Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5th Year of Fantastic Fun
This season sees the arrival of wonderfully entertaining Valerie, the scheming, money-grabbing, man-hungry vixen from Buffalo, who moves into Brenda's old bedroom and the empty space in Dylan's bed. Fans will also remember the opening of The Peach Pit After Dark, which showcases the guitar-playing talents of Ray Pruitt, the controlling trailer-trash boy Donna falls for...
Published on 28 Aug 2008 by Ginger Jody

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars i love 90210 but its a bit off a rip off
Each episode should last a minimum of 42 mins approx but I was shocked and feel cheated of my money some ended about 37mins but most ended on about 42mins as it should be?! Why do they always do this? When you pay for DVD you would expect to get the full duration of every episodes. In the last 2 episode of this season (5th season) it is comined into 1 just like the pilot...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 5th Year of Fantastic Fun, 28 Aug 2008
By 
Ginger Jody (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This season sees the arrival of wonderfully entertaining Valerie, the scheming, money-grabbing, man-hungry vixen from Buffalo, who moves into Brenda's old bedroom and the empty space in Dylan's bed. Fans will also remember the opening of The Peach Pit After Dark, which showcases the guitar-playing talents of Ray Pruitt, the controlling trailer-trash boy Donna falls for. Watch out for the gorgeous Casper van Dien as Griffin, the rich frat-boy Donna inexplicably dumps for Ray!

Some lowlights of this series are the tedious marital difficulties of Jesse and Andrea, she having been reduced from the Yale-bound star pupil of high school to the shotgun-wedding teen mother. Another bore is the past-life-regression obsession of Dylan's, which sees long flashbacks of his life as a cowboy in the Wild West, (I'm not joking!) leading to him concluding Kelly is his soul mate.

On the whole, the series is great fun and mandatory for any fan of 90210. The Kelly/Brandon/Dylan love triangle continues, helped in part by Val. You'll also see Kelly being burnt in a fire and sucked into a cult, Brandon becoming student body President and meeting up with his old flame Emily and Dylan rescuing his riches from con-artists Kevin & Suzanne.

Unfortunately, the DVD does not have a single extra feature; NOTHING! This was a real disappointment, considering the high standard of the extras on the earlier seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fifth Year of Fantastic Fun!, 22 Nov 2008
By 
Ginger Jody (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This season sees the arrival of wonderfully entertaining Valerie, the scheming, money-grabbing, man-hungry vixen from Buffalo, who moves into Brenda's old bedroom and the empty space in Dylan's bed. Fans will also remember the opening of The Peach Pit After Dark, which showcases the guitar-playing talents of Ray Pruitt, the controlling trailer-trash boy Donna falls for. Watch out for the gorgeous Casper van Dien as Griffin, the rich frat-boy Donna inexplicably dumps for Ray!

Some lowlights of this series are the tedious marital difficulties of Jesse and Andrea, she having been reduced from the Yale-bound star pupil of high school to the shotgun-wedding teen mother. Another bore is the past-life-regression obsession of Dylan's, which sees long flashbacks of his life as a cowboy in the Wild West, (I'm not joking!) leading to him concluding Kelly is his soul mate.

On the whole, the series is great fun and mandatory for any fan of 90210. The Kelly/Brandon/Dylan love triangle continues, helped in part by Val. You'll also see Kelly being burnt in a fire and sucked into a cult, Brandon becoming student body President and meeting up with his old flame Emily and Dylan rescuing his riches from con-artists Kevin & Suzanne.

Unfortunately, the DVD does not have a single extra feature; NOTHING! This was a real disappointment, considering the high standard of the extras on the earlier seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars i love 90210 but its a bit off a rip off, 6 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Each episode should last a minimum of 42 mins approx but I was shocked and feel cheated of my money some ended about 37mins but most ended on about 42mins as it should be?! Why do they always do this? When you pay for DVD you would expect to get the full duration of every episodes. In the last 2 episode of this season (5th season) it is comined into 1 just like the pilot episodes in season 1 if you got season 1 DVD that is. This is when most of the gang went to palmspring to party [except for Brenda (Shannen Doherty) left at end off series 4, Dylan Mckay (Luke Perry) went to investigate his fathers killers, Andrea Zuckerman (Gabrielle Carteris) and Jesse Vasquez (Mark D. Espinoza) both decided to make a new life elsewhere]. while there at party there got to be beer knowing people like steve and brandon beers wont last long so they both went to buy some more supplys. They stoped to re-fill at petrol station where they meet a young rich sexy lady that steve gets to spend all day with. Later that day they were at a pub/bar place where they sang on a karaoke in front of audience (I remember watching both of them singing when it was on tv but they cut this part out of the DVD). And they kissed with passion then steve gets a shocking surprize LOL.

I think they should make a new law that if its been cut they must label it clearly or ether make it illegal to cut it without labeling it because this is wrong not to inform buyers of the true value of its quantities and qualities. But however i would still of bought it because i just love this show.

I hope this review helps people 1 way or another and its good to post article then we get better ideas off all the cheats and scams out their
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment!, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big 90210 fan and already had the 5th season downloaded but wanted to buy the dvds too for better quality and collection.
For my disappointment i discovered that all ray's songs have been removed from every episode,probably due to some copyright issues.
In some episodes you miss most of the action because of the cut scenes.
That's a shame!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable season of a solid show, 14 Dec 2008
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I recently picked up this set of 90210 and enjoyed reliving it for the first time since it went off air back in 2000. I wasn't a die hard fan of the show back in the day but I did watch quite regularly... really I was more into Melrose place, 90210's sister show. Still, I did watch this show regularly...

The early years of the show (seasons 1-4) were huge culture events for young people all over the world in the 90's, they struck a chord because of the willingness to tackle many issues ... drugs, alcohol, etc. Whilst I did watch the show during these seasons , I really enjoyed watching the show more in the later years ... starting with this season, my first to purchase on dvd.

This season saw a shift from being a little on the preachy, educational side in the early years to a more entertaining (for me anyway) melodrama, the focus was less on issues and more on relationships this year... a lot of people didn't like this switching of gears. But I did, and if you liked the more soapy feel of later 90210, then you will enjoy this season for sure..

We knew the characters so well by now having watched them grow in previous seasons and we really cared about them as an audience, they all had that likeability factor that is crucial to any hit show. So, it was nice to see the characters blossom further this year in preparation for the real world after college.

Shaneen Doherty had been fired after year 4, but my they struck gold with the introduction of bad girl Valerie this year, she was edgier and more entertaining to watch than spoilt Brenda ever was. Valerie was developed slowly this season and it was a hoot to watch her pretending to be nicey-nice at first to the walshes and the gang before becoming a bitch that you actually rooted for in ways.. she was the new star of the show.

As for the rest of the gang, donna developed nicely pursuing new relationships with guys like griffin and ray... having moved on from david, david coupled up with Clare Arnold and the two were a welcome comedic duo, clare has many great lines... steve was steve... moving from one hair brained idea/ scheme to the next, Brandon remained the moral anchor of the show and his relationship with Kelly was only starting out, Dylan went off the rails then back on them and spent the rest of the season pining in the background for Kelly, Andrea and jessy were doomed from the start and drifted apart slowly before bowing out of the show , also cindy and jim depart by season end.

All in all, this season is a good buy, it's light and fluffy in many ways, the odd issue crops up here and there and is played out through character's dilemmas but mostly its just nice to relive the stories/lives of old faces that we knew and loved.
(By the way, a lot of people complained that the music has been changed in many episodes, I didn't notice honestly , it definitely didn't effect my enjoyment of the show). Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this item, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I appreciate that i can buy this series separately because to buy the full 10 seasons at once would be costly. Nice product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this TV show it brings back so many memories when I watched it the first time round. i am not very keen on the new Beverly hills 90210 I love Luke Perry so much lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Hills 90120 Season 5, 24 Sep 2009
By 
D. S. Sloman "DVD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I buy this dvd season because i watch them when i was i kid & like them they are good watch all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5th year came up..... and a new Face (Valerie), 9 July 2009
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This Season is really nice with new stories around Steve, Kelly, Dylan etc. at UCLA! Addtional Valerie Malone (T. Tiessen) stept in. I saw it 1995 on TV, I could remember that Jamie Walters performed a few songs in the After dark club. Here on DVD these songs were cut out. But for me it isn't necessary, this season is great! The quality is pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series. Glad it arrived so quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD]
Beverly Hills 90210 - Season 5 [DVD] by Jennie Garth (DVD - 2009)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews