Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal protest song
Costello is a great lyricist and this is one of the most cutting, political songs ever recorded. A virulent attack on Thatcher's Britain.
Published 12 months ago by A. J. WALTON

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A protest against the wicked witch, Thatcher
This is a bit of a dirge but it serves it`s purpose in denigrating Thatcher. She will burn in hell for what she did to the less well people of this country. We are told that we should show respect for the dead, respect has to be earned, she didn`t earn it.There is no longer a manufacturing industry owned by the people of Britain, she sold it all off. Even our utilities...
Published 12 months ago by ArumLily


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal protest song, 11 April 2013
By 
A. J. WALTON (Leicester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
Costello is a great lyricist and this is one of the most cutting, political songs ever recorded. A virulent attack on Thatcher's Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect song for this week, 11 April 2013
By 
S. Fox "SW19 Sean" (Sandys Home (almost)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
One of Costellos most overtly political numbers but a class tune and great lyric describing how many felt about the divisive figure of thatcher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually a rather beautiful and desperately sad song, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
But what I want to say is that the self righteous tone of Cameron and so many others, and their shock that at her death we don't all suddenly see the error of our ways and accept Thatcher as the heroic fountain of goodness they feel she was - this more than anything makes transparent their deep (and deeply mistaken) assumption that they - wealthy and over-privileged - have a birthright to over-rule everyone else. Deep down, they haven't really accepted democracy yet. They think, because they happen to be in power at the time of her death, that they can simply impose their own version of history and overwrite what everyone else might think. So ignorant are some of them that they actually believe that most people think as they do, and tell themselves that those who say 'no, your version of history is fake' are just a few extremists or people with bad manners who don't really deserve a voice.
So that is why reasonable, middle aged, well educated people of goodwill, who experienced the destruction of so much of our heritage under Thatcher, have to find a way to act, to put something ELSE into the picture to make it more balanced. The BBC is weak at the moment - after Saville and with a new DG; some presenters are putting a more balanced view, but the general tone is far too respectful towards someone who - at best - has a very mixed legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
Great song, great lyrics, great singer. Also it's a good time to buy this song, good to remember the way people feels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting & hard hitting, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
Credit to George Galloway for introducing me to this work of art. Sounds like a love lament not an angry political statement like too many anti-Maggie tunes.

"When England was the whore of the world
Margaret was her madam
And the future looked as bright and as clear as
The black tarmacadam"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly apt., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
A great catharsis for those of us who had to endure her reign. One's never sure whether the song conveys a seething hatred, or a sadness for a life lived without compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic song, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
As relevant today as the day it was recorded. Enjoyed listening to the whole album again, some of Elvis' best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful message, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
A powerful message to the sycophants who mourn the passing of a tyrant. Elvis delivers her eulogy with passion and clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic song whose time has come at last, 10 April 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Tyler "Dave Tyler" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
..Like many who will have bought this download over the last few days, I already have a vinyl copy of the album (Spike) and it's a classic in itself. This song of course is a heartfelt and vitriolic hymn for all those who remember the late Mrs T with less than warmth. alongside 'Shipbuilding' this is one of Costello's most openly politicised songs, and what makes it so great, so compelling, so heart-rending, is that he very clearly means every single word of it. No less potent now than when it was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A protest against the wicked witch, Thatcher, 16 April 2013
By 
ArumLily (High Wycombe (UK)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tramp The Dirt Down (MP3 Download)
This is a bit of a dirge but it serves it`s purpose in denigrating Thatcher. She will burn in hell for what she did to the less well people of this country. We are told that we should show respect for the dead, respect has to be earned, she didn`t earn it.There is no longer a manufacturing industry owned by the people of Britain, she sold it all off. Even our utilities are foreign owned because of her actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae4880d8)

This product

Tramp The Dirt Down
Tramp The Dirt Down by Elvis Costello
Buy MP3 Song0.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews