Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skynyrds First,certainly not their last compilation., 29 Mar 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Essentially an expanded version of the posthumous release 'First and Last',although it should be noted that the versions of 'Wino & Comin Home' on that release are exclusive to it,the remaining 7 tracks are reproduced faithfully here.

The recordings contained on this disc circa 1971'72 are superb and several include future Blackfoot men Ricky Medlocke and Greg T Walker,Medlocke would of course eventually rejoin skynyrd in the 90's albeit on Guitar instead of drums!

Highlights include original album tracks Down South Jukin,the stunning Medlocke vocal on White Dove,Preachers Daughter & The Seasons,another Medlocke vocal.
The alternate versions of Wino & Comin Home included here differ little from those originally found on First and Last.

Early versions of previous tracks include Freebird.again yet different and worthwhile with One More Time/Trust/Gimme 3 Steps and I Aint The one showing early promise.The disc finishes with 2 previously unreleased in any form tracks 'You Run Around & Aint Too Proud Too Pray' both of which sound to me a little like future Blackfoot.

As with all reissues this has an excellent booklet and is another first class release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Skynyrd Recordings !, 30 Aug 2008
By 
C. Robertson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any Skynyrd fan, just listen to these recordings, and hear the music in a different light.The music is the same, but slightly different,more raw, just the way it was meant to be.Freebird sounds completely different without the guitar intro.You'll recognise the songs, but not the way you know them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skynyrd's First: The Complete Muscle Shoals Album (Reissue), 19 Jun 2013
By 
S. Bateman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skynyrd's First: The Complete Muscle Shoals Album (MP3 Download)
Finally bought it, was a bit aprehensive after hearing some of the sample tracks, but after hearing the album all the way through, i can say that, as a Skynyrd fan - i was not disapointed! There's so much more here than just early and raw versions of some of their biggest tunes - freebird, commin' home, gimmie 3 steps. The songs have a youthful feel to them, Ronnies voice is still finding it's way, yet it's amazingly soft and emotional and in my opinion, slightly more gritty and edgy than on albums after this. Collins guitar work is alive and on fire, he had so much talent and you can hear many Skynyrd riffs from many later tunes running through this album. It's like, they had all the guitar work and the tunes but they were all in a big pile on the floor and needed sorting out, and throughout the next 5 albums, it gets refined and distributed among the later recordings. If you play guitar, you will hear thiis and know what i mean - but also, a true Skynyrd fan would pick up on this too!! And - if you are a true fan, you owe it to yourself to buy this album - this is where it all started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skynyrd's First: a great compilation with great demo versions!!!, 14 Oct 2009
By 
A very interesting compilation of demo versions! I really appreciate the sound of the earliest Lynyrd Skynyrd... Free Bird, Simple Man, Trust, are great, but there are also other unreleased songs like "Preacher's Daughter" which are really enjoiable... I heartily recommend this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skynyryd fan, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a long standing admirer of this band and similar music I try and obtain many albums that were not readily available to me back in the sixties and early seventiess. This band never let me down, great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 May 2014
By 
Gill (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my husband for his birthday. Absolutely loves it. A must for Skynyrd fans. A very good quality item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary sessions, 23 April 2014
By 
K. Thomson (Northern Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the first Skynrd album, but this one pre-dates by almost two years. There are great versions of songs we all know and some tremendous songs that time had forgotten. It's such a crime that we were deprived of these fabulous recordings by record industry stupidy: nobody wanted to take a chance on a nine minute single. But what did they know? Free Bird is the most played song on FM radio ever, and rightly so. No prizes for foresight there. Great songs, excellent liner notes. If you ever loved Lynyrd Skynyrd do yourself a favour and invest in this wonderful piece of recording history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Keith Manaton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skynyrd's First: The Complete Muscle Shoals Album (MP3 Download)
Still don't understand why this wasn't the first album??? MS sessions sound sharp and fresh. MS spent 2 years nurturing the band and didm't get a dime initially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN THE BEGINNING......., 18 Oct 2007
THIS IS A MUST HAVE FOR ANY ROCK FAN OF ANY GENERATION...THE FIRST STEPS OF THE GREATEST EVER AMERICAN ROCK BAND....SHADES OF FREE & THE WHO,AS WELL AS THEIR OWN UNIQUE SOUND COMBINE TO MAKE THIS A WONDERFUL DOCUMENT THAT STANDS THE TEST OF TIME......AGAIN HITCH A RIDE ON THE FREEBIRD AND EXPLORE THE ROOTS OF THIS BAND.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
fast delivery great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews