Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pray for one more tour.
The thing about this 'spoof' band is they are by far the greatest rock band seen in the modern world. I doubt if even the masters of rock, the ancient Greeks, had ever performed to such a high standard.
Any album that has the lyrics: "My baby fits me like a flesh tuxedo, I want to sink her with my pink torpedo" can only rise to the greatest heights that...
Published on 31 July 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seller was great but awful remastered CD. Don't buy remastered!
Just to be clear, the seller was fine - great service. Howeful the audio quality was appalling - no dynamics, depth, subtlety, drama or insight. Lesson is - never buy the "digitally remastered". It essentially means they've squeezed all the dynamics out to make the average sound level higher, the way they do with pop music to make it compete on the radio. For some reason...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Mr. B. R. Cemlyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pray for one more tour., 31 July 2000
By A Customer
The thing about this 'spoof' band is they are by far the greatest rock band seen in the modern world. I doubt if even the masters of rock, the ancient Greeks, had ever performed to such a high standard.
Any album that has the lyrics: "My baby fits me like a flesh tuxedo, I want to sink her with my pink torpedo" can only rise to the greatest heights that the musical world can soar.
If you like rock, don't buy this album. On the otherhand, if you love rrrrrrrrrrrrock buy about 4 copies, just in case you lose three of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seller was great but awful remastered CD. Don't buy remastered!, 17 July 2011
By 
Mr. B. R. Cemlyn (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
Just to be clear, the seller was fine - great service. Howeful the audio quality was appalling - no dynamics, depth, subtlety, drama or insight. Lesson is - never buy the "digitally remastered". It essentially means they've squeezed all the dynamics out to make the average sound level higher, the way they do with pop music to make it compete on the radio. For some reason they have started doing this with older music as well. Don't buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S**** Sandwich, 11 Dec 2007
By 
Harold Moldsworth "Harold" (Lambsbottom, Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
What day did God create Spinal Tap - and couldn't he have rested on that day too?

I'm joking of course (pats hair).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very , Very Funny!, 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
What a great soundtrack! The songs are what make the movie for me. With songs like Big Bottom, Tonight We going to Rock You and Give me some Money, you know you are going to laugh.
The guys in Spinal Tap do play all the instruments on the soundtrack and are all very talented. The songs are very well written, the lyrics making you laugh every time, there are riffs and solos aplenty.
It's not musical genius but still very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top parody!!!, 30 Oct 1999
By 
J. Whiting (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Spinal Tap are superb musical parodists. This is an excellent spoof on early 80s Heavy Metal, so convincing some folk thought they were a real band! But watch the film "This is Spinal Tap" to appreciate the joke completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parody? - Never! - this is the real deal baby!!, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
After reading some reviews I noticed that some look at the mighty Spinal Tap as being a spoof or parody! - Shame on you! - I didn't think the visit to A&E was a parody after my ears bled after listening to Venus de Milo or the time when I slipped into a temporary coma after listening too much of Shark Sandwich in the same sitting!! - These guys live the dream and all naysayers are over-looking the genius that is Spinal Tap.
Search out your lycra and spandex and rock til' it hurts.
"Hello Cleveland!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
If you loved the the movie 'This is Spinal Tap', then you will love the soundtrack! Great songs, not just a novelty!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely classic album, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
Like Monty Python's The Holy Grail or The Life Of Brian, the movie This is Spinal Tap contributed more than its fair share of immortal cinematic lines to everyday life. When we talk about turning things up to eleven - that's Spinal Tap. Ditto references to people dying in 'bizarre gardening accidents'. And you can also add the euphemism of 'mudflaps' for someone's backside.

The film, directed by Rob Reiner, is a rockumentary (some would say mockumentary) about then-fictitious (subsequently real, though no less self-mocking) heavy metal band Spinal Tap. And this is its soundtrack.

In truth, the five-stars I've given it are probably misleading. Judged purely for its musicality, it's probably deserving of two - Big Bottom, Sex Farm, Hell Hole and Tonight I'm Going To Rock You aside, the rest of the album are just really dirges. But one assumes you're not buying it for the music - you're buying it, as I did, because it's part of the whole ... Tap experience.

Play Stonehenge and in your mind you're watching the band come out onto a miniature Stonehenge set. The music is merely there as a poke in the ribs that takes you to a place in the movie. And for that, it gets five stars.

The lyrics are generally very clever (as in deliberately-over-the-top clever - you won't find subtlety or nuance here) and there are some that produce a genuine belly laugh, even if you know them well ("Big bottom, big bottom / Talk about mudflaps, my girl's got 'em / Big bottom drives me out of my mind / how can I leave it behind?" still makes me giggle and maybe, at 50, that's a sad indictment of me...)

The production quality doesn't stand the test of time - but bear in mind this was a very low budget 1984 movie with a low-budget soundtrack that became a monster cult hit - so no amount of remastering is going to clear up all of the sludgy sound - and I guess that's also part of the appeal.

If you loved the movie, buy the soundtrack. If you haven't seen the movie, watch it and THEN buy the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally awesome, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
Arguably the greatest rock band ever, perhaps ranking among the greatest geniuses of all time; people like Mozart, Michael Fish, Dappy and Pixie Lot even. My only problem with this work of excellence is that the album cover should be all black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap (Audio CD)
This is musically really fine progressive Hardrock/Metal. And this is really, really funny. You get crazy humour combined with good musicianship. What more can you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is Spinal Tap
This Is Spinal Tap by Spinal Tap
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews