Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2002
Dusty had fallen from favor when this was released and it fell through the cracks, which is a shame because it may well rival Memphis as her finest work. True, it's pieced together from a lot of sources and did represent Philips cleaning out the vaults, but it is THE showcase for the depth and breadth of her talent. She never rocked harder than she does on the mind-blowing funkfest of "Crumbs." Taken with "Girls Can't Do..." and "Girls It Ain't Easy..." this trilogy makes a fascinating statement from a woman who used to "secretly" produce her own records because her label didn't think the world was ready for such independence in a female artist. We're only beginning to understand what an amazing pioneer Dusty was.
She was at the peak of her vocal prowess here, and this truly daring album offers an embarrassment of astonishing musical riches - from the opening of "Mixed Up Girl" that prefigures drum 'n' bass by nearly 30 years to Dusty's sumptuous turn at samba to the wild fits and starts of "Someone Who Cares." Even by today's standards this album still thrills, still sounds startlingly adventurous.
If you don't know "Faces," don't let one of the most important and, up to now, obscure albums of the 20th century pass you by again!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2003
If you don't own this and even if you don't know who Dusty Sprinfield was, GET IT. It is Dusty as her grandest, most dynamic peak. The title track, "See All Her Faces," is worth the purchase price alone, but every single track is to die for. You can talk about Old Blue Eyes all you want, but no one ever phrased a lyric any better than Springfield. While I love all her works, this has got to be my favourite. This one Dusts them all!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2008
This was my 2nd Dusty record album bought for £1.25 in a grocery store; it was amongst a rack of deleted albums. I remember hearing and liking 'Yesterday When I Was Young' on daytime radio and was glad to get it on this album. I was surprised by the mix of songs here. I believe most but not all were recorded in the UK. Dusty was recording for both Phillips UK and Atlantic USA at this time. Tracks include a few covers of USA girl group minor soul hits including 'Girls It Ain't Easy', 'Let Me Down Easy' and 'Girls Can't Do What The Guys Do' and then several classic beautiful relaxed vocals eg 'See All Her Faces' which is a great track, I Start Counting, Come For a Dream - all lovely. The set includes 'Willy and Laura Mae', a Jerry Wexler production. It's a good funky track. But I can't imagine Dusty living off the land amongst cotton and corn in a shack and going down to Willy and Laura for barbeque. Why did Jerry? Maybe he was confused.

The revelation is 'Crumbs off the Table' a pile driving, sexy soul rocker. Heavy bass, screeching guitars and brass all turned up loud. Dusty singing 'I'm hungry for your love, but you, you ain't able. All you want to give me is the crumbs off the table'. This side of Dusty is usually sublimated and fused into the 'yearning' quality of her best love songs both uptempo and down tempo where the lyrics are often quite passive and we even find her pleading for love. She isn't pleading here, she's demanding her conjugal rights. 'Give me the lovin' I've been waiting for all day!' This is the killer track. Lesley Duncan and Kay Garner back Dusty with great vocals that match Dusty's energy.

The other great track on this extended CD is the previously lost 'What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life'. Like 'Look of Love' it's been covered many times but when you hear Dusty sing it you know you've heard the definitive version. It's swooningly beautiful and holds you entranced throughout. Then you play it again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2002
This album is the best! Every song on this album is great. It's much better(dare i say this!) then Dusty in Memphis. The sad thing is it didn't do well when it first came out but i think everyone should go out and buy it.There's a song on this album for everyone. From ballands like "Nothing is forever" and " I start counting" To pop songs like"A mixed up girl and "Girl's it ain't easy". The Bonus tracks are also great. The best track on this album has to be "Nothing is forever". Dusty's singing is great and the song is so true cause nothing is forever!All songs have meaning which is full of doubt or love.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
by the time you have listened a few times, you will never want to be without this album, especially the title sone and "what good is i love you"
one of the most ignored/underrated albums of all time.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
This Refers to See All Her Faces (2001 Remastered Version)
before you purchase be warned :
While The Album is indeed great, this reissue, manufactured by demand on CD-R via Amazon is poorly packaged
there are no songwriter credits in the 2 page reproduced booklet , no musician or producer credits either or otherwise any liner notes, just a simple song list with no info
a real shame and neglect. so you are getting no real value for purchasing the physical release here. it is barren of any crucial info.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
It's a Dusty UK album release so it was always going to get my love. It's a album of varied musical styles so anyone wanting another Memphis will likely be disappointed in its eclecticism. That aside, the album has some stunning tracks (Haunted, See All Her Faces, Crumbs of the Table, What Are you Doing the Rest of Your Life, Come for a Dream, Yesterday When I was Young). For me, it's one of the essential Dusty albums because as the album's title suggests, one gets to see a multifaceted Dusty.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
This LP was revised several times before the final 14 track set was finalized and released in 1972, and the final product showed a mixture of recordings from UK and US sessions that - true to name - showcase the various facets of Dusty's musical taste and vocal talent. Don't expect the production continuity of predecessor A Brand New Me/From Dusty With Love or even Dusty In Memphis - this album contains elements of r&b, rock, easy listening, pop, and even bossa nova that keep the listener entertained with each subsequent track. This reissue contains three bonus tracks; sadly, "Haunted" and "Have A Good Life, Baby" were carelessly mastered, as the former has a premature fade-out that bleeds into the start of the latter (thankfully, these tracks are available in superior quality on other Dusty products). The true jewel here is "What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life" which is a faultless recording from start to finish and captures the ethereal quality of Dusty's voice with enchanting results.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
great CD and another excellent addition to my record collection her music never ages.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
A nice collection of tracks which show the wonderful range and sensitive interpretation of this incredible singer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.19
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)