Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2013
Electrified traditional English Folk tunes. Recommended for anybody who has ever liked anything by Fairport Convention or Steeleye Span but worth a listen for anybody with broad tastes who likes good music played by excellent musicians. The only ones who might be slightly disappointed are those whose only Fairport album is Liege & Lief and who expect this to match it, which nothing ever will. But although it lacks the beautiful voice of Sandy Denny, if anything the instrumental performance is even stronger on this recording, especially the outstanding guitar work of Richard Thompson. Stand-out tracks for me are Walk Awhile, Sloth, Sir Patrick Spens and Doctor of Physick.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Fairport without Sandy Denny may seem a contradiction in terms, as indeed it was at the time, but in retorospect this is probably their second or third best album of all time, with Pegg and the embryonic Thompson doing some experimental vocals, often sharing the load on some songs in a form of chain-duet. SLOTH is by far and away the stand-out, harking back to the finest moments of the preeceding two albums, and you don't even think of Sandy Denny's absence while lsitening to it. NOW BE THANKFUL would have benefited from her delicate touch and possibly become the hit single they'd been after, and apart from that there are some interestingly progressive jigs and reels. The bonus material, as always, leaves the jury undecided, but at least you don't have to buy one of those wretched "lost tracks" compilations just to be disappointed.

This album does mark the end of their truly creative period, after which everything became bland, generic conveyor-belt folk, charmless and forgettable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Worth getting overall and some excellent tracks (Sloth, Sir Patrick Spens...) although 'Flatback Capers' is somewhat indulgently over-long. Recording quality is not brilliant - I wonder what the source medium was - it does sound like a couple of tracks have been recorded from vinyl - at higher volumes there is the unmistakeable 'needle rumble' of the turntable when some of the tracks finish (but maybe that adds to the nostalgia element?) Decent value, and some interesting versions from the Fairport back catalogue. I do like it and am glad I bought it - would have been 4/5 stars if the recording values were better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Having dugout and played 'Liege and Lief' recently and being impressed by just how good it was and owning a rare copy of, what at the time, was their farewell album (Farewell, Farewell) I could hardly resist getting this when spending my Christmas money. In 1970 Fairport found themselves, not for the first time, in a period of transition. Founding member Ashley Hutchings had moved on to form Steelyspan and perhaps even more traumatically they found themselves without a female vocalist for the first time with the departure of the sublime Sandy Denny. What's a group to do? Well quite simply keep developing their style without trying to replicate their sublime last album. With the addition of Dave Pegg on bass, injecting some real flamboyance and drive into the rhythm section the group came up with the goods. Tracks like 'Walk Awhile' and 'Sir Patrick Spens' bounce along with real vigour and contrast nicely with the hypnotic 'Sloth' a track that just draws you in. The bonus tracks include the beautiful single 'Now be Thankful' and the CD includes the requisite jigs and reels which are given a lift by Dave Pegg's driving and involve bass work. If there is one fault it is that this is a group of getting used to having to share out the vocal duties. In his sleeve notes Simon Nicol describes their efforts at the time as 'tentative' and that is probably a good description as occasionally they sound a little uncertain. However, in some ways that almost adds to the charm of the album. This is almost a five star album but not quite. If you're aiming to check out Fairport Convention this is probably one of the albums you should get!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Post Liege and Leif, and without Sandy Denny and Ashley Hutchings, Fairport reconvened as a five piece, allowing a more traditional male four voice folk harmony to come to the fore on Full House, not only that but the musicianship seemed to step up a notch as Thompson, Swarbrick and new boy Pegg trade note for note licks on many of the tracks ably backed by Simon Nicol and Dave Mattacks. Some of Fairport's finest musical moments are on this album; Dirty Linen, Sloth, Sir Patrick Spen, Flatback Caper and Flowers of the Forest are the standout moments, in fact there is not a dull moment on the album. A fine mix of trad and rock.
The CD version also includes a mono and stereo release of their 1970 single Now Be Thankful, all in all I would highly recommend this as a must have alongside the Sandy Denny era output.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Love this album and have listened to it endlessly since receiving it...the only other album by F.C. to have transfixed me to this degree is Jhon Babacombe Lee.....Both of these albums are totally supurb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
a desert island album,in my opinion on the same level as liege and liefe and unhalfbricking,i prefer them than the pentangle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
I had forgotten how good this album was since I have not used my record deck for a while now. Well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
A good example of Fairport's brilliant journey into "Folk-Rock"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
i wasn,t initially a big FAIRPORT fan, but catching up after a huge length of time finds the music extremely enjoyable, and because of the nature of the subject matter , it,s timeless. i,ve also purchased LIEGE AND LIEF, and UNHALFBRICKING, and the same applies to those ,all at excellent prices...mike aldron, swansea
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)