Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIANA ROSS...STUNNING DEBUT ALBUM
DIANA ROSS' solo debut was one of the most eagerly anticipated albums of 1970..Here for the first time we get to hear all of Diana's early solo work from 1969 until the lp's final release in early 1970..Including the 4 tracks that have been in Motowns vaults for over 30 years..The tracks were produced by Bones Howe (Time and Love, Stoney End, The Interim and Loves, Lines...
Published on 2 April 2002 by mejoshsim@aol.com

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dubious CD manufacturing?
The star rating I have given is for the quality of the actual CD itself, rather than the musical content which rightly deserves FIVE stars.

Has anyone else noticed an incorrect track sequence? I bought this CD some weeks ago and was disappointed that the first track appeared at the end of the CD. Moreover, the printing quality of the CD case and booklet left a...
Published 23 months ago by Henry Higgins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIANA ROSS...STUNNING DEBUT ALBUM, 2 April 2002
DIANA ROSS' solo debut was one of the most eagerly anticipated albums of 1970..Here for the first time we get to hear all of Diana's early solo work from 1969 until the lp's final release in early 1970..Including the 4 tracks that have been in Motowns vaults for over 30 years..The tracks were produced by Bones Howe (Time and Love, Stoney End, The Interim and Loves, Lines Angles and Rhymes)...Diana's amazing vocal versatility is showcased with these unreleased treasures...Teaming Miss Ross with Ashford and Simpson was a match made in Motown heaven..Masterworks such as Ain't No Mountain, Reach Out And Touch, Your All I Need, Dark Side Of The World, Now That Theres You, and Keep An Eye were arranged to suit Diana's amazing vocal abilities.. Their striking arrangements and Diana's powerful vocals make this re-issue an instant CLASSIC...every track on this release is a pop and R&B masterpiece..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece Solo Debut, 11 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Soul Supreme Diana Ross's stunning solo debut album is arguably her most stunning and remarkable pieces of work alongside Lady Sings The Blues (1972). Her precise lyrical phrasing is passionate and strong, beautifully dripping with real, gutsy emotion. Diana may not be a singer in the sense of an Aretha Franklin or Whitney Houston, but she certainly has a strong presence vocally on each of these recordings where she gets chance to enhance her soprano perharps more effectivley than she ever did with The Supremes.

I have to admit I find Reach Out And Touch (SomeBody's Hand) a little monotonous even though Diana's crystal-clear delivery is strong, passionate and even a little on the angelic side. The waltz-like rhythm completley escapes the traditional Motown sound to which she had become famous for which perharps is a strong reason why this track was only a moderate success in comparison to what was to come. That came with Diana's startling re-working of Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrells Ain't No Mountain High Enough. Produced by the fabulous Ashford And Simpson who wrote and produced the vast majority of this album, this showcased Diana's early technique of speaking through the verses, whilst the rhythm slowly builds to its exalting climax on which she is joined by a strong string of gospel-influenced backing singers. This quickly secured Diana a U.S. chart topper. And the rest as they say is history.....

The DIANA ROSS album carries some well-crafted soul/R&B numbers that amicably showcase Diana's remarkably versatility and diversity as a serious recording artist. There is so much character and drama in her voice. You really sense those emotions pouring out on numbers like Now That There's You, where her voice steadily goes from points of vulnreability to self assurance at the climax of the recording. A moody, soulful remake of another Marvin and Tammi Terrell hit, You're All I Need To Get By again features Diana's vocal expertise and this emerges surprisingly as far superior to that of the origanal. These Things Will Keep Me Loving You, a pleasantly uptemp soul-pop track, was recorded a few years before whilst she was still with The Supremes and the track sounds distinct to that era but still its a fine recording whilst she sounds utterly magnificent on the divine SomeThing's On My Mind. Her performance is effective on the bluesey I Wouldn't Change The Man He Is where she projects a lot of emotion and feeling in her silky, soulful vocal style whilst the mood goes deeper on the amtmospheric recordings, Keep An Eye (a less ambitious version recorded with The Supremes was included on the Love Child (1968) album), Where There Was Darkness and the stark Dark Side Of The World which completley turns the mood sombre yet the material remains utterley compelling. There are some rare treats to be found beyond the origanal albums track line-up on this re-released disc with a showbizzy live version of SomeThings On Mind, alternate vocal versions of Now That There's You, These Things Will Keep Me Loving You and Ain't No Mountain High Enough and some cuts left off the origanal albums release, culled from the Bonie Howe sessions of 1969 (recorded whilst she was still offically lead singer of The Supremes). Time And Love is a bouncy soul-pop number that would have suited the times perfectly had it been releases as a single whilst Stoney End (later re-recorded by Barbara Streisand) again perfectly dememonstrates her versatile vocal approach. Outstanding is The Interim, where her performance is so heartwarmingly sincere and strong. Although some may argue this recording verges on the lines of being repetitive and ponderous, the sweeping musical arrangements is complimented firmly by Diana's delivery which remains firly focused throughout making it all the more compelling. Firmly retaining the quality of The Interim was the fantastic Love, Lines, Angles And Rhymes (another track to later be re-recorded by Barbara Streisand) where her astounding delivery begs you to question why this had been lcked away in the Motown vaults for 32 years!

As a whole DIANA ROSS is a consistently excellent affair that really is no exageration to be classed as a masterpiece. Artisitic and well crafted. Highly recommended to any Soul/R&B lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana's Ground-breaking Debut, 12 Sept. 2005
By 
MT Edwards "grenadines" (Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diana Ross' early solo albums were really something. Delving into the her back catalogue is fun as it's so vast!
This calibre of this album is very high indeed. It's an eclectic blend of warm soul and bluesy gospel tinged numbers. Ashford & Simpson were the prefect production team for Diana, as they quickly capitalized on her dramatic vocal capabilities. They also stretched her out of the middle range that was synonymous with her work with the Supremes. The results were outstanding, as Diana's was voice sounds amazing here.
The album opens with Diana's very first solo single and her heartfelt anthem, "Reach Out And Touch" which is, of course, an evergreen classic. Ashford & Simpson didn't want this released as the first single; instead, they wanted the fabulous, spine tingling "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" to be the first single, but Berry Gordy wasn't convinced. As we all know, this was her first US Billboard pop chart #1 hit (#6 on the UK pop charts) and it's here in all its glory. You can tell that Diana had the potential to become a fine actress - just listen to the drama and tension in her voice as the song builds up into the dazzling crescendo.
Other highlights include the lovely ballads "Now That There's You" and "You're All I Need To Get By" plus the gusty performance of "I Wouldn't Change The Man He Is". The soulful groove of "Something On My Mind" was an instant favourite. This re-mastered album with bonus tracks features a superb live version of this song. Perceiving that the world had its eyes on her solo debut, Diana declared in that soft and rather charming American drawl:
"Good evening everybody, and welcome to the 'let's see if Diana Ross can do it by herself show!'"
The diva pulled it off in spectacular style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dubious CD manufacturing?, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The star rating I have given is for the quality of the actual CD itself, rather than the musical content which rightly deserves FIVE stars.

Has anyone else noticed an incorrect track sequence? I bought this CD some weeks ago and was disappointed that the first track appeared at the end of the CD. Moreover, the printing quality of the CD case and booklet left a lot to be desired. Looks like straight off an inkjet printer. Is this a bootleg? The disk itself does look professionally manufactured, not a CD-R with a printed label...

I contacted the seller who was horrified at my suggestion. They in turn contacted their supplier and were told they have licence to "MoD" -Manufacture On Demand- CDs which are out of print but for which they have said licence. This is supposedly legal?

Retaining the right to return the CD to that seller, I purchased another from a different seller. Lo and behold - the same thing. This time the printed material didn't look quite so cheesy, but the track sequence was just the same.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this before, with this CD or any other? This really requires deeper investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her first solo album - Maybe her best, 14 Mar. 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The British media had a long long love affair with Diana Ross and her work. She was present on our radio and the charts for over thirty years. This came to an end about ten years ago. This album was her first solo effort in 1970, and did well enough for her to get established as a solo star.

If you have hits package and want to get in a bit more, this is a good place to start. The only track you will probably duplicate is 'Reach Out and Touch', her first single. The album also contains 'Aint No Mountain High Enough', but the full 'tour de force' six minute version is here, rather than the single edit found on most compilations.

Some soul fans berate her thin nasal voice and pop excesses. For me, when she has good material, and good producers (like Nick Ashford and Val Simpson here), she has a way with a song like nobody else. Every track drips with class and feeling.

This is a deluxe package with bonus tracks, and copious notes. The alternate versions of the album tracks, are not different enough to the originals to make them worthwhile. The previously unreleased tracks are very good. They were held back, not because they were bad, but because they were considered too pop, by Motown, who knew that Diana Ross dared not risk losing the R&B audience. So they went with the Ashford/Simpson material.

Diana Ross did two other albums with the same producers 'Surrender/I'm Still Waiting', from 1971, and 'The Boss' from 1979. In my humble opinion all three belong in any decent music selection. 'The Boss' is freely available, not so 'Surrender/I'm Still Waiting' which must be due for a deluxe release. That one is not a twofer as the name might imply, but had a different name in the UK than the US.

This was the start of her succesful and acclaimed solo career. I'm glad and proud to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty Pressing, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just want to make buyers aware that the current batch of this CD from Amazon appear to be faulty. The CD starts with track two and ends with track one. I'am about to return the third copy of CD with the same fault. AMAZON did put a notice that the item appears to be not as described when I reported the second CD faulty, but as this was a new batch and the customer notice had been removed I assumed everything was now okay. The low star rating is for the faulty pressing and not for the content, which is classic Diana Ross. If anyone knows how to report this to CD distributor I would be grateful to hear from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, only fault the first track is actually the last track therefore all tracks are recorded wrongly.
Music fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SOMETHING ON MY MIND, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always playing this album back in the 70's. The CD is okay, but not as good an album as I remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews