Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addictive listening
After watching the film, many times, felt compelled to purchase the cd, glad I did - brilliant listening, totally addictive, and with a unique sound of their own, have sinced copied it for the car. Tried to purchase Andrew Strong's debut cd but with no luck, still waiting
Published on 21 Mar 2001

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music! Very poor mastering.
First of all this review is not about the music, that is truly excellent. This is probably one of the best soundtracks ever, and almost definitely the best soul music soundtrack.

Also the CD sleeve/package is very nice.

The big problem in this edition is the audio, which is heavily compressed, resulting in excess of noise and listening fatigue. I'm...
Published 17 months ago by GoodMusicFan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addictive listening, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
After watching the film, many times, felt compelled to purchase the cd, glad I did - brilliant listening, totally addictive, and with a unique sound of their own, have sinced copied it for the car. Tried to purchase Andrew Strong's debut cd but with no luck, still waiting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome gritty soul. Powerful. Great arrangements., 28 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
Andrew Strong's powerful vocals combined with the soulful backup vocals are perfected by the great tight arrangements of these American Soul classics. The movie storyline is only fair but it's more than made up for by the incredible music created by this band and singers. The hardest working band in Dublin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRACK LIST:, 10 Nov 2010
By 
D. J. Hern "DaveJH" (Material World (Just visiting)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commitments [VINYL] (Vinyl)
1. Mustang Sally
2. Take Me To The River
3. Chain Of Fools
4. Dark End Of The Street
5. Destination Anywhere
6. I Can't Stand The Rain
7. Try A Little Tenderness
8. Treat Her Right
9. Do Right Woman Do Right Man
10. Mr Pitiful
11. I Never Loved A Man
12. In The Midnight Hour
13. Bye Bye Baby
14. Slip Away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 8 Feb 2008
By 
Shai Helfman (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
the wonderful soundtrack of the Commitments, vol 1+ vol 2 in a wonderful Deluxe edition and a fancy and respectable package. include 5 songs of Andrew strong.

i do not think there is a compliment that was not told on the wonderful cover of the songs (include Midnight Hour,Chain of Fools, At The Dark End Of The Street, Mustang Sally and more ) and about the strong voice of andrew strong.

but this is a wonderful item to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Music, 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. R. Shelvey (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
Once you have listened to the Commitments CD and watched the DVD of the film, you will be a fan for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music! Very poor mastering., 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
First of all this review is not about the music, that is truly excellent. This is probably one of the best soundtracks ever, and almost definitely the best soul music soundtrack.

Also the CD sleeve/package is very nice.

The big problem in this edition is the audio, which is heavily compressed, resulting in excess of noise and listening fatigue. I'm 100% sure of this, since I made an analysis of the sound wave with Audacity. This is a clear example of loudness war (refer to [...] if you wish to know more about what "loudness war" means). Avoid this remastered deluxe edition, better the vinyl version (for sure) or probably the first CD edition of the album (since older CDs are usually less compressed than many newly remastered editions). Remastered is good if well done, but this is definitely not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Commitments, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
The Commitments are very good. I bought the CD for "Mustang Sally": the way they interpret the song is beautiful. I enjoyed listening to the other songs as well. Thank you for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
Owned this one before but got scratched and could not live without it. Brilliant CD, love all the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blues tracks plus catchy dance numbers., 30 Aug 2010
By 
T. blanchard (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Commitments (Audio CD)
All the famous blues tunes well recorded with great singers. A really good compilation which my kids love too. Great to dance to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats!, 31 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Commitments (MP3 Download)
A classic soundtrack to a pretty decent film. All the great songs are there - a great party album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8977bc)

This product

The Commitments
The Commitments by The Commitments
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews