Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "My God boy,what are you listening too?"
Those were the immortal words of my Father when he walked into my room one afternoon back in 1986 as I listened to the cassette of Licensed to ill yet again. I have owned this album in one format or another ever since and still smile each time I play it.Maybe I like it for it's nostalgia and the fond memories of Mad Dog 20/20,Regal fags and screwdriving the badges off...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by Barry

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Can Make You Ill�
I must admit I willingly bought this CD all excited about revisiting the raw appeal of the Beastie Boys which I so enjoyed years ago. I quickly discovered this isn't a timeless classic at all, it is very much music for the time, and I hate to admit it, but I've grown out of it. The crass, in your face sound of the Beastie Boys becomes too much on a whole album of...
Published on 16 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "My God boy,what are you listening too?", 31 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (Audio CD)
Those were the immortal words of my Father when he walked into my room one afternoon back in 1986 as I listened to the cassette of Licensed to ill yet again. I have owned this album in one format or another ever since and still smile each time I play it.Maybe I like it for it's nostalgia and the fond memories of Mad Dog 20/20,Regal fags and screwdriving the badges off volkswagons(I was 14 people!) or maybe it's because it's a genuinely good slice of 80's hip hop.Either way it's a classic of the genre and a must have for anyone into rap of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LICENCED TO THRILL, 5 Aug 2002
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe it was 16 years ago that 'Licenced To Ill' first burst onto the scenes and soon the Beastie Boys were in every paper in the country and there were even calls to ban them from coming to Britain on their first tour with Run DMC. These scenes were to be repeated 15 year later with Eminem but i doubt that he will have the longevity of the Beasties. From the opening 'Rhymin and Stealin' the menu is set for Rock/Hip Hop and corrupting every young mind in the world. Yes this albums include the now legendary 'Fight For Your Right' and 'No Sleep Til Brooklyn' but the story doesn't stop there. 'She's Crafty' is of equal brilliance and one of the great 'I can't believe they didn't releast that' songs of all time. But rocking down with air guitars isn't the full story, the album is peppered with fab hip hop tracks such as 'Brass Monkey', 'Posse In Effect' and 'Paul Revere'. Even after all this time the songs haven't dated that much and are still influencing the music of today. Yes the Beasties may have calmed down over the years but it's alway nice to take a trip back to the 'Good Ole Days' when they shook the world and taught it how to party! Incidently as a closing fact, did you know that the Beastie Boys acheived fame when they were the support act to a certain young lady called Madonna? Well now you know you call all rest easiet at nights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Gold, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (Audio CD)
The best of the beastie boys! Nothing can beat these tracks, with nostalgic base tunes, like Paul Revere etc...80's blast from the past. Well worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (MP3 Download)
Bought this many years ago when it was first released - well, in this modern day (after losing it years ago) thought it'd be worth a punt as an MP3 download. This album has definately stood the test of time. Pure classic Beastie Boys, at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Beasties., 23 April 2014
By 
J. Cleary "Gadget Junkie!" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (MP3 Download)
Not much of a need to write a review of the album that started the BB phenomenon. Great tracks from start to finish and it still feels fresh and raw today. A seminal album for any music collector and a master piece album cover. What more could you ask for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beastie Boys at their peak...awesome, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (MP3 Download)
Old Skool Cool is where it's at...simple easy awesome listening. The Beastie Boys really knew how to rap with timeless style & panache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (Audio CD)
First Beastie Boys album ever bought - (primarily for one track only!) and surprised to find it a terrific album and great value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars License To Ill, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (MP3 Download)
Still a great album after all these years, who would have thought what they would become.
Funny lyrics, raw samples, what more do you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars licensed to ill, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (Audio CD)
im a new convert to the beasties sound .superb beats and clever lyrics .this is a darn fine album .i'll be buying more from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Licensed To Ill (Audio CD)
Love everything about the beastie boys
Their first album and definitely one of the best
Loads if their best songs on this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Licensed To Ill
Licensed To Ill by The Beastie Boys
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews