Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome return, but be patient with it!
Del Amitri return with their fourth album, their first for five years. As usual, many of the tracks feature imaginative melodies and lyrics, although a harder edge is evident, particularly amongst the earlier tracks and this takes some getting used to. The album has become more enjoyable after repeated listens.
Whilst the unquestionable highlight is the closing...
Published on 8 April 2002 by Mr. P. C. Mattock

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great vocals, but bin that drum machine!
I've delayed writing a review for a few weeks while I got used to Del Amitri's new offering. Sure there are some real highlights on this album, but some very disappointing moments too; opportunities lost I'd say.
The opener is really enjoyable but sets the pace for the rest of the album - rather monotonous. I noticed on the sleeve notes that the final track ran to...
Published on 14 July 2002 by Eddy H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome return, but be patient with it!, 8 April 2002
By 
Mr. P. C. Mattock (Pulborough, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
Del Amitri return with their fourth album, their first for five years. As usual, many of the tracks feature imaginative melodies and lyrics, although a harder edge is evident, particularly amongst the earlier tracks and this takes some getting used to. The album has become more enjoyable after repeated listens.
Whilst the unquestionable highlight is the closing ballad "Just Getting By", surely Justin Currie's finest ever vocal performance, there is much else to savour, including the soulful "Out Falls The Past" and the wry humour of "Drunk In A Band".
Del Amitri seemed destined to remain in the second division of the sales league, but this album should maintain their solid fan base and, perhaps, gain a few new supporters willing to give them a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Constant growth is not easy for everyone to swallow..., 27 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
...but that is what this band has done. This album is a natural progression of songwriting and production. The melodies will linger in your head for days, the lyrics will make you stare at your speakers, and the brilliant (and surprising) production will keep your ears interested for multiple listens.
Support this band, even if they've been dropped. Universal doesn't know a good thing enough to push it, apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It'll Grow on You Throughout the Summer!, 28 April 2002
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
5 years on from the hit and miss "Some Other Suckers..." (best single that never was - Medicine - withdrawn as a single due to Diana's demise. I'm still trying to work that one out!!) and three years since the Best Of.. package, here come the Dels with a new album which, on first hearing, makes you wonder what the hell they've been doing in the interim. Horror! No catchy "drive time" song such as "Always the Last to know", no real "lighters ahoy" song, such as "Be My Down fall" or "Driving with the Brakes on" etc. Initial disappointment, however, turns to a summery smile. The boys have not been resting on their laurels but writing and recording songs that actually have far more "layers" and musical depth than some of their older stuff. They have matured and so has the music. They have even introduced (subtley!) the likes of drum machines into their music.
The songs gradually grow on you and plant themselves in your head. The opener, "Just before you Leave" carries on where "Cry to be Found" left off - shimering strings and wonderful vocals from Justin Currie, it's a peach of a song and is how songs really should be - soulful, heartfelt and, hey! call me a traditionalist, tuneful.
There are some great songs which follow on - "Buttons on My Clothes" could be perceived asjust another "oh no, she's gone and left me" kinda song but a real sense of loss is portrayed in the song and, if there was any justice in this world, it would be a number one single...but we all know that ain't ever gonna happen.
"Wash Her Away"'s riff is as rough as the sentiments in the song. "Out Falls the Past" is simple and brilliant. And as for the closer, "Just Getting By", it's another example of the Dels knack of writing a song which can tug at your heart strings and make you feel good about life all at the same time. Justin's vocals on this song alone are worth the price of the album. Yes, Robbie would kill for this song!
This album is ultimately a wonderful work and if it is to be their swan song, then it is a fitting tribute to them. Once again, an underrated release from a tragically underrated band. Buy this and ensure some justice is exercised amongst all the dross that is Pap Stars and all the second-rate Ramones-lite stuff being released and bought at the moment.
Pure class is sometimes wasted on the masses! And this is class!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I've known them since they were called Derek Amitri", 26 April 2002
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
I've followed Del Amitri for many years, and seen them live any number of times. Over the years, they have produced some ok songs, many good songs, and some astonishingly excellent songs.
Despite, or because of, being away from the studio for 5 years, this album comes in right up the top of their scale. There are some tracks that are commercial enough to be released as singles, but won't get played on the radio because everyone knows Del Amitri aren't cool, and the usual raft of stories of loss, failure, heartbreak and the usual Justin Currie topics. But that is what we love about this band.
They just do it so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars point at the sky above me,and i own every bird, 9 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
I bought this album, because I've just become a BIG fan of Justin Currie's solo work, [ I won't go repeating myself, as if anyone is interested, please look at my 2 Justin Currie reviews ], so I thought i'd give this ago, very good album, because I'm going backwards with his work, you can kind of see where his solo work is heading as if you like 'just getting by' my fav on this album, then I think you'll enjoy his solo albums, as his writing/ voice just get stronger. Other fav's are cash & prizes, one more last hurrah, the buttons on my shirt, out falls the past, Jesus saves, I can't get enough of Mr Currie. imo his 'what is love for' album is one of the greatest albums of all time CLASS, just a shame hardly anyone knows it even exists, so if you do ever come across it, please buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perseverance pays, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good? (MP3 Download)
I somehow managed to forget about DA (blame it on Beethoven) after buying three of their releases in the 90s but heard one of the songs from 'Waking Hours' recently and began to listen to them again. Bought this as a download and listened to it, initially with reservation as it's not in the same rock/folk vein as the earlier recordings. However, it's grown on me and have got used to the edgier sound and cynical tone. A testament to Iain Harvie's song writing ability and JC's humour in 'Drunk in a Band' along with his smooth vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's as plain as the buttons on my clothes this is so good, 11 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
Well it was worth the wait...this band never fail to amaze me...songs always so strong and never going with the flow mining their own furrow. Justin Currie remains one of the masters of the lost love lyric and is surely one of the best singers in rock music today really on form here especially on the closing Just Getting By...Only one thing that stops me giving it a full 5 is One More Last Hurrah which is a brave attempt at a different style and can be commended but it doesn't quite fit in with the rest of the album...much better would've been to include I'm An Unbeliever from the b side of the single which I cannot believe didn't make the final tracklisting...Standout track for me is Buttons On My Clothes stone classic Dels...now for the live shows....can't wait!...cheers Dels you've made my year so far !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great vocals, but bin that drum machine!, 14 July 2002
By 
Eddy H (Cheshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
I've delayed writing a review for a few weeks while I got used to Del Amitri's new offering. Sure there are some real highlights on this album, but some very disappointing moments too; opportunities lost I'd say.
The opener is really enjoyable but sets the pace for the rest of the album - rather monotonous. I noticed on the sleeve notes that the final track ran to seven minutes plus, and thought it might be something really special. Wrong again. It's a good track but for some strange reason has half a minute of silence in it! Weird!
And then there is that drum machine droning on here and there; please dump it. Marillion tried it on their (otherwise stunning) latest album 'Anoraknophobia', and it was rubbish there too. If you've got a good drummer (and you have) please use him and sack the flimsy technology.
Anyway, you'll have gathered this isn't my fave DA album of all time. It's work a listen but only invest in it if you are a real fan.
There are some great lyrics here, great vocals and some humour, but the songs are mediocre by DA's usual standards. The overall impression is of disappointment I'm sorry to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a listen, 5 Dec. 2006
By 
tinuva200 (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
This album is a mixed bag in terms of the quality of the songs and as a result it isn't Del Amitri's best album.

However Justin's voice remains a wonderful instrument and therefore I would recommend this album as being well worth giving a few listens to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not best ever album, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Do Me Good (Audio CD)
bought this after seeing del amitri last month in Liverpool, they were superb live. I already had all the other albums, so I bought this to complete the collection and it's good, but not as good as their earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can You Do Me Good?
Can You Do Me Good? by Del Amitri
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews