Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
32
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2008
A reappraisal, because the general feeling about this album has been doomy - mostly from the band themselves! Maybe the sessions, conducted in a haunted building, were too much for everyone except Blackmore (who THRIVES on the tension created by such settings - hear the awesome Long Live Rock'n'Roll album for proof!), and the feelings left were a little bitter. The album 'only' got to #10 in England - the band's last Top 10 album to date - and there was the idea that DP were underachieving. But so what? Many bands now produce chart-topping slabs of bilge (and they did then!). What matters is the music, and this album has only two substandard tracks (by the standards of Purple, the greatest band of all). They are Spanish Archer, which is pretty dull, and Hard-Loving Woman, which has poor lyrics (again, by Gillan's standards). The rest is the bee's knees. Bad Attitude may borrow a little from Yes' Owner of a Lonely Heart, but sounds fabulous. Gillan's vocals are bluesed up, and sound superb. Unwritten Law has really wonderful lyrics (a comment/warning on STDs and so on), plus an inventive, jazzy musical backbone. Call of the Wild is almost like Bon Jovi playing Woman from Tokyo - catchy, but not cliched. Mad Dog is heavier, and very original, with witty lyrics. Love Lord's 'dog bark' solo. Black & White, DP's comment on the press, is another standout - quite funky (yes, Mk2 could be as funky as 1, 3 and 4), hearty, and still humorous. The two duff tracks (to me) follow - they have their fans too - but the real highlights end the album. Strangeways shows Blackmore's fabled Eastern influences, but in an entirely new setting, with Gillan resolutely avoiding any Rainbow-isms. A startlingly innovative number. Mitzi Dupree is also fantastic, with Gillan's vocals and lyrics as good and heartfelt as on the previous album's Wasted Sunsets. He can tell a story, that man. Lovely blues in the DP style (very different from Zep's take on the genre). And the 'speed metal' track is this time saved 'til last - the anti-drug live standout, Dead or Alive. Great, intricate solos from Blackmore and Lord, which fit perfectly with Gillan's impressive performance.

Throughout, Glover is his usual reliable (in the good sense) self, but Paice and Blackmore both show unusual restraint. Those two can show off with the best of 'em, so great is their technical expertise, but here they choose to blend in with the band. The approach works, but it would be good to hear them both stepping to the foreground again with Battle Rages On five years later, the last Mk2 album.

This one, though, can lay claim to being one of DP's most interesting and diverse records, with very memorable songs. And those qualities make a good album, surely? One of Purple's most mystifying moments came not long after, with the (temporary) dismissal of Gillan. Now that was bizarre.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
For the remastered version they used the vinyl-master by mistake, so that several songs are the shorter vinyl-versions.
The original CD from 1987 has the correct versions.

I strongly recommend the original CD.

1 star for this, the original I give 4 stars.
44 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
All i hear at the moment is some good catchy rock music, with great vocals and great guitar playing and some slgihtly new synthesiser sounds and stuff, again my only complaint is the lack of BASS guitar in the mix as it should have been powerful sounding like the 70's albums, that however does not make the music rubbish. I still think its pretty good its a bit more modern than the 70's music which people keep comparing it too. and is slightly not what I was expecting I was expecting more blues because of the title but I think it has some awesome drumming and new takes on music for deep purple anyway. with some wonderful vocals and gutiar and keyboard playing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2005
Ive only just purchased this album. Having read the various reviews some good, some not so good, I kept an open mind.
This album is BRILLIANT. I love it. I cant believe that anyone would slate it. Ive got it in the car and Spanish Archer is currently my favourite. It's an Album that needs a little listening to, to get it. But as I play it more and dig into the depths it's a treasure of an album - buy it at this excellent price, keep an open mind and you wont regret it
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The House of Blue Light is the 12th studio album by Deep Purple; their second since the reunion with Gillian and Blackmore and therefore the sixth studio album overall by the MKII line up.

Their previous album, Perfect Strangers, had been successful and acclaimed, mixing the style of their most famous album, Machine Head, with a (at the time) modern edge.

While their previous album made some minor concessions to the sounds of the 1980s, The House Of Blue Light takes this idea much further, incorporating much more distinctly 80s sounds and styles, in addition to a production job which was a little bit more 80s than Perfect Strangers. Furthermore, while Perfect Strangers was mostly driving and had a rock attitude, `Blue Light is slicker and more like a collection of hit singles than an album of light and shade.

A fair amount of long-time Deep Purple fans were turned off by this album, either because they had a stylistic problem, or just because it was seen as a weak album in terms of songwriting. Consequently, you won't find the band really supporting anything off of this album live.

In all fairness, there are undoubtedly better Deep Purple albums available, but even so this is hardly an abomination. Tracks like `The Unwritten Law,' showcase Paice's drumming skills, `Mad Dog,' 'Strange Ways,' and `Black & White,' all have the driving sound that made the previous album so good. Finally even those who don't like the album can agree on `Hard Lovin' Woman,' one of the heavier tracks on offer.

In summary; The House of Blue Light is still a fairly good Deep Purple album, but perhaps too 80s in places. For newcomers, it is definitely not the first album you should get by the band, but you should still think about adding it to your collection eventually.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2007
This is not a bad album!!!! One of the must underated Deep Purple albums. Its has some pretty good tracks. Bad Attitude, Mad Dog, Black and White, Mitzi Dupree and Dead Or Alive are all really good. The only reason i'm not giving it 5 stars is because of Call Of The Wild, i just find it too cheesy, it's not a bad song just not one of thier best. But i find this album much better than stuff like Abandon, Perpendicular and Bananas. Dead Or Alive really shows how much better Ritchie Blackmore is than Steve Morse. Get it!!!!
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Very good album, better than its seem, so it's not the best era but still it is very good and worthy.
There are some great songs like 'The Spanish Archer', 'Hard Lovin' Woman', 'Dead or Alive'.
The only song that sound weird is the second 'The Unwritten Law'.
As a collector i have all Deep Purple albums, and this one is a must have in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
In my opinion one of their best - Love this Album - Great Rockers like Dead or Alive, Bluesy sounds - Just listen to MItzy Dupree and Ritchies guitar on Spanish Archer is possibly the best he's ecver done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
There was nothing particularly wrong with the classic deep purple, the music was unusual and the band was of a reasonable calibre but in the house of blue light deep purple manage to loose the roots of music like black night and smoke on the water and create a unique and beutiful album. From tracks like the unwriten law to a more blues style mitzie dupree this album is brilliant and as far as deep purple albums go not very much comes close, aside from obviously the stunning machine head album. With this album and the battle rages on... deep purple are probably, in my opinion, in the baest stages of there career ever!!! Brilliant album!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
Great album from the band this album is a hum dinger and rocks like the old Purple we all love,this is the best work they have done in a long time great for your Deep Purple collection.a must buy.Got 9 Deep Purple remastered albums and this one is one of my favoutites,the stops have all been pulled out for this tasty offering and its a absolute treat.I highly recommend there follow up album Perfect Strangers which is also superb.Get them both they are great sounding Deep Purple albums and want a place in your collection.
Hope review is of help to you.Please check out my other reviews you might find something of interest to you.Cheers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)