Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial Metal's finest offering
Industrial metal has definitely seen its pinnacle with the arrival of Mutter. The German band has fantastic composition and lyric writing skills. The tracks that really make this album are the 1st 4. Unable to speak German I cannot comment on each songs content, except for a couple of words here and there!
Mein Herz Brennt - A melodic start followed by a plunge into...
Published on 30 Nov 2001 by wicket54@hotmail.com

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein : Mutter Tour edition (red 2 cd)
BEWARE OF THE RE-RELEASE!

The original item was a LTD edition UK only digi pack with 2 cds AND 2 booklets. There were only 7500 pressed.

This has been re-released - not by the band, but with Universal music's permission as a standard jewel case, with none of the extras - it is pressed to order and of no collectable value
Published on 10 May 2007 by Dr. K. Langer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial Metal's finest offering, 30 Nov 2001
By 
wicket54@hotmail.com (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
Industrial metal has definitely seen its pinnacle with the arrival of Mutter. The German band has fantastic composition and lyric writing skills. The tracks that really make this album are the 1st 4. Unable to speak German I cannot comment on each songs content, except for a couple of words here and there!
Mein Herz Brennt - A melodic start followed by a plunge into powerful metal, churning bass and shattering vocals. A very good start to the album.
Links 2 3 4 - If you have the chance to see the video to this song take it! It is great, the driving marching beat, the powerful chords and ants. Hundreds of ants!! Fantastic.
Sonne - The transfer from Links to Sonne is great. A grinding slide down the fret board of an overly charged guitar stepping straight into a count culminating in one of the best songs for a slow mosh! This is by far the best song on the album. The composition is fantastic and the chorus is melodic and powerful.
Ich Will - Another, unsurprisingly, very good song. Still strong, still heavy and powerful yet strangely insidious in places. With the constant "Ich Will" from the backing vocals the song is filled with determination.
Other songs of note are;
Mutter itself, a beautifully crafted piece of music. Rammstein are probably the only band I know that can get away with shouting "Mother" into the mic and making it sound good! Would that work in English, nope!
Spieluhr is slightly more paced and relaxed. Not a massive attack of blasting distortion but not as calm and sedate as Nebel.
Zwitter is a great moshing song, with the high and low counterpoint chanting the chorus like a drill instructor.
Adios starts out like a moshing tune that will break your neck before it's done. Speed metal soon gives way to a chorus with driving rhythm that is liable to break some bones through its sheer force.
BUY IT NOW!! Why are you still reading this! You should have scrolled to the top and clicked BUY at least two minutes ago! I echo everyone who has posted a review of this album. It is the best industrial metal out at the time, nothing better. Purchase without fear of disappointment. Thank you for listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ich Will !, 8 Jan 2003
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
Imagine what would happen if Laibach decided to record Propaganda songs under the musical guidance
of Kraftwerk, Metallica, Jim Thirlwell and Wagner. The result would probably still sound nothing like Rammstein, the
reason being that nothing else I have ever heard sounds like Rammstein. However this combination gives a flavour of the
plethora of influences and styles to be heard on this CD - in virtually every track. Mutter contains the most uplifting,
stompingly gutteral, melodic, pounding, awesome songs I have heard in a long time. The production is crystal clear and
the metal guitars, synth melodies, string sections and disco beats dance superbly around the whispered spoken and
beautifully sung German vocals. It works because it is German - if it was in French it would be awful - and I am honest
enough to admit that it probably sounds better lyrically without knowing the translation of every word. The standout
tracks for me are Mein Herz Brennt, Sonne, Ich Will and Speiluhr with the latter being a sublime musical experience.
The tail end of the CD has some slightly less ambitious tracks (Zwitter, Rein Raus) but even these contain surprises.
Unfortunately the most heard track at the time of writing is probably Feuer Frei as it was included on the Vin Diesel
XXX soundtrack but this is one of the lesser achievements of this collection. The only problem for Rammstein is finding
their audience because of their sheer diversity. At risk of showing my age, I have not been as astonished by
a band since buying Nail by Scraping Foetus Off the Wheel over 15 years ago. Rammstein are probably not
everyone's flavour of music but they are definitely mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zehr gut musik, 23 May 2002
By A Customer
this is one of the best albums in my collection , the band combines the best of metal with tones of accept, scorpions and kraftwerk, bit of mettalica as well maybe, it is nice to listen to melodic metal , so many new metal bands just seem to thrash out chords loudly or have 1 or 2 good songs then you buy the album and find the others boring. anyway mutter and sehnsucht are albums where every tracks excellent good or listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein are the choen ones, 17 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
I had heard of them, but never actually heard them. That was all to change however, and so converted me from a "not interested" to an obsessive fan of this band.
Very, very rarely, do I come across a single song which makes me fall in love with a band. In fact, the only time it has ever happened was with Rammstein and the song was Sonne. Pure, dark and 100% industrial metal. When the chord change in the chorus hit I was hooked and still am. The whole album is just superb and diverse. The openig track "Mein Herz Brennt" is laced with electronic violins and the deep (Germa) lyrics are sung around cutting guitar riffs. Links 234 has a marching beat stir emotions, Sonne speaks for itself and Ich Will is the sing a long of the album.
My personal favourites on the album have changed s often it's hard to say which I prefer over all. Every song is very powerful Adios is worth headbanging along to and the excellent Zwitter is, I find, upbeat and always puts me in a good mood.
Rammstein have the talent, insight and sheer brass-neck to change the stereo type of German music forever.
As the band themselves said, they are the most and least German band out there. Most, because of their determination to stick true to their roots, and least because this band do not take themselves seriously. The music is undeniably German. It is powerful, industrial and straight forward.
One word of warning, though. If you buy this album, the chances of you listening to anything else for 6 months are quite slim. Utter brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album by a brilliant band!!!!!!!!, 28 Mar 2002
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
There are not many bands around that come close to Rammstein as regards musical talent and originality. I found that their album "Mutter" was amazing from start to finish. The first song "Mein Herz Brennt" (My heart burns) reminds me of Led Zeppelin as it has a classical sound to it. The intro to "Links 2,3,4," sounds much like a marching army but in fact refers to the rhythm of a heart beat so it's really a song with a twist. "Mutter" will appeal to any true rock/metal fans as it has a variety of unforgettable guitar sounds and contains their mind-blowing singles " Sonne" (Sun) that had THAT video and also their last anthem "Ich Will" (I Want.) "Mutter" (Mother) is their new single and is much slower compared to other songs on the album but the guitar playing still has the note-perfect sound. The rest of the album has a lot of sexual content in the songs, here I'm referring to "Zwitter" and "Rein Raus." Rammstein are renowned for having not only sexual content in their songs but in their live performances also - I won't say too much about that!!! Rammstein fans know what I'm talking about. You don't have to know German to listen to this album because the actual music will have you captivated. Rammstein make their videos, T-shirts, and above all their live shows, as perfect as their mighty good tunes. Oh and girls, the fact that the lead singer, Till and guitarist, Richard are absolutely gorgeous adds to the fact that Rammstein are a fantastic band with an equally fantastic album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album you simply must own., 14 May 2006
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
Rammstein were not well known to me for a long time but i kept on seeing this music video on the tv and wondered

