Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Bon Jovi album you can buy
This really is a stunning album. Some people will be put off by the fact that its a live album, but the quality really is very high, and its the only greatest hits album available that is actually up to date. Not that its strictly a greatest hits album as there are a few big hits missing, but it really is hard to fault the song selection. Of course, most of the songs are...
Published on 15 May 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better Live album from the Stadium Rock Gods
Bon Jovi fans have been waiting for a live album for quite some time. They're a great live band and the lack of any live material seemed, to me anyway, like an odd thing. Having waited for so long then, it's a shame this album isn't better. Don't get me wrong, most of Bon Jovi's best songs are on this package, but the production is incredibly lacking. For one, the...
Published on 17 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Bon Jovi album you can buy, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This really is a stunning album. Some people will be put off by the fact that its a live album, but the quality really is very high, and its the only greatest hits album available that is actually up to date. Not that its strictly a greatest hits album as there are a few big hits missing, but it really is hard to fault the song selection. Of course, most of the songs are tailor made for stadiums anyway, and some of the performances have a lot more energy than their studio counterparts. The only duff song on the album is the new one - One Wild Night - which sounds as though it should be sung by Ricky Martin. However, even if you're not a Bon Jovi fan at the moment I cannot recommend this album highly enough....SO BUY IT TODAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but flawed., 24 Dec. 2001
Bon Jovi have maintained themselves as premier musicians over the last 17 years. This album shows what they can do live.
Richie (guitar) is simply amazing. His work on Wanted is breathtaking, and his brilliance is reflected on the rest of the tracks.
The missing star can be credited to the fact that Jon's vocals aren't especially strong on some of the tracks, especially It's My Life. I find it hard to believe that this incarnation of this track is the best they could find, because is is simply poor.
However, Someday I'll Be Saturday Night is sheer perfection. In its studio incarnation, it's an uplifting track. On this album, it's a landmark rollercoaster of emotions that will send goosebumps up your arms and shivers down your spine. In a shock turn, Jon's vocals are actually very good on this song. Richie gets the last laugh, as his guitar largely defines this track, and in fact the whole album.
In conclusion, this is good stuff, but buy Crossroads instead. It's a better greatest hits collection, as it has the ballads on it. I can't for the life of me work out why they didn't include Always on One Wild Night Live...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best way to listen to Bon Jovi, ever!, 1 Jun. 2002
As Lonn Friend sayz in the liner notes: "The magic of Bon Jovi live".
Magic is the right word. Right from the mind-blowing opening chords of "It's my Life", this album shows comprehensively why Bon Jovi are as big as they still are.
All the classics are here, as well as a couple of others that should be counted as such:
There is the 1995 cover of the Boomtown Rats' "I don't like Mondays", performed with Bob Geldof himself, a passionate outburst as suited to the tenth anniversary of Live Aid as any song could hope to be. As well as that, there is one of the most lifting Bon Jovi songs of all time: "Just Older", which right from its opening drum beats became my favourite Bon Jovi song of all time.
The audience sing-alongs, the new guitar intro for "Wanted Dead or Alive", it's all here; Bon Jovi live is unbelievable.
(But where's "Lay Your Hands on Me"? Are they keeping it for next time or what?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better Live album from the Stadium Rock Gods, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
Bon Jovi fans have been waiting for a live album for quite some time. They're a great live band and the lack of any live material seemed, to me anyway, like an odd thing. Having waited for so long then, it's a shame this album isn't better. Don't get me wrong, most of Bon Jovi's best songs are on this package, but the production is incredibly lacking. For one, the crowd noise fades in and out between 90% of the songs. For a second, the crowd seemed to have been muffled, making it sound like their are ten people in the audience. Thirdly, the music itself has a very tinny, clean feeling to it when it should've been a raw rock n' roll fest.
The title of the album seems like it's trying to live up to Bruce Springsteen's 3CD set "Live 1975 - 85", which is one of the greatest live albums of all time. In comparison, this seems like a damp squib.
I love Bon Jovi and their songs, I just wish they'd taken more time getting this right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the glamour, glitz and glory of a live show in your home, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
This is the album all Bon Jovi fans have been waiting for - the live one! We've had years of b-side live tracks and bootleg live albums, at last we have the official live album.

Anyone that has ever seen Bon Jovi live will agree that they are one of the all time greats on stage and this album brings all the excitement and the atmosphere of a live gig straight to yor stereo.

It's a great mix of anthems like "Livin' on a Prayer" and "Bad Medicine", new songs like "It's My Life" and "One Wild Night" as well as some great oldies for die hard fans like "Runaway" and "In and Out of Love".

With some exceptional covers such as "I Don't Like Mondays", this album is the complete Bon Jovi experience and to top it off it won't break the bank either - excellently priced.

In the emphatic words of the New Jersey rockers themselves, this album roars through your speakers like a "Blaze of Glory"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I felt like I was back at Wembley!, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
The first time I heard this album I felt as though I was still at Wembley, screaming my lungs out to the rock Gods on the stage before me.I almost cried as I thought about the wonderful night I had, seeing these boys in concert! This is a perfect reminder to the day that I'll never forget. It has all their rock tracks, without a ballad within a mile of it! About time for Bon Jovi to step up onto the stage that was built just for them and prove to the world that they are rock'n'roll legends and not just ballad indulgers! Whatever song erupts from this band, ballad or not, there is an incredible amount of talent that you can almost feel and see. See these guys live, there is nothing quite like it, though this album comes within an inch of how they sound for real. I owe these fine words to the band that almost saved my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at last!, 1 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
I know what the critics said. I know what some Bon Jovi fans have said...But believe me when I say that this album simply rocks! A lot of people whine that "it's live, aww! Bon Jovi is no good like this!". What the hell!? The Bon is SUPPOSED to be seen live, that's when he's at his best! There are two special one-off tracks on this album, "Rockin' in the free world" and "I don't like mondays". These are arguably the best songs on the album. All the live tracks are done really well, "Just older" is especially emotional. Don't tax this album without hearing it first. Maybe not for the passive Bon Jovi fans, but a must for the REAL fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi's debut live album, 16 Jun. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Released in 2001, 'One Wild Night' is an entertaining and interesting compilation of 14 live recordings from Bon Jovi gigs spanning the years 1985-2001. I bought it at a time when I had to have every Bon Jovi record I could find.

It's a great collection and is worth having, but after each track, the song fades and start with another, which rather spoils the consistency. It is obvious, with the band's different playing and sound, that these recordings are taken from different stages of the band's career, but as long as you remember that is essentially a compilation, this shouldn't be a problem.

The live version of 'Livin' On A Prayer' is a stand out, I much prefer any live recording of that song to the studo recorded track (which of course I love) any day. Other highlights include excellent covers of 'Rocking In The Free World' and 'I Don't Like Mondays'. The final track is a studio re-recording of 'One Wild Night', the song that first appeared on the 'Crush' album, and is much better.

This is a great live album, the track list (although missing a few obvious songs) is good, and so is the sound quality. Despite it's flaws, this is a very good release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE HELL OF AN ALBUM!!!, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
Once again the rock legends excel themselves with an album that is no less than amazing!!! All the greats such as 'livin' on a prayer' and 'shot through the heart' are performed to perfection and generate an electric atmosphere in your own home! Also cranking the volume up to max unleashes the full potential of the more powerful tracks like 'It's my life' and 'Bad medicine', sending the adrenaline rushing through your body as the chorus hits. After playing this album constantly over the last week I have bought tickets for the groups Milton Keynes concert and am now trying to devise a way of getting down there! Overall a stunning live compilation which is worth scrimping and saving for!! BUY THIS ALBUM NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What They Do Best!!!!, 17 May 2001
Bon Jovi Live in concert - one of the greatest experiences ever!
Any Bon Jovi fan who lives for their concerts and the release of their singles and albums will love this live CD. The tracks give listeners a broad range of Bon Jovi through the years although I wish they had included at least 1 of their ballads to get the full buzz included from the concert - Jon pouring his heart and soul into singing Always in front of thousands of girls wishing he was singing it to them (personally)!
I put this CD on, close my eyes and think back to the concerts I have been to and remember the stunning performance and look forward to the concerts I know I will go to.
As an added bonus there is a truely FANTASTIC biography in the sleeve that epitomises the feelings of a Bon Jovi fan, here are 2 quotes to get you hooked:
'Bon Jovi fans are telepathically connected at an almost cosmic level.'
'The magic of Bon Jovi LIVE. Front row girls so deeply in love they would mortgage a part of their soul they haven't yet identified for a lock of hair from the Jersey boy who made good, the front man with the supernova smile and stage presence of the historically few and far, far between. Boys finding themselves superstars for a night because they, too, dig the tunes -- but even better, they're diggin' the way the chicks get when they're diggin' the tunes.'
Buy this CD to get a taste of Bon Jovi live but better still - go to the concert!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews