Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Steve Winwood's groups
After Steve Winwood left the Spencer Davis Group, he formed Traffic, a group that recorded several fine albums between 1967 and 1975 There was a brief disbandment, during which period Steve joined Blind Faith. The original Traffic albums generally sound more cohesive than any compilations, but everybody has to begin somewhere. A compilation allows you to identify which of...
Published on 7 April 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution, only Mono !!
Although there are better sounding Stereo-Mixes from original-label Island/Universal (Paper Sun, Hole in my shoe) you`ll find only Mono-Mixes on this CD. If you prefer better sounding songs you should buy original-Island/Universal-CD Traffic/Gold (originals digital remastered).
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Steve Winwood's groups, 7 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
After Steve Winwood left the Spencer Davis Group, he formed Traffic, a group that recorded several fine albums between 1967 and 1975 There was a brief disbandment, during which period Steve joined Blind Faith. The original Traffic albums generally sound more cohesive than any compilations, but everybody has to begin somewhere. A compilation allows you to identify which of the original albums is likely to appeal most to you.
Traffic had three top ten hits and one minor hit in the UK although they made little impact on the American singles charts. Their music is somewhat different from the Spencer Davis Group, which was a British R+B band. While R+B is one of the ingredients of Traffic's music, there is also some rock, jazz, psychedelia and traditional folk in the mix.
As far as the UK hits are concerned, Paper sun made the top five, Hole in my shoe made number two, Here we go round the mulberry bush (from the similarly-titled movie) made the top ten and their chart history ends with the minor hit, No face no name no number. Of these songs, a cover of Hole in my shoe (recorded for charity) made number two in the eighties, thus matching Traffic's original achievement.
Those hits are all here, together with some interesting album tracks, among them the title tracks to three of their albums (Dear Mr Fantasy, John Barleycorn must die, Low spark of high-heeled boys).
Buy this to get a feel for what Traffic is all about, but if you really enjoy at least some of the tracks, identify the albums which your favorite tracks originally appeared, then buy them. Their original albums were Mr Fantasy (1967), Traffic (1968), Last exit (1969 - recorded just before their temporary disbandment and it shows), John Barleycorn must die (1970), Welcome to the canteen (1971), Low spark of high-heeled boys (1971), Shoot out at the fantasy factory (1972), On the road (1973) and When the eagle flies (1974).
This compilation serves as a great introduction to Traffic's music but can't do them full justice. Only the original albums (except Last exit) can do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution, only Mono !!, 12 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Although there are better sounding Stereo-Mixes from original-label Island/Universal (Paper Sun, Hole in my shoe) you`ll find only Mono-Mixes on this CD. If you prefer better sounding songs you should buy original-Island/Universal-CD Traffic/Gold (originals digital remastered).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, even for the younger generation!, 13 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I sneaked this one out of my dads collection while secretly indulging in a session of musical psychadelia, which I always mocked him for listening to over the years... Snigger. Anyway I am only just discovering the immense talent that these groups really did have back in the 60's and I found this album to be absolutely amazing! Good music like this does not really exist anymore and these grooves pricked up my ears. The minute it graced my speakers I knew I loved this band. I have never heard any of the other albums that make up this compilation but I would definately recommend this disc to anyone with an interest in good old fashioned, well orchestrated rock. Sweet discovery, will have to raid some more of this stuff when my old pa aint around hehe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable compilation album, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Given that I only know 1 Traffic album really well (namely 'John Barleycorn Must Die'), I'm not sure that I feel qualified to decide whether the 17 tracks on this compilation album give the best impression of a group that had many different line-ups and a vast array of styles including psychedelic pop ('Hole In My Shoe' and 'Paper Sun'), progressive rock, jazz fusion and folk. The classic 'Famous Four' members of the band - Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood and Dave Mason are featured on many of the inspired early works from the first 2 albums including the superb track 'Dear Mr. Fantasy'. The first post-Mason album 'John Barleycorn...' is fairly well covered although it feels strange to hear 'Freedom Rider' without 'Glad' preceding it and the powerful album closer 'Every Mothers Son' isn't here either! The opener 'Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys' is, at 11.36, scarily long and, although I concede that it has some brilliant passages, would not have been my choice to kick things off. Even so, this is a decent introduction to a very talented British band of the late 60s/early 70s and well worth buying in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. 5 star, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I have hardly stopped playing this great album since I bought it. Filled with many great songs outside of their hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Lovin, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Just as i remember it from all those years way back when just like really nice lovely days and beautiful songs from an era of "Love and Peace to all" except from the war in vietnam never should have gone there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Great product, fast delivery, I don't like that it came in a cardboard box though, takes up room in recycling and couldn't be posted through the door, I had to collect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good cd, very fast delivery, 10 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
It is a nice cd. But I could see that I better had bought John Barleycorn and Mr. Fantasy. These 2 albums are outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars traffic the collect, 21 July 2010
By 
Duncan Brooks "bellypork" (nottinghamshire,england.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
i am quite pleased with this product considering the price i paid for this item,the song titles i were looking for are all on this collection and that makes it all the more a bargain,the tracks im not keen on i just skip,the 8 tracks i wanted are worth the price i paid for this,anyone with a serious interest in late 60s rock wont go wrong purchasing this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An under rated classic 60's - 70's compilation and band, 20 July 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
After the top 20 successes of 'Keep on Running' and 'Gimme some loving' many people often over look Winwoods later works. Some fine tracks here, much more musically complex than the normal formulaic pop hits of the time. Lay back, light up and enjoy. '40,000 headmen wouldn't make me change my mind.' (Track 14)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Traffic
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews