Vicki" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 1976 at the ripe old age of 14, I saved all my pennies to buy this album and played it over and over until it was completely worn out. Needless to say 33yrs on I have it on CD. In fact I have bought it many times on CD, for the car, the children, and friends.

My three children were brought up on Songs in the Key of Life, it was always playing in the kitchen, subsequently all of their friends who came for dinner were introduced to the album, especially my son's, who as impressionable 16 yr olds were only keen to listen to gangster rap or heavy metal. I am happy to say that on his recent trip to the UK a great many of them attended his concerts and are now completely hooked

...Yes it's a masterpiece, but it's also a great way of teaching, your children and even your grandchildren.... love, tolerance and the pure joy of living.

Thank you Mr. Wonder for being part of our family for so many years and hopefully for so many more years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loves in need of Love today., 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
One of the reviews mentions that this album shows its current relevence through Coolios use of Pastime Paradise as the basis for a song. Coolio, WHO-lio more like - we are talking about The Master Blaster! The album is relevent because it IS. The first song alone carries more weight than the entire career of many artists. 'Loves In Need Of Love Today' is one of the greatest songs ever written - don't take my word for it, listen to it every day for a week then try and kid yourself that Stevie hasn't sold you his message of love. You won't be able to do it! Admittedly there are a few weak points on the album, but Saturn and one or two others aside, this collection of songs, sentiments and sounds is an absolute must. Summer Soft, Ordinary Pain, Summer Soft, Knocks Me Off My Feet, If Its Magic and I Wish are all classic tracks in their own write. But to top all of them perhaps is Joy Inside My Tears, one of the most brilliant and moving love songs you will ever hear. Don't take anybody's word on this album, just go out and get it. It has a depth which makes years of re-listening possible, with new ears each time, and new messages coming from the sounds. Above all however, the album speaks of the power and hope of love, and does so as seductively as is musically possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for every serious music lover, 30 May 2000
By A Customer
This is a must for anyone. It is one of those records that is timeless. I first bought this on vinyl many years ago and it still sounds as fresh and exciting as it did then. Stevie has to be one of the most talented songwriters and performers that have graced this planet and this album supports that argument. For me the track Village Ghetto Land is the best one on the album. If you haven't already got it, buy it you won't be disappointed. On the negative side my only gripe is that this 'remastered' edition does not include the 4 songs that came on a bonus EP with the original album, otherwise 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute genius, 9 April 2007
All of Stevie Wonder's output in the 1970s (up to 'the Secret Life of Plants') should have a place in your record collection, but this should be right at the front so all you friends can see what great taste you have when they come and visit.

There's track after track of absolute pop genius and, although there are a few duffers, they only serve to give you time to catch your breath before Stevie's off with another classic. This is probably the one record I would grab if my record collection decided to spontaneously combust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 21 July 2000
By A Customer
'Songs in the Key of Life' was released the year I was born so I was lucky enough to have been fed it from birth and thank God I was! It's such a special album and, like so many of Stevie's, one that leads you through an incredible journey of thought. Stevie has always had the gift of being able to take you through a rainbow of emotional highs and lows while ultimately leaving you with such a positive feeling. His eclectic style makes it an album for all moods with tracks ranging from the thought provoking harmonies of "Love's in Need of Love" to the funked-up nostalgia of "I Wish". It's the first thing I turn to when I really need to put my life back into perspective because the songs on this album move me more than any others in the world. In my opinion these songs are untouchable and in spite of various covers and reworkings by other artists they'll always remain unparalleled in their truest form. If you've never heard it before, give it some time. Like all great music you can't let it wash over you. You have to savour it and let it under your skin before you can appreciate all that is being communicated, and then the message is clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milestone, 19 Nov 1999
By A Customer
I was 15 years old when 'Songs in the key of life' was released. I remember that there was a special radio show where most of the tracks were played and I was stunned. Never had I heard so many great songs on one (or two) album(s). It's one of those albums that I have been playing ever since. Songs like 'Love's in need of love today', 'Pastime paradise', 'Village Ghettoland', 'Knocks me off my feet' have aged with grace and are as relevant today as they were back then. With people like Will Smith and Coolio covering or sampling tracks, it is made sure 'Songs in the key of life' will always be with us although in this case the original will never be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, 20 Nov 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well this is another great double album from the Seventies. Although the Beatles’ White Album set the precedent in the late ’60s, double albums became much more prevalent in the ’70s. Not always with great results. But I admire anyone who puts out a double album as it was in those pre CD days a hell of a gamble and retailed at nearly double the price. So there were quite a few which sank without trace, lost in either mediocrity or self indulgence or both. But there are a few which stand the test of time. This is one of them.
There is so much varied music to be enjoyed here and as with all great albums it is its ambition which gives it that extra something. Stevie was aiming for the stars here and for about two thirds of this set he succeeds emphatically. The opening track is a decent heartfelt ballad but gives no clue really as to the heights this album would reach. For when this album is good it is Very Good. And there are some songs here which are basically the highlight of a long and interesting career. Take ’Village Ghetto Land’ for example. It is incredibly moving, the string arrangement is nothing less than heartbreaking. And a beautiful melody of course did help. The two singles ’Sir Duke’ and ’I Wish’ are all time dance classics. Try playing these loud at a party and see who’s left on the sofa! The musicianship I must add is absolutely first rate. Funky. My favourite track is probably ’Saturn’ which combines a sad and incisive lyric which does a pretty good job of persuading the listener to pack up bags and move to the planet Saturn. This is not a joke. Who else could achieve this conviction with such a seemingless ridiculous lyric? To a place where 'people live to be two hundred and five!’ Quite tempting, eh? And then ’Ebony Eyes’ is ridiculously infectious. And a great dance number of course. None of the mainstream knows of these two tracks’ existence! Those who do should count ourselves supremely lucky.
The second disc is hardly short of classics either. ’Isn’t She Lovely’ is a wonderful romping number in tribute to his new born daughter. Any parent will be moved by this. The ballad ’Joy Inside My Tears’ is admittedly sentimental, but he was to do far less impressive efforts in this oevre in later years. Silly Love Song maybe, but this song is dynamite.
There are others such as ’As’, ’Pastime Paradise’ and ’If’ which are truly worthy of mention. Only a couple of the longer songs ’Black Man’ and ’Ordinary Pain’ outstay their welcome slightly. Despite the great lyrics. This album should be owned by any fan of Stevie Wonder as it displays his many eclectic qualities on one set, mostly to great effect. But it is for those career highlights, particularly the unknown ’Saturn’ and ’Ebony Eyes’ that I direct you to this album. When Stevie was this good, there was no one to touch him in the 1970s. And as with all great albums, they last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs In The Key Of Life
Songs In The Key Of Life by Stevie Wonder
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews