Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Young Drudes
This is a bosting CD (excuse my lapse into local vernacular). Wierd and off the wall stuff - Safe Surfer, Pristine, Los Vegas Basement, Double Vegetation are all Cope classics, with that gentle sense of threat and disgust. There are no duff tracks here. The guitar work is squeezed and treated and distorted (although strangely sensitive at times)to make an exquisite...
Published on 12 Jun 2007 by Moz

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Cope deluxe edition - another balls up!
After the massive disappointment of the 2006 Jehovah Kill remastering (a sonic disaster)you might have thought that island might have ensured they got this one right? Right? WRONG! UNBELIEVABLY SO VERY WRONG!
On first listening to disc one at least, the remastering seems to have avoided the distortion problems of the Jehovah Kill remastering which made the latter...
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by The TopCat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Cope deluxe edition - another balls up!, 14 Sep 2009
By 
The TopCat (Brighton England) - See all my reviews
After the massive disappointment of the 2006 Jehovah Kill remastering (a sonic disaster)you might have thought that island might have ensured they got this one right? Right? WRONG! UNBELIEVABLY SO VERY WRONG!
On first listening to disc one at least, the remastering seems to have avoided the distortion problems of the Jehovah Kill remastering which made the latter probably the worst remaster i had ever heard. Sonically, the Peggy Suicide reissue is ok:certainly brighter and crisper than the original, a tad more detail retrieval, but losing some natural warmth and depth compared to the original; a common trait in remastered discs. I guess this is just a matter of personal taste.

So my main problem with the new deluxe edition? The track inclusions, or rather the lack of...Where is 'uptight', the track which was on the original vinyl release of the album, but missing on the original cd due to time limitations of the cd format. All pre-release track listings for Peggy Suicide deluxe edition have included 'uptight' as track 15 on disc one. Never having owned the vinyl copy of this album i was so happy to be finally getting my hands on this long lost Cope track. So imagine my frustration and sense of betrayal when i arrived home from work today to find my amazon delivery waiting for me...only to look at the track listing and find...you guessed it, no 'uptight'!!! AAAARRGHHH!!!! What is the problem with these idiots at island records? Are they so incompetent that they are prepared to misinform all musical retailers/publicists of an incorrect track listing? There are even discrepencies on the track listing for disc two: my cd has eleven tracks on it, amazon listed 13, hmv 15!!! What is going on?!!! Its an utter joke, and truelly unprofessional and shoddy in the extreme. On further inspection, checking out the amazon downloads, there is indeed no 'uptight' available to download and only eleven tracks as per my 2nd disc to download. But why the discepencies? I feel like a victim of false advertising! But more importantly, why has island wasted the obvious oppurtunity to finally put out on cd the complete Peggy Suicide album, ie, inclusive of 'Uptight'? If a deluxe edition is incapable of putting such a historical anomaly to rights, then really, what the hell is the point in the whole process anyway?

To say i am cheesed off with this is an understatement. My review still has to concede 3 stars simply on the strength of the music, as this is one of my favourite albums of all time, but really, what a total anticlimax! Shame on you, yet again, island records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity..., 23 Sep 2009
By 
Alistair Morrison (The Hebrides) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to agree with Mr. Top Cat; what a bodge job this is. No 'Uptight', no 'Port of Saints', no 'Bagged-Out Ken' and no Hiphoprisy versions of 'Soldier Blue', tchah! .... Island could have left off some of the remixes which have been available for years on the 'Dancing Heads' e.p.. Even the booklet in my copy is cocked up with two pages being printed twice... A five star album given a three star reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great musical depth, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
Peggy Suicide is an album of incredible variety and scope, especially the rhythmic textures & the impressive array of guitars. The arrangements are innovative and the music melodious. The opener Pristeen is a tuneful ballad with extraordinary guitar sounds, followed by Double Vegetation, a brooding number with nervous rhythms. The tender Promised Land starts out as a folkie rumination, turning into a rock ballad as the guitars enter for a powerful build-up.

The uptempo rock song Hanging Out & Hung up on the Line is reprised later in the atmospheric Hung up & Hanging out to Dry with its long instrumental introduction. There are two anti-road songs, the funky East Easy Rider and Drive, She Said, a mid-tempo rock ballad with lovely vocal arrangements. Julian sure didn't like the road. Safesurfer opens with tormented guitars and in its tempo shifts display lovely mini-moog & piano.

The percussive If You Loved Me At All is a catchy track with symphonic keyboards, massed acoustic guitars later joined by electric ones, and considerably less gravitas than the others. There are two songs that explore overt psychological themes, the jittery track You with its unusual baritone sax and the appealingly melodic Head, whilst the buoyant Beautiful Love is spiritual & uplifting with its joyful trumpet. The American Lite, a stirring love song, and Las Vegas Basement are tender ballads with beautiful melodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Young Drudes, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
This is a bosting CD (excuse my lapse into local vernacular). Wierd and off the wall stuff - Safe Surfer, Pristine, Los Vegas Basement, Double Vegetation are all Cope classics, with that gentle sense of threat and disgust. There are no duff tracks here. The guitar work is squeezed and treated and distorted (although strangely sensitive at times)to make an exquisite counter point to the Arch Drudes offset lyrics. It makes it all different and outside the box - just what you need to counter the breadhead world. Roky must be proud of his disciple's continuation of hiws work. Truly counter culture music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love vinyl, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this album to add to my ever growing collection of vinyl. This album was missing from my Julian Cope section, so getting it from amazon was fab - fast delivery, good condition, good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cope, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of his best, and it does sound better for the most part, but may not really be worth the premium price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll bet the "4 page pull-out guide" threw them off..., 1 Dec 2009
By 
Peggy Suicide was the album that got me listening to guitar-based rock again after I'd spent much of the previous three or four years listening largely to dance music, rap, and the remnants of 1980s keyboard-based pop music. It has remained one of my favorite albums over the years.

I was excited to learn that Universal were to reissue the album as a Deluxe Edition, particularly since they seem to take a bit more care with the mastering and packaging than record companies do with the typical CD these days.

However, the track listings on the various web sites (including this one) offering this disc have invariably been wrong, even though scans of front and back covers have usually been available. For starters, "Uptight" (which is referenced in the credits in the booklet accompanying the original CD, but was left off, presumably due to lack of space) is NOT included. This clearly indicates inaccurate pre-release information coming from the label.

Then, disc 2 contains just 11 tracks, not the 13 to 15 tracks typically indicated. The 11 tracks are:
* Easty Risin' (East Easy Rider remix)
* Ravebury Stones
* Love L.U.V. Remix (Beautiful Love remix)
* Dragonfly
* Heed: Of Penetration and the City-Dweller (Head remix)
* Bring Cherhill Down (Vocal)
* Safesurfer ('91 Tour 7" version)
* If You Loved Me At All ('91 Tour 7" version)
* Butterfly E
* Straw Dogs
* Anyway At All

A further disappointment is the previously mentioned mis-printing of the booklet, in which the page containing the liner notes for "Soldier Blue" "You", and "Not Raving But Drowning" is inadvertently replaced by the page containing the liner notes for "Hung Up & Hanging Out To Dry", "The American Lite", and "Las Vegas Basement" - which appears twice in the booklet as a result. Additionally, the album credits that appeared in the original CD booklet are nowhere to be found. I can't help but think that if the notes about the disc 2 tracks had not been placed in the middle of the booklet as a "4 page pull-out guide", the botched printing job would have been less likely to occur. (One would hope that they'd correct this by the time the Deluxe Edition is released in the US this coming February...)

On the bright side, my initial listen suggests that the remastering was properly done, with mastering engineer Andy Pearce wisely avoiding any temptation to heavily compress the audio signals in the name of loudness. The difference in volume levels between this reissue and the original appears to be minimal; what has changed is that the Deluxe Edition seems to gain a little bit of clarity.

Overall, I don't regret purchasing this edition. Ultimately, it is the music that is important, after all. But I'm not getting rid of my copy of the original CD, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome reissue of excellent double album., 31 Mar 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
'Peggy Suicide' is a great double-album and one of Cope's finest efforts- as good & different as 'Wilder', 'World Shut Your Mouth', 'Fried' & 'Jehovahkill'...The autobiog 'Repossessed' sketches out the period leading to this- away from London & towards concentric circles in Wiltshire. The Millennium effectively occurred in 1989/1990- the world was changing for the better and then the worse: the fall of the Berlin Wall, the imposition of the Poll Tax, the end of the Cold War, the start of both Balkans & Gulf War. But for a second there- we could have had utopia- Ronald McDonald at the Berlin Wall predicted it all. This album is as vital as it was in 1991.
Phase One begins with 'Pristeeen'- a definite precursor of Spiritualized's blues-spacerock (Spacemen 3 had done zilch like this)- this builds up. Memories of the overproduced 'My Nation Underground' are erased. 'Double Vegetation' is a midpaced guitar overload- Michael Mooney is great here (pity he would have to work on Mac's excerable 2nd solo LP next!). The lyrics concerning fear of Islam might be more relevant today than ever. 'East Easy Rider' is a dumb semi-baggy rocker, dedicated to Sex God Andy Eastwood & the contradiction of the freedom of driving a petrol guzzling mobile & the encroaching pollution. 'Promised Land' is kind of an early 90's 'Desolation Row' or (apologies) the lyrical-reportage that Springsteen did on 'The Ghost of Tom Joad'- taking a long cold look at the country around him.The phase concludes on 'Hanging Out & Hung Up On The Line'- a Stooges thrash as good as 'Spacehopper'- note Copey was doing the Stooges influenced thing 10 years before The Hives!..Phase Two is short & guitar based- opening with 'Safesurfer' (an excerpt was on 'Droolian')- a Dave Gilmour guitar exploration- leading to a lyric decrying those ignorant of AIDS/HIV- which is on the rise in heterosexual males. It is also one of Copey's finest songs. 'If You Loved Me At All' has that Funkadelic/Parliament/Sly inspired funk thang going on (see the 'Peel Session' on 'Floored Genius 2' to see it in full effect!)- it is a wonderful building song:"you don't love me at all!", Copey intones. 'Drive,She Said' tackles a similar theme to 'East Easy Rider'- with a knowing allusion to Pere Ubu's 'Final Solution'...Phase Three opens with the funky 'Soldier Blue'- close to Barry Adamson's soundtrack work & taking issue with those who used the Poll Tax Riots as an excuse to knock off a stereo- ironic as that materialist item was/is the kind of thing Thatcher et al sold the people with their 'free market': "there is no such thing as society". 'You...' is a very old pre-Crucial Three song- this version has an overproduced sound- kind of ironic 'Rope& Colt'-Scott Walker. 'Not Raving,But Drowning' reapplies Stevie Smith's most famous poem to a drowning raver- and has a nice slow sinister funk. 'Head (On)' is where The Charlatans got their sound for a few years- apparently it's not about sex!. 'Leperskin' is a funk/rock out- taking issue with Thatcheration- but not in a sell-out Ben Elton way. The final phase opens with the top pop single 'Beautiful Love'- as divine as 'An Elegant Chaos', 'Sunspots' or 'Quizmaster'. It's a campfire love song- with Happy Mondays-keyboards & great trumpet. 'Western Front 1992 CE' captures female singers to the sounds of protest- the early 90's were the biggest time of social protest since the late 60's. As Naomi Klein suggests in 'No Logo'- the focus on PC and new conceptions of life took the collective eye off the ball & allowed for the rule of big business. 'Hung Up & Hanging Out to Dry' is a funk-inspired instrumental- with some Beefheart bluesy-guitar & waves of washing keyboard. This gives way to 'The American Lite'- a divine ode to Dorian- which sounds like it has been picked up from the same session as 'I Have Always Been Here Before' (from 'Where the Pyramid Meets the Eye'). So it sounds more like the Elevators than The Boss!. The album ends on the moribund 'Las Vegas Basement'- which gives the template for Radiohead's 'The Bends' album. This is as great as anything off the first two ultra-classic solo albums- the memory of Copey's blatant commercial period are erased (though 'I'm Not Losing Sleep', 'Disaster' & 'Charlatan' are great!). This album is as good as any released around the same time- 'Screamadelica', 'Out of Time', 'Nevermind'- it's eclectic and it's individual. And as 'The Modern Antiquarian' proves, the Stone-thing was not a front. And the crowning achievment?- a reference in 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' to 'Beautiful Love'!. Finally, at this price this is screaming good value and an excuse to discover the joys of an artist unfairly maligned by the tedious music press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential Cope album to possess, 12 Nov 1999
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
I first listened to this album around '95, and was immediately sucked into its deliciously deep and meaningful abyss of truly awe-inspiring tracks. At that point i didn't even know who Cope was. Now i'm a true convert to Drudism. If you reckon your any sort of authority on music, then this album will be there in your top 5. Just buy it and discover a new concept in music, this really kicks .........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pristeen Peggy Suicide, 12 Dec 2009
By 
Glynne Callaghan (Northern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (MP3 Download)
This was Juilan Cope transcending his Popstar past as he had progressed from the Teardrop Explodes via the Early solo album and hits which showed that Julian ploughed his own furrow whilst constantly swimming against the mainstream, the influences are there in the music krautrock, Psychedelia, Iggy Sixties pop.
There is a slightly dark world view which pervades all his work but there is a message of hope too he had begun to become a classic outsider.
Having established the Cope brand he begins to deconstruct himself through this and susequent releases.
This is Guitar based Rock it has timeless quality to it that filtered down into the music scene in general not that He was ever cited as major influence on say the Stone Roses but hey.. just listen.But in other way it ties itself to dates ie by having in the title Western front 1992 C.E. (Common or Christian Era)
Pristeen is great opener, Double Vegatation sets the tone,Yes there are moments Such as Head 'I fell my head exploding now' with bubblegum type organ which leads into Leperskin with its wah wahs a go go then the Purer pop of Beautiful Love Which had back to the World shut your Mouth/Fried era. Safesurfer comments upon the post aids culture of the time.You Hints at Zappa etc.
The general tone of the album is up it was a precursor to a more radical path that he since taken indulging his proclivities and personal tastes doing it for himself like Say Peter Hammill or Robyn Hitchcock.
Hanging out and hung up on the line is a Balls out Rocker with its message of global warming a decade or so early...(The Jury is still out on that one...)and its antithesis Hung up and hanging out to dry ...
There is but one Juilan Cope he is an Enthusiast, a Cynic,A Scholar, a Shaman, Eco Warrior ,New Age Guru, A Modern Antiquarian.
As he says...Listen to me If you love me at all...
A one off, A true Maverick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peggy Suicide
Peggy Suicide by Julian Cope
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews