Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its great!
No nonsense party rock, and we all need a bit of that in our lives dont we? Try it out and dont let the trendy people tell you its rubbish.
Published on 27 Jan. 2006

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!
This is not an album that will be remembered as a classic, it isn't a work of genius and isn't particularly original... but 'I Get Wet' was never meant to be any of those things.

The singles 'Party Hard' & 'Party Til You Puke' are the only tracks which are really good with only a couple of others being particularly interesting, and even those are extremely...
Published on 2 Sept. 2005 by VoodooChild


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its great!, 27 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
No nonsense party rock, and we all need a bit of that in our lives dont we? Try it out and dont let the trendy people tell you its rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, in a word, 14 Oct. 2003
By 
Mr. A. C. Smith (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
The lyrics are simple. The tunes are simple. The vocalist isn't difficult to emulate. So why has no-one come up with this before? This is one of the genre-defining albums. Grossly underrated, this isn't likely to be for everybody. But Andrew WK and his band have an unknown energy; they love their fans and we love him. A fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underrated Guy In The Rock Genre Today!, 13 Mar. 2003
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
This man... This scruffy looking man... He looks like my groovy punk-rock uncle. I love Andrew WK. I heard 'She Is Beautiful' on Kerrang, and I dashed out for this album! It stayed in my CD player for weeks, the only other time that has ever happened is when I got into the Punk/Rock/Metal/Mosher scene whatever you want to refer it as and I heard Green Day for the first time. That changed my life, and so did this.
Andrew WK like one of the other reviews say, is quite simply a god. I now own every available recording by him bar one, which I have on order. Buy this CD, you will love it!!
The songs are so catchy you'll be trying to sing along on the first play, its just one of those albums you will not tire of.
Every track offers a new tune to learn and sing along to, from speedy, thrashy but all around catchy stuff like 'Party Till You Puke' to more sobering yet still loud tracks like 'Don't Stop Living In The Red' it is all awesome. This is one CD that you'll like so much that even if your best mate said Mr. WK was rubbish, you'd wanna knock him out, and probably will!
JUST BUY IT! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!, 2 Sept. 2005
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
This is not an album that will be remembered as a classic, it isn't a work of genius and isn't particularly original... but 'I Get Wet' was never meant to be any of those things.

The singles 'Party Hard' & 'Party Til You Puke' are the only tracks which are really good with only a couple of others being particularly interesting, and even those are extremely cheesey. The album pretty much has one sound - big loud guitars, a strong beat and Andrew WK churning out simplisticly catchy choruses, which pretty much always includes the word 'PARTY!'

Despite all this however, 'I Get Wet' is a surprisingly enjoyable listen. The cheesey-ness has got to put a smile on your face and after you've got drunk with all your buddies you'll be shouting 'PARTY TIL YOU PUKE!', playing it at top volume and waking up all the neighbours.

'I Get Wet' may sound like Meatloaf discovering heavy rock but it's great fun; it serves its purpose as a feel good party album, but nothing more. 3stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LESS IS MORE : WHERE AMBITION MATCHES TALENT, 6 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
Hate Robbie Williams? Detest 'Pop Idol'? Great. You'll love this CD, just over half an hour of sheer rock and roll bliss. Imagine Steve Jones of the Pistols on guitars, overdubbed to the point that they form a tidal wave of sound, a mountain side bigger than the Clash on Tommy Gun, faster than the Ramones. There is more testosterone here than in a thousand Gold's Gyms. Add some rinky dink keyboards for a laugh, over which these huge, huge tunes bump and grind like Iggy Pop's 'Real Wild Child', (or his forgotten classic 1988 "Instinct"album). First albums are often disappointing because the artist's ambition outstrips the available talent. No such danger here: this is a situation where someone has set out to achieve a specific sound and is right on target, right on the money. And then there is Mr W.K. , whose chief preoccupations seem to be partying, girls, and well, that's about it. And the less he is interested in, the better. His vocals are just right: he's enjoying himself, frequently sounding overwhelmed by the sheer power of the genie he's unleashed. He is mining the gold seam of rock and roll and he knows it. In the long history of rock and roll it is frequently the case that coming up with a 'Be Bop A Lula' or a 'Wooly Bully' is a million times more difficult than delivering a self-indulgent, reflective piece of work. This self-penned album strips out any danger of a guitar solo or anything vaguely arty. No ballads, thankfully. The short playing time is a bonus: this really is a case of 'less is more'. Mr W. K. knows the value of economy and is clearly a major talent. Let's hope he doesn't waste it, because in 2002 very few young people have what it takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I Get Wet' is the beacon in the sea of nu-metal rubbish, 26 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
All I can say is this album truly rocks. Every track is a gem, partly because they sound very similar, but different enough to tell the difference. Many people have criticised Andrew but I honestly can't see why. Tracks such as 'I Love NYC', 'Ready To Die' and the title track 'I Get Wet' are superb. With the recent nu-metal craze this album is for those who enjoy real, head-banging rock, but with an ever-so-slightly punk twist. Every track on the album is marvellous and if you buy this album I promise you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!, 7 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
This is one of those CDs where you leg it home from the shop as soon as you've bought it and you bang it straight in the CD player. AND, after all the hype, you're not disappointed.
Every single track on this CD is a winner - its real feel-good heavy rock music that makes you want to jump around and shout loudly.
Particular favourite tracks (although they're all great) are Girls Own Love, Got To Do It and She is Beautiful.
I reckon that even if you dont want to like this CD, you will anyway. There is nothing to not like - it is melodic, anthemic, punk-pop set against heavy metal riffs - AMAZING!
Buy this CD and give Andrew WK the recognition he deserves - he is a god!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the Power of the Party, 9 April 2010
By 
Nicholas Lees (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
When I heard this week that Andrew WK had a new album out after several years in seclusion in Japan, I thought I'd give his original LP a spin to see if it lived up to my memories of it. Safe to say it's as great as it ever was, a lunatic, grinning album that is about one thing and one thing alone: the party. AWK had a pretty weird route to fame and ended up dropping off the face of the earth, leading to accusations that he was an actor or indulging in some strange art-school parody. Ignore all that, on every song on this album WK's unironic infectious enthusiasm comes through at 200 decibels. Every song is about partying, having a great time with your friends, getting drunk and losing it, falling head over heels for a girl in a club and just being happy to be alive. No joke, no arched eyebrow or hipsterish posing, just fun. The music is feel-good stadium rock, but every hook and every note is in the right place on every track. A totally perfect album and maybe the best of the 2000s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE WORK ANDREW WK!!!, 27 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
Well, I can honestly say that this is an extremely lively album!
great music, voclas, the lot!
and there is no noticable swearing, so ignore the parental advisory sticker!
Brilliant CD if you liked party Hard, then this is "DA BOMB"
keep up the good work guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made me smile. Can that be bad?, 18 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I Get Wet (Audio CD)
There are so many reasons to hate this album. It's loud. It's old fashioned. It's frighteningly derivative. It's Big Dumb Rock performed by someone too young to remember it the first time round.
BUT - it made me smile. Anything that takes a Mummy and makes her feel like a 17 year old again must be ok somehow, surely? Anyway, the baby likes it, and it guarantees me 35 minutes peace while he bops around the living room.
This album is fun. It hasn't got a message (I don't think - although admittedly I can't hear all the lyrics) but it does make a nice noise and it's great for scaring the neighbours on Sunday mornings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Get Wet
I Get Wet by Andrew W.K.
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews