Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars10
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2001
Michael Kmaen's shot at scoring a bond movie is far from disappointing. The only annoying thing is that (like many of his albums) there are many pieces missing. The majority of the highlights are included and mixed together as lengthy suites, especially track 9 which is ten minutes of action music which featured throughout the film. The pieces presented here are in that typical Kamen action style, (Die Hard / Lethal Weapon)with guitar, orchestra and horns. Some pieces are quite beautiful and unusual for a bond score, like 'Pam' and the end parts to 'Ninja', what with the sounds of harps and spannish guitar. But sadly this album is a little too short for my liking and will sadly dissappoint the majority of listeners as it all ends a little too quick, just as it was getting good.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
Michael Kamen's score for Licence to Kill is very different from the sweeping melodies of John Barry. The title song, a very lengthy ballad, has the right sense of drama to it and is very suitable for the film. The other songs with the possible exception of "If You Asked Me To" are disappointing. My favourite track on the CD however is Licence Revoked, which contains nine minutes of great action music. Whilst it is unlikely that you'll be singing along to Kamen's incidental music it is very effective in conveying an air of menace and excitement. This CD may disappoint fans of John Barry but it is still an excellent musical score in its own right.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2005
Kamen's attempts at a Bond score suffered much criticism and although it's far from a Bond soundtrack, a viewing of the film will help you realise that the change of style is not Kamen's idea. He was hired to make the film sound like exactly what the producers wanted: Lethal Weapon. This CD is yet another example of the mess Kamen's scores become when released as soundtracks. It's all over the place and barely has enough music in it to warrant as a promo, let alone a soundtrack. There are some exciting action cues here and there, lush moments with strings and Spanish guitars and the Bond theme is always great to hear but some moments are tough on the ears, which is not what I expect from an accomplished orchestrator as Kamen. Curiously, this is the only Bond soundtrack that hasn't been given the remastered treatment and since it contains barely a third of the film's score, it's in much need of one. That thought, however, doesn't exactly excite me, so skip this and stick with the Barry stuff instead.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
When you think about James Bond scores, Michael Kamen isn't a composer that leaps to mind. He is much more of a standard issue "action score" composer and is known for his scores for films like Die Hard and Highlander. So there will be some who don't approve of his work on this movie, I'm not one of them though. I think this is a beautiful score, very wistful and romantic in places but it brings the intensity when it needs to. You also have Gladys Knight's superb title track and the beautiful "If you Asked me to" by Patty Labelle. So all in all a solid and pleasent body of music to relax to. Of course there are a better "Bond scores." But this is still a great score in it's own right. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Fantastic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2000
The problem with Michael Kamen's score is it's over reliance on the James Bond theme. It becomes overblown and repetative. We've heard it all before from Kamen on Lethal Weapon and Die Hard. The CD is worth it though for the title track and Patti Labelle's contibution which is excellent.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
This CD has some of the BEST Bond music I have ever heard. This CD is the best type of that CD because it is an origional from the film (because it is from 1989 - the same year the film came out).
I would say that it is a good CD and I think more copies should be bought and more reviews written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
This CD has some of the BEST Bond music I have ever heard. This CD is the best type of that CD because it is an origional from the film (because it is from 1989 - the same year the film came out).
I would say that it is a good CD and I think more copies should be bought and more reviews written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Excellent album. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)