who it was because the video was just awesome and also i didn't understand a word of the song,that song was Sonne.

After that i was hooked and the hardcore industrial German act were soon in my cd collection.

I just can not describe how this album has changed my way of listening to music.I have always loved rock music and

never thought that a German industrial act would appeal to me but it did and this album has done that.

One of the best albums ever and any fan of rock music should try this.Every song is brilliant and i can not say that

about any other album i have ever heard,and it is all in German but i don't speak German and i still loved this and

even now years on from this album it is still the album i listen to the most.

If you are not sure if you want to buy this or not take it from me you won't look back after buying it and you'll

wonder why you waited this long to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its in german....but who cares, it rocks!, 9 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
I first heard of Rammstein a while back, when my friend had a compilation album and Ich Will was on it. I thought it was ok. Didnt think anymore of it.
Then I bought the Mutter album on impulse. And I love every track. I'm not even into industrial-metal, thrash metal, or any kind of metal really. This album just has a vibe, and you find your self warming to the german group. They are as different as they are talented, and they pull it off with grace. When listening to this, you end up feeling pumped and ready for anything; which is a far cry from what I had expected. The lead singer pronounciuation of the german language is as smooth and powerful as the guitar rifs...I have since looked up the lyrics to the songs in English. They are quite clever, some tracks are almost like 'dark' poetry; Spieluhr being one track, Adios and Nebel being two others.
Buy this album and give it a chance! You will not be dissapointed! Go into it will an open mind and come out being hooked!
And if you want something even more different, try and get hold of the album named Rammstein- Vater Remix, now that album is something else!! Like a twisted mix of industrail metal and industrial dance, with some keyboard riffs, futuristic sampling and ochestral thrown in for good measure! Suprisingly it works really well! Just grab a listen to the Mutter Remix by Inkubator, and you will see what I mean.
Overall, I think this group is very talented and I look forward to hearing more of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected. It's even better!, 1 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
I'm ashamed to admit this but before I'd even heard any Rammstein songs I decided I wouldn't like them. The way they'd been decribed I thought they would be like Nine Inch Nails but with even fewer gitaurs. Oh , and German lyrics. It didn't sound promising. Then I heard this album and I realised how wrong and stupid I'd been to dismiss such and truly superb band. For the first minute of the first track I wasn't impressed. Sure, it sounds good but a whole album of such calmness? Then all of a suddden....bang! In kicks a momumentely huge gitaur riff accomanied by an orchestra and stunning vocals. From this monent on, "Mutter" becomes the best album I've heard all year. Imagine Depeche Mode with riffs that would scare the hell out of Metallica these days. I'm afraid thats the only way I can describe Rammstein. But anyway this album is brilliant. My favourite songs being Sonne and Mein Herz Brennt but every track oozing quality. I would recomend all metal fans to buy this and maybe if Metallica heard some of the massive riffs on this they would feel the need to right some decent ones again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mutter knows best, 10 Oct 2002
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
This album was more of an experiemnt - not being completely au fais with the whole rock scene, and through listening to Kerrang's tv channel, I grew to love singles "Mutter", "Ich Will" and "Sonne". I thought maybe the rest of the album would be a disappointment - but I was wrong. This is a superb album with a medley of hard rock with synth and strings bundled in for pure delight. Not only do Rammstein sound like they are harmonious, but they also sound like they are doing it for LOVE. Careful though, especially when it comes to the translations, as one of the song titles translates to "Hermaphrodite" - much to my amusement though. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have album, 14 Sep 2001
This review is from: Mutter (Audio CD)
First things first: I don't speak a word of German, but with this album it doesn't really matter. From start to finish this is a spectacular album, you can almost hear the pyrotechnics from the stage show going off around you while you listen. "Powerful" is an undestatement. If you are worried about this album not being in English...buy it and find out. I can guarantee you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews