Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly melodic and otherworldly
Putting this on the stereo is like welcoming an old friend into your home. The remastering has meant that the guitars sound better then ever - crystal clear. You can hear little phrases in the mix that add a depth to the sound that, certainly if you only have it on vinyl, you were unaware of. The sheer beauty of the acoustic guitars on the opener, "Time Was"...
Published on 20 Mar 2002 by jnd@leeke54.freeserve.co.uk

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great record, terrible sound
Like a lot of other people, I bought this mainly for the extra BBC In Concert on cd2. However, as is often the case with remastered recordings, it's been compressed and processed through a limiter and the result is a mush of sound, where all the subtlety is lost, the instruments seem to merge together, and the recording seems to "shout" at you from your speakers. I...
Published on 11 Dec 2010 by Winchester


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly melodic and otherworldly, 20 Mar 2002
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
Putting this on the stereo is like welcoming an old friend into your home. The remastering has meant that the guitars sound better then ever - crystal clear. You can hear little phrases in the mix that add a depth to the sound that, certainly if you only have it on vinyl, you were unaware of. The sheer beauty of the acoustic guitars on the opener, "Time Was" lends a dreamy quality to the whole experience. And it is an experience. The narrative that grew up around the album came from the band's interests and reading matter of the time, such as von Daniken's "Chariots of the Gods" and The Bible. The community feel of living close to each other to allow the members of the band to nip round to each other's houses with ideas meant that the album grew organically. There is an otherworldy quality to this album, which the celebrated cover shot enhances. Overall the songs are hauntingly melodic and spacey and the whole listening experience takes you off world. It's always reminded me of "The Trigon Empire" stories from "The Eagle" (there that shows my age). A film waiting to happen (though god forbid!).
"Leaf and Stream" is my personal favourite - Andy Powell always said that he used to listen to Fairport Convention in those days - there's nothing wrong with letting your influences show.
Personally, while the Memphis stuff is okay and comes from a similar time, I would have preferred perhaps the acoustic "Blowing Free" rather than this live stuff which I find detracts from the flow of the album. Actually, it's so good you don't need extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ash, 21 April 2000
By 
Anthony R. Dixon (Malvern, Worcs Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ARGUS (Audio CD)
It hardly seems like almost thirty years have passed since I first heard this album as a sixteen-year old. This album has stood the test of time well, with Andy Powell's and Ted Turner's dual guitar still sounding as good as ever. Steve Upton's superb drumming and Martin Turner's solid bass/vocals completed the greatest Wishbone Ash line-up. For those that think Thin Lizzy invented the harmony lead guitars, this album pre-dates Jailbreak by three full years. This was a number-one album and deservedly so. A true classic from one hell of a good band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album but shame about the "bonus" track, 25 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: ARGUS (Audio CD)
Argus - what can you say? The ultimate dual guitar album. Fleetwood Mac may have started the sound and Lizzy may have followed but neither band topped this album. I've been listening to it for over twenty years! Electric and accoustic guitars never sounded so good. Great harmony vocals and melodies too.
One major minus is the inclusion of "No Easy Road" from "Wishbone Four" on this re-issue. This a catchy 'commercial' song has NOTHING whatever to do with Argus, an album which from the opening "Time Was" to the closing "Throw Down the Sword" hangs together perfectly as a complete work. I always have to rush to switch off the CD player before "NER" destroys the magic created by "TDTS"
Who was the genius at MCA with the bright "bonus" track idea - the band must really be big fans of him/her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Often copied , never bettered, 3 Feb 2008
By 
I. Whitehead "Wingco Whitehead" (Staffs ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
back in 1972 a college friend of mine said " theres a band called Wishbone Ash playing down at the uni.I think they are quite good,fancy going?".So off we went to see them.Well he was wrong, they were not quite good,they were fantastic and I have been a huge fan ever since. I guess I own pretty much everything recorded by Wishbone and there have been some real classics both before and after this album but this is undoubtedly their standout album.To my mind there is no weak track at all, it is all great with every track containing several real high points ranging from killer riffs,phrasing of notes that still gives me shivers and of course their famous twin lead guitar harmonies that no one else has cracked to the same level.How these guys never became bigger stars is beyond me,perhaps because they did not make singles ,perhaps they were ahead of their time ,who can say.What I do know is that this album still sounds as good today as it did over 30 yrs ago,the sign of a true classic.This is the fourth time I have bought this album,I wore out two vinyl copies and my CD was recently damaged.Knowing this album as well as I do the remastering is clear for all to hear and to my ears no bad thing.It sounds very fresh and detailed but not cold.The additional live tracks are a welcome bonus.So in summary do not hesitate in buying this album if you are remotely interested in guitar based rock . This is an album that everyone should own . It is a true classic in every way,turn it up loud get out your dancing shoes,your air guitar and a handerchief, you just might need all three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...mixed up, but still five star..., 3 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
"Argus" was one of the first albums that set me on the road to a lifetime of the rawk. It was amongst the first ten albums I ever bought along with records by AC/DC, Hawkwind, Motorhead, Saxon and Thin Lizzy amongst others. They became the albums that set the standards for everything that was good about the power of the rawk.

In their very early days, Wishbone Ash managed to electrify folk and combine it with blues based soloing into rock that was new and different, something that few, if any, have managed since. Their self titled debut was a bit ramshackle but in the album centrepiece 'Phoenix' they had their first classic song, one that they've been playing live for most of their career. Come "Pilgrimage" they took a major step forward with Andy Powell and Ted Turner gelling as twin guitarists and bass player Martin Turner and drummer Steve Upton turning into one of the great rhythm sections. And of course, you get 'Jail Bait' live! But then came "Argus".

Quite simply one of the greatest rock albums ever made. Why it (and Ash) aren't constantly lauded is totally beyond me, when the likes of second rate blusterers like Zeppelin get praised way beyond their meagre talents. All that was good about their first two albums was distilled into a record that defies criticism. Well, sort of, I'll come to that later.

Seven tracks of nigh on musical perfection from 'Time Was' through to 'Throw Down The Sword', anyone who claims to appreciate rock music has to own a copy of "Argus". It's the law. But. We've already had "Argus: Remastered". It came out in 2002 with the three tracks from the "Live From Memphis" promo EP tacked on the end. So you would have figured that all the Wishbone Ash fans would have bought that. Never mind that the remastered tracks had already appeared on the "Distillation" and "Time Was" compilations.

So what you're really buying is the bonus CD which features the BBC Radio 1 In Concert show from 1972, which was the launch of the original "Argus" and comes complete with Whispering Bob Harris intros. It's all rather good, especially the mind blowing nineteen minute 'Phoenix' and I doubt there is a better sounding vintage recording of Wishbone Ash out there.

For some reason the second CD is padded out with mono versions of 'Blowin' Free' and 'Throw Down The Sword'. Which doesn't make a lot of sense, but I'm sure someone out there will value them. More confusingly, leaping back to the first CD, the original bonus tracks from "Live From Memphis" have had 'Jail Bait' shorn and 'No Easy Road' inserted in its place. Which is downright irritating.

So, should you buy it? Well now, that's a tricky one. Wishbone Ash fans will have to, just for the BBC material. People new to "Argus"? It's tricky, because there's just too much music, which actually detracts from the genius that is the original album. If you can control yourself and stop the album after Track 7 on CD 1, then of course you should. But you need to listen to the album in isolation first, before you step into the bonus material. Otherwise, the wonder may get diluted. But the original "Argus" was and is, a five star album.

Even with all my doubts and quibbles, the music still merits those five stars, even if this version is a little bit mixed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great record, terrible sound, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
Like a lot of other people, I bought this mainly for the extra BBC In Concert on cd2. However, as is often the case with remastered recordings, it's been compressed and processed through a limiter and the result is a mush of sound, where all the subtlety is lost, the instruments seem to merge together, and the recording seems to "shout" at you from your speakers. I understand this technique is supposed to enable you to hear the quieter parts when playing on your car's cd player, and I can only assume that the original musicians have no say in the matter - they surely wouldn't allow their work to be messed up in this way.
So, as the title of my review says, great record, terrible sound. Buy the original on vinyl, or an early "un-remastered " cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great rock albums, 9 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
Ever heard of Wishbone Ash ? I hadn't a few years back and someone suggested that this album was a classic. I bought a ropey vinyl copy of the album and there is stayed on my record player for weeks...

The album features the twin guitars of Ted Turner and Andy Powell and this is much in evidence on 'Time was' the albums opener which starts off quitely enough but then explodes. 'Sometime World' is probably my least favourite track but that doesn't mean it's bad ! 'Blowin free' is the track you'd probably recognise if you heard it on the radio; a touch of Status Quo here methinks but a great song.

What was side two on the album kicks off with 'The King will come' with more guitar duets much in evidence. 'Leaf and stream' is an acoustic calm before the storm leading to the albums closing tracks 'Warrior' and 'Throw down the sword', the latter being just superb.

There it is, can't wait to get the remastered cd version with some earlier live cuts and missing the previous bonus track 'No easy road' which really didn't fit on the album.

Subsequent albums never quite captured the magic although they had their moments.

Buy it...

S C Trump 2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After 30 years, it is still magical, 13 Jan 2005
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
I remember hearing this over 30 years ago, (indeed, I remember listening to this on a recorder looking at endless sea whilst in the RN).
The magic of this album has never faded, and maybe is even more magical today, when there are so few truly unique sounds around. All of the tracks are awesome. The highest praise I can give is I can start the album and listen happily all the way through to all the tracks, each one having it's own special magic.
When I want to travel to that special place that has only the joy of true music, I put on my headphones and this album. Nobody else ever came close to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sometimes more is more, 16 July 2004
By 
the cat who's firm on the dials (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
One of the sadnesses associated with being 48 is never again expecting to buy an album that changes my life. Like this one did. I'd been listening to black sabbath and led zep when I bought this purely on recommendation. After the two minute acoustic intro to Time Was I thought I'd wasted my money. I soon decided it was one of the most beautifully composed, played and assembled albums ever. So many of the tracks draw you in, tell a story, then take you along to a perfect ending.
This reissue is brilliant, the sound is great and for once the bonus tracks are really worth it, including a superb live "Phoenix". I've seen Wishbone Ash live nine times, seven in the seventies and twice in recent years at Wilbarston Village Hall. Last year at Wilbo they laid down another classic live Phoenix, I reckon Andy Powell keeps on doing it just because he loves to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars remastered not remixed, 24 Feb 2007
This review is from: Argus (Audio CD)
this is a remastered cd not a remixed cd. The difference is huge. Remastered refers to the process of taking the original stereo master tape and digitising it. Next the digital file is put through various software gadgets to enhance the sound. Usually this means taking all the noise and hiss out or as some call it the warmth. The levels of individual instruments is not changed so what you end up with is a clearer version of the original. Does anybody think that when the band mixed this they wanted all that hiss? Remix refers to the process of taking the multi track masters and completley reworking the songs. In most cases this is not done as they are usually missing. Hope this clears up the debate about this remaster. As far as the album goes yes its great buy it. The band helped to spawn bands like Thin Lizzy and Iron Maiden with their take on dual guitar setups. Of course the Ash are the best still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Argus
Argus by Wishbone Ash
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews