Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool cd but way to few songs., 4 Sep 2000
This review is from: Live at The Lyceum (Audio CD)
The total playingtime of this cd is about 37 minutes. I can imagine that Bob Marley played for longer than that. The complete concert would me fantastic, but this short cutout is still really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant live album with Marley at his exuberant best, 22 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
In the same summer that produced another memorable live album, Frampton Comes Alive, Bob Marley and the Wailers' performance at the Lyceum in London gave us this excellent, but very contrasting, live album. It shows the band at their exuberant best and is full of atmosphere, with spirited performances of some of Marley's best-known early protest songs, a great band, and enthusiastic audience participation. The remastered sound is much better than the original vinyl LP, and though the one extra track included is nothing special, it gives a sense of completeness as it was the B-side of the hit single No woman no cry which came from this concert (you get the full 7 minute version on this album). All lyrics are included, and several very nice live performance photos of Bob. Sufficient to say that this really is one of the classic reggae albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the finest live albums of all time., 25 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
This cd is superb.I first heard it in 1975 and since then there is rarely a week goes by when I haven`t played it...originally in vinyl of course ! The atmosphere is tremendous;Marley & The Wailers are on top form and the track selection faultless.It ranges from No Woman,No Cry...anyone remember Johnny Walker playing that at leat three times in one lunchtime show ?...to Get Up,stand Up and the newly included Kinky Reggae.It sounds and feels like summer and more importantly it is the sound of a master performer and audience in harmony celebrating a universal culture that manafes to envelope the listener.(Sorry if that sounds pretencious !! ) As a live album its up there with Christy Moore "Live At The Point" and Bruce`s "New York City".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hot night in The Lyceum- I was there., 25 April 2009
By 
Pilansberg pete (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
My excitment at seeing Bob back in 1975 is hard to describe.
I was a student at Reading University at the time and had been into BMW since Catch a Fire. This was a guilty secret at a time when outside of the West Indian community, Reggae was loved only by "skinheads".
I`d been to Jamaica in 1974, at the time of the "Gun Courts" and had stayed in Kingston as well as touring the island. There wasn`t much live music to be seen but The Wailers were everywhere on the radio and the street sound systems.
Then came Natty Dread with it`s message of Revolution and Dance!!! I was blown away by the sheer intensity of the music and the words. Bob suddenly began to become a fashionable name to drop.
So when BMW came to the Uk on tour I was one of the first in line; actually back then, before the internet, I think it was a matter of sending a cheque in the post.
After the customary wait inside a crowded and very hot Lyceum, the concert was brilliant. Pounding rhtyhms, a messaniac singer,sweet backing vocals and a sea of sweating,swaying, skanking, bodies, some young and some old; mostly black, but with a sizeable minoriyy of whites. And almost everyone seemed to know all the songs, thats why on the disc you can hear the audience singing along.
After two hours of the most glorious music we stumbled into the strrets of the West End, knowing we had seen something special, and someone who was going to be an important part of the rest of our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trenchtown Rock, Indeed, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
Recorded at the Lyceum in London in 1975, this concert works well on two levels; as a great "almost-best off" for the casual fan, and as an essential slice of classic-era live Wailers for the more seasoned fan.

The recording quality and production of the concert is superb. I have the original 7 track CD release on Tuff Gong (TGLCD 4) and it's very nicely mastered.

Clocking in at around 37 minutes (or just over 40 if you get the remaster featuring the bonus track of Kinky Reggae) some younger listeners used to longer CD running times may find it a bit short.

But, to use an already overused cliche, less is more. This is a 7-shot whammy from a band firing on all cylinders. There are admittedly a couple of moments where things sag a little, but they are far outweighed by the powerhouse Reggae pumping throughout the bulk of the album.

I'd say there is actually only one weak track on the entire album which - surprising as this may sound - is Get Up, Stand Up. It lacks all the punch of the studio version, and about midway through decides it's going to spend the final 3 minutes meandering its way gradually to an elongated anti-climax. It's a shame because it brings what was an incredibly energetic show to its end with a whimper rather than with the bang it deserves.

So 4 stars out of 5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top tunes, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
This takes me right back to my teenage years when I saw Bob Marley and the Wailers for the first time at Hammersmith Odeon - i think i was only 14 years old - absolutely fantastic album and the live recording makes you feel like you are in the middle of the audience - a must for all wrinkly Marley fans like me who have finally thrown their record decks out!I did not realise how scratched my vinyl was until I heard this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trenchtown Rock, indeed, 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at The Lyceum (Audio CD)
Recorded at the Lyceum in London in 1975, this concert works well on two levels; as a great "almost-best off" for the casual fan, and as an essential slice of classic-era live Wailers for the more seasoned fan.

The recording quality and production of the concert is superb. I have the original 7 track CD release on Tuff Gong (TGLCD 4) and it's very nicely mastered.

Clocking in at around 37 minutes (or just over 40 if you get the remaster featuring the bonus track of Kinky Reggae) some younger listeners used to longer CD running times may find it a bit short.

But, to use an already overused cliche, less is more. This is a 7-shot whammy from a band firing on all cylinders. There are admittedly a couple of moments where things sag a little, but they are far outweighed by the powerhouse Reggae pumping throughout the bulk of the album.

I'd say there is actually only one weak track on the entire album which - surprising as this may sound - is Get Up, Stand Up. It lacks all the punch of the studio version, and about midway through decides it's going to spend the final 3 minutes meandering its way gradually to an elongated anti-climax. It's a shame because it brings what was an incredibly energetic show to its end with a whimper rather than with the bang it deserves.

So 4 stars out of 5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'live' album ever?, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live! (Audio CD)
Arguably the best 'live' album ever, close your eyes turn up the sound and its as if you are there...ageless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Bob Marley, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live! (MP3 Download)
I love Bob Marley's music, this album brings back great memories of my young days. Real sing along and toe tapping tunes.

Thank you Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have cd, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at The Lyceum (Audio CD)
What can you say that hasn't been said. This album is a classic. Wonderful music from a genius at the top of his game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live!
Live! by Bob Marley
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews