Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Brilliance.
Helped along with a few friends including Joan Baez, Erin Mckeown and Waterboy Steve Wickham, Thea has created an album of sparse beauty. The opening track "Old Soul" gives more than a slight nod to The Waterboys "Strange Boat" and sets the mood perfectly for an album full of heartfelt songs and sheer emotion. I dare anyone to listen to "Slow Journey" and not to be moved...
Published on 9 May 2008 by Mr. R. C. Neil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a particular favourite.
I had only heard Thea Gilmore's recordings of Bob Dylan's John Wesley Harding album and loved that and as I then heard her sing with Joan Baez and loved that too I bought this cd. However I have to admit that the one track I really enjoy is where she sings with Joan Baez, the rest of the cd does little for me. She does have a lovely voice though.
Published 12 months ago by Janiebeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Brilliance., 9 May 2008
By 
Mr. R. C. Neil "spirit of vambo" (Prestwick Ayrshie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
Helped along with a few friends including Joan Baez, Erin Mckeown and Waterboy Steve Wickham, Thea has created an album of sparse beauty. The opening track "Old Soul" gives more than a slight nod to The Waterboys "Strange Boat" and sets the mood perfectly for an album full of heartfelt songs and sheer emotion. I dare anyone to listen to "Slow Journey" and not to be moved. Two strong contenders for song of the year can be found in "When I Get Back To Shore" and "The Lower Road". Maybe the bonus track of "You Spin Me Right Round" is not everyones cup of tea but you can easily forgive her for the twelve tracks of true brilliance that go before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thea should be a superstar, 17 July 2008
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
Having seen her at Norwich recently this girl is truly amazing. Liejacker should be a number 1 album, the single old soul should have charted top 10 and the track "roll on" should be her black horse & cherry tree. Such a talented singer songwriter. I can only feel sorry for those who haven't yet discovered her. If you only buy one album this year make it this one, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but brilliant, 13 Sep 2008
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
Took a couple of listens to get into Liejacker but now I'm hooked. Is there no limit to Thea's talent?

Brilliant on CD but to see her perform live is unforgetable - she engages with the audience, she's witty, personable, rude too! - she made us laugh, then she tugged at the heart strings with her next song. One amazing lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a collection of beautiful songs, 10 July 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (cheltenham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
Thea's new record has been preceded by some difficult times, and it has to be said this is a slower, more downbeat album than its predecessors. However, the space Thea creates reveals some beautiful melodies and Thea's finest singing to date on standout tracks like "Dance in New York".

It seems Thea Gilmore is destined always to be one of those artists who is highly rated by the music press and adored by her fans but never makes the breakthrough to the mass market. In some ways she reminds me of Richard Thompson- and there can be no finer praise- in her rather sardonic, downbeat lyrics, although Thea's songs are rooted in a more modern age.

Liejacker is a mature collection of excellent songs. Its quietness and slow pace may not be the place for newcomers to start. Welcome one and all to the UK's finest singer/songwriter, but I would suggest first trying Avalanche's varied textures and brilliant songwriting. However, Liejacker is highly recommended. And at the end, it would be a hard heart that wasn't lifted by the superb version of "You spin me right round" that closes the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd found this years ago, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liejacker (MP3 Download)
The difficulty of reviewing this album without reaching for the book of superlatives probably lies in the fact that, personally, I don't encounter talent like this very often. It seems there has hardly been a month gone by in the last few years when a young female artist hasn't been lauded and /or rocketing up the popular charts. Some of the hype is justified, some not. Either way though it can become tiresome.

In my view at least Thea Gilmore is different. I came across her music by stumbling across `Razor Valentine' (not on this album) at the end of a one-off TV drama. A few seconds of listening to track samples was enough - the download was inescapable.

Comparisons and similes are inevitable whenever I stumble over an artist that is both new to me and makes an impact. Although Thea Gilmore has very much her own style there are clear echoes (to me) of Mary Chapin Carpenter. If you enjoy MCC's rich tapestry of guitar, strings (especially cello, that most powerful of the family) and thoughtful lyrics then you will be safe with this album.

The opener `Old Soul' pretty well sets the tone for the album - it's just simply gorgeous. `The Lower Road' not only features the legendary Joan Baez as guest duettist but would also sit perfectly at home on any MCC album. `And You Shall Know No Other God But Me' is, pardon the cliché, a truly haunting and arresting track. I could go on.

This album is, for me, a rich and yet mellow feast for the ears and based upon this one alone I will be buying everything else she has produced. Someone also appears to have priced it too cheaply. Compelling value for money therefore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Experience shows..., 8 Jun 2008
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
The ingenue waif gives way to the woman of experience, the writing records more fact and less intimation and thus 'Liejacker' (a reference to the truth-skewing culture of spin) is Thea Gilmore's most personal work to date. Some soul-baring here, depression-prompted by the up of the birth of the first child, the down of the split with a long-standing manager and the loss of a record company, yet the cold and maudlin beauty of langourous 'Icarus Wind' and the scab scratchy 'And You Shall No Other God But Me' defy the black dog by signing some hope and redemption ahead. Lighter touches in catchy-chorused 'You Spin Me Right Round' and a ceilidh in 'When I get Back To The Shore' regain a collective balance here, and the excellent US and UK-sourced production work and playing (guests include fans as diverse as The Zutons' Dave McCabe and Joan Baez) lift this collection to that level where you are back wondering, when will that Thea Gilmore be a star? She has the edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LIEJACKER, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
I WAS BROUGHT AN CD BY THIS YOUNG LADY ,& WAS VERY PLEASED WITH IT,THIS CD IS JUST THE SAME,IT HAS SOME GOOD TRACKS ON IT ,WELL WORTH A LISTEN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thea Gilmore a hidden gem., 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
I became a fan of Thea Gilmore with a lucky purchase of her Songs From The Gutter 2 CD work. It is still my favorite and I rarely see it for sale so if you get the opportunity grab it! Still adding to my collection with my most recent purchase Liejacker. She is sadly a hidden gem and is so disappointing she has not received more accolades for her work. Here in the US it has been a long time since we had any female artist putting out gritty material from the heart and life experience. Our closest artist would be Shawn Colvin, I true UK gem that never disappoints. I truly wish I could afford a trip across the pond to see her perform. Still holding hope that we will see her here performing in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
Anything Thea does is super. This is as good as ever. If you get the chance to see her live GO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great album from homegrown talent, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liejacker (Audio CD)
thea gilmore is one of the best female singers around and this album is a wonderful example of her talents she needs more airplay on radios people should give her a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liejacker
Liejacker by Thea Gilmore
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews