Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever, 1 Oct 2005
By 
S. Bredin "Stewart Bredin" (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
Having been a Journey convert for many years and gradually having collected their entire back catalogue, I would have to say that this album from 1981 is, without doubt, their best offering. Whilst the other albums are worth a look this was their finest moment. It also proved to be their most successful album commercially.
The musicianship of the band all round is first class and it has to be said that Steve Perry has a voice that most other singers would kill for. He soars powerlessly throughout all the songs on this album, although the ballads are definitely his finest hour. He is possessed of an amazing natural talent. The entire band in fact are at the top of their game. Neal Schon's guitar playing excels, Jonathan Cain provides superb melody on keyboards and the rhythm section of Ross Valory on bass and Steve Smith on drums is solid and faultless.
Of particular note are the anthemic Don't stop believin and Who's cryin' now? Both these songs were massive hit singles stateside and sound as fresh tody as I'm sure they did 25 years ago. Other highlights are the title track, open arms and still they ride. All round the album is faultless - not a filler in sight, a rarity indeed.
Although Journey would never reach these heights again, this is a reminder of what a truly great band they were. A must have for any real music fan. I got this album 12 years ago and still listen to it constantly. Any fan of melodic rock and all-round decent music will love this album and this band and deservingly so. They were something special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ultimate Journey album, 25 Nov 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
First time I heard the single 'Don't Stop Believin'I just had to get the album.From the first track,'Don't Stop Believin'Steve Perry in his prime,to 'Mother,Father'and 'Open Arms'the album just rocks and rolls.It was my first Journey album,but it inspired me to get every album,Cd,single,tape,and vidio I could find.My favorite track is a close call between 'Don't Stop Believin' and 'Keep on Running'which does leaves you out of breath.The haunting 'Still They Ride'and the excellent guiter work by Neil Schon on the title track 'Escape'.A superb album which I play most days even after all these years,was it really released in 1981.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanstastic Journey!, 24 April 2006
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
Twenty-five years ago, "Escape" went to No. 1 with three top 10 hits. It represented a new beginning of rock 'n' roll after the implosion of disco. Emphasizing strength and freedom of youth, survival of love and new hope, it became a classic of that era that still holds up. Every song is a keeper with fantastic vocals and instrumental hooks. Despite poor critical reviews, this album went on the sell over 10 million copies and is still a standard staple in rock & roll history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Breathtaking Album Never To Be Equalled, 11 Nov 2003
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This album is Intense and very uplifting. The tracks Mother,Father and Still They Ride stand out for me, it sounds as fresh and exciting to me today as it did all those years ago, A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Greatness, 6 Jan 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This is, by far, the best album Journey have made to date. Granted, it is also their most accessible, but that is why it has become such a classic. Most of their other albums have been steered towards ballads and it is a testament to this great record that the few ballads here are some of their very best. 'Who's Crying Now', and 'Open Arms' are almost perfect. 'Still They Ride' is more of a power ballad but it is one of my favourite Journey tracks ever. The same can be said for 'Mother, Father' which is almost rock opera.

The rest are toe-tapping soft-rock '80s heaven. 'Don't Stop...' is a no-brainer: we've all heard that classic; but it's other, lesser-known, tracks like 'Keep On Running' and 'Escape' that make this album truly noteworthy. They fill out the classics and complement their writing and composition.'Lay It Down' and 'Dead or Alive' are the filler (there's always filler!) but they're perfectly passable nevertheless.

After this, maybe try 'Frontiers' which is the only other really consistent Journey album since (and is worth it for the reissued version's extra tracks alone). 'Raised on Radio' is actually closer, tonally, to 'Escape' but does not have as many great tunes to back it up. And 'Trial By Fire' starts well, and ends well, but the vast belly is dross ballad after dross ballad.

'Escape' is pure, simple, cheesy escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 11 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This is a classic album, arguably the best one that they made. With well crafted songs, and excellent arrangements, this album serves as a great introduction to their distinctive sound. The band combines excellent musicianship with powerful songs, and the result is timeless. This is an album that I will always continue to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant-the best album ever, 10 Mar 2001
By 
Mr. M. L. Cox "Mark Cox" (Portstewart, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This is definitely the greatest album ever recorded. Every song is amazing, from the anthemic 'Don't Stop Believin' to the emotional 'Mother Father'. Steve Perry is without doubt the best singer in the history of rock. My favourite track is 'Still they Ride'. I await with interest the release of 'Arrival' to hear how the rest of the band can carry off the new album without Steve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic!, 6 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
I first heard this album when I was about 7 years old and later bought it once I'd got my first paycheck! It is still an astounding album; emotive and inspiring. The ballads move me but its the faster, heavier tracks such as the title track and 'Lay It Down' that really get me rocking. For me its an album that will always sound fresh and original and has what it takes to make it into any classic rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
You can't go wrong with this album. Exemplary display ot classic 80's arena rock. A must for every rock collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American AOR at it's finest., 22 Jun 2012
By 
David Cook (Hurlford, near Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
I only have this album and their 1986 effort Raised On Radio in my collection as yet so can't really comment on their career as a whole.

The lineup for this landmark AOR collection was Steve Perry (vocals), Neal Schon (Guitar), Ross Valory (Bass), Jonathan Cain (keyboards, guitar) and Steve Smith (Drums). The playing/singing throughout is impeccable and there is a kind of electricity present which makes for a very rewarding listen. The production is also spot on.

The singles that were released from it, the anthemic Don't Stop Believin' and the ballads Open Arms, Who's Crying Now and Still They Ride are all strong numbers but the rest of the album tracks are also a match and could have been picked as well.

My personal fave would probably be Stone In Love, an absolute masterclass in guitar shredding from Schon with some memorable licks and coupled with Perry's lyrics successfully conveys the innocence of youth.

The album was nowhere near as successful in the UK which is a shame. If you like your rock with a raw, unpolished edge then this might not be for you but if your any kind of fan of the AOR genre then this cd is a must.

The live cd/dvd set Live In Houston '81 (overseen by Perry himself) is also well worth checking out.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape
Escape by Journey
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews