Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2013
But what I want to say is that the self righteous tone of Cameron and so many others, and their shock that at her death we don't all suddenly see the error of our ways and accept Thatcher as the heroic fountain of goodness they feel she was - this more than anything makes transparent their deep (and deeply mistaken) assumption that they - wealthy and over-privileged - have a birthright to over-rule everyone else. Deep down, they haven't really accepted democracy yet. They think, because they happen to be in power at the time of her death, that they can simply impose their own version of history and overwrite what everyone else might think. So ignorant are some of them that they actually believe that most people think as they do, and tell themselves that those who say 'no, your version of history is fake' are just a few extremists or people with bad manners who don't really deserve a voice.
So that is why reasonable, middle aged, well educated people of goodwill, who experienced the destruction of so much of our heritage under Thatcher, have to find a way to act, to put something ELSE into the picture to make it more balanced. The BBC is weak at the moment - after Saville and with a new DG; some presenters are putting a more balanced view, but the general tone is far too respectful towards someone who - at best - has a very mixed legacy.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Costello is a great lyricist and this is one of the most cutting, political songs ever recorded. A virulent attack on Thatcher's Britain.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
One of Costellos most overtly political numbers but a class tune and great lyric describing how many felt about the divisive figure of thatcher
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Credit to George Galloway for introducing me to this work of art. Sounds like a love lament not an angry political statement like too many anti-Maggie tunes.

"When England was the whore of the world
Margaret was her madam
And the future looked as bright and as clear as
The black tarmacadam"
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Great song, great lyrics, great singer. Also it's a good time to buy this song, good to remember the way people feels.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
A great catharsis for those of us who had to endure her reign. One's never sure whether the song conveys a seething hatred, or a sadness for a life lived without compassion.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
..Like many who will have bought this download over the last few days, I already have a vinyl copy of the album (Spike) and it's a classic in itself. This song of course is a heartfelt and vitriolic hymn for all those who remember the late Mrs T with less than warmth. alongside 'Shipbuilding' this is one of Costello's most openly politicised songs, and what makes it so great, so compelling, so heart-rending, is that he very clearly means every single word of it. No less potent now than when it was recorded.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
As relevant today as the day it was recorded. Enjoyed listening to the whole album again, some of Elvis' best work.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This is a bit of a dirge but it serves it`s purpose in denigrating Thatcher. She will burn in hell for what she did to the less well people of this country. We are told that we should show respect for the dead, respect has to be earned, she didn`t earn it.There is no longer a manufacturing industry owned by the people of Britain, she sold it all off. Even our utilities are foreign owned because of her actions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
A powerful message to the sycophants who mourn the passing of a tyrant. Elvis delivers her eulogy with passion and clarity.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)