Customer Reviews


619 Reviews
5 star:
 (467)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


234 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for the healthy kitchen
I believe the smoothie maker really is a must-have, especially for all those looking for a cheap, quick, and (most importantly) a delicious way to bring more fresh fruit and veg into their daily diet.

Apart from the colour (black), this is essentially the same model as the silver-coloured Kenwood Smoothie To Go SB055 Smoothie Maker, which I originally bought...
Published on 6 Feb. 2010 by travelmike

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really good, until it burn out
Really good idea and works well, then the motor burnt out after a couple of months from using it to make smoothies and soups.

Cheap electrics inside are not designed to last. Everything else works very well.
Published 14 months ago by Jon Lee


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

234 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for the healthy kitchen, 6 Feb. 2010
I believe the smoothie maker really is a must-have, especially for all those looking for a cheap, quick, and (most importantly) a delicious way to bring more fresh fruit and veg into their daily diet.

Apart from the colour (black), this is essentially the same model as the silver-coloured Kenwood Smoothie To Go SB055 Smoothie Maker, which I originally bought over two years ago now, and which is still going strong. (And used at least four or five times a week on average over that period, that's my first and only smoothie maker). So I suggest you check out the other reviews (including mine) on Amazon about that model too.

Note for first-time users: Don't be conned into buying any smoothie recipe books; it's like telling you how to boil an egg! I say: The recipe for any smoothie is simplicity itself: Half a dozen ice cubes (essential); some tap water (or other liquid) for lubrication (also essential); various fruits of your choosing, veg, nuts, fresh yoghurt - and you're away! Be original: Make up your own recipes as you go along, So now you have no excuse for walking past the fresh fruit and veg counter next time you're in your local supermarket. Equally good with frozen ingredients, even frozen spinach works (although better tasting with fresh soft fruits, easier on rotor blades too, see second update below).

Please note that the motor in this smoothie maker, based on my experience with the silver-coloured model, is robust and reliable, but common-sense tells you it is not designed to run like a car engine. I've used my smoothie maker regularly for almost two years now, it still runs as good as new: but I never keep the motor running for more than ten or fifteen seconds at a time. It's simply not necessary - indeed, I usually find less than 10 seconds is more than enough time to do the business. (And I believe this also keeps the motor in good health).

Highly recommended. The smoothie maker is a must-have, especially for those looking for a cheap, quick, and delicious way to bring more fresh fruit and veg into their daily diet. Don't miss out!

Update: July 5th 2010 - Today, I had my first problem after over two years' regular use with this smoothie maker (silver model). Motor whirred round, made a lot of noise, but failed to turn mixture and make smoothie! Cause - Overloaded with fruit, I had not properly sliced the mango/apple chunks, and I had perhaps also been too sparing with the tap water for lubrication. Remedy: Switched off motor - immediately - when this happened. Simply took out some of excess load (into the second beaker) and also cut up/sliced up the apple/mango more/added some more water. And tried again. Voila! Problem solved. Even regular users of this product can sometimes misjudge and overload the beaker in this way - but the problem is easily remedied - just remember to switch off and reduce the load - and not to blame the smoothie maker! And of course never keep the motor running when the mixture is clearly not turning, you must reduce load and/or add more liquid.

Further update: July 28th, 2010 - Today, another problem! This time, smoothie maker (silver model) made horrible loud screeching noise, and turned mixture much too slowly. Cause - Rotor blades damaged. The rotor blades are in the lid unit, these are delicately balanced, and they can be damaged by anything too hard, and once this happens, difficult to repair, even though they still look okay, they must remain in perfect balance. This was my mistake (again)- a small, very hard piece of fruit included in the smoothie mixture, should have been removed. The motor in the main unit still works fine - and as I also have a spare Smoothie 2Go SB055 - previously unused - I found that merely replacing the rotor blade unit in the lid solved the problem. I decided to phone Kenwood to buy a spare rotor blade unit, but they refuse to sell this as a separate item, so if you don't have a spare, you must buy a complete new smoothie maker! (The customer rep told me that they can't sell the rotor blade unit as a spare because it is now 'obsolete'. But as I pointed out, it is not obsolete at all, as Kenwood continue to sell this item whenever they sell a complete Smoothie2Go unit, indeed it is an essential component, of both the SB055 and SB056 models. I said to the Kenwood rep that I wanted to complain about this poor service, and was referred to their website, but could not find anywhere there to record this complaint).

Anyway, in summary, my smoothie maker (silver model) continues to work just as well as ever, despite this problem, albeit I had to cannibalise my spare for a new rotor blade unit, which Kenwood refuses to sell as a separate spare item, preferring to inform customers that it is now 'obsolete', so they must buy a complete new smoothie maker. (What would you think if you had to buy a new car, whenever the fan belt goes, because the manufacturer refused to sell the fan belt as a separate item, telling you it is now 'obsolete'?) I still think five stars for the smoothie maker, but now I deduct one star for poor service from Kenwood.

Further note (3rd November 2014) Thank you Veterinario for pointing out that you can now easily buy replacement rotor blades (at a very modest price too) direct from Kenwood . For more details, copy and paste the following link into your browser: http://www.4kenwood.co.uk/food-preparation/smoothie-frothie-maker/blade-assembly-complete/product.pl?pid=1689478&path=590713:626599,642769
Reply to this post
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best blender/smoothie maker I've come across so far!, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
I've had quite a few blenders and smoothie makers over the years, but once I tried this one, I was hooked!

1. Compact design that doesn't take up too much room on worktop.
2. Makes great smoothies.
3. Soooo easy to clean, and in you know it's clean as there aren't any bits you can't get into, unlike some smoothie machines.
4. Handy lids for if you want to transport your drink, and they don't leak!!

Not really anything more you could ask for from a smoothie maker.

My one has been going strong for the last 4 years, and I bought one for each of my sons to take with them when they went to university.

Interestingly, of all the smoothies we've done over the years, hubby and sons all have the same favourite one, and it's probably about the simplest one to do too, although it does need a little bit of forward planning:

Whenever you have an over-ripe banana, slice it up and freeze it (with slices in a single layer) in a food bag. (Having the slices in a single layer makes it easier for the blade and motor to deal with). Or, like us, buy a big bunch of bananas, let them go very ripe then slice, put in single layers in food bags and freeze!
Put milk (we use skimmed and it's fine) and frozen banana into smoothie maker.
Blend.
It's as simple as that.
If you blend it a little longer than you think you need to, it will thicken up slightly, which seems to add to the texture.
One of my sons has likened it to a McD's milkshake!!
This smoothie doesn't seem to need any ice added, presumably because the banana is frozen.
(It's nowhere near as good if the banana isn't frozen!)
This smoothie doesn't keep well, so it's better for immediate consumption rather than to make ahead.

Anyway, back to the smoothie maker:

Buy it, it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
Simple and easy to use. Also easy to clean.
Very reasonable for the price paid.
Needs quite a bit of 'start up liquid' with some harder fruit/veg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the big ones, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
This is the only smoothie maker that make .5 litre, all the other ones advertised are either 1.5 or 1.75, which is much too big, this one is just enough for one serving as you should drink smoothies on the day you make them to get the proper nutrition value from them. If you want to lose weight (my friend has lost a stone and hasn't felt hungry) this is so easy to use, throw your veg/fruit in it for 30 seconds then you have a nice meal replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooo good!, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
I was a little unsure of how well this would work as its so compact but there was no need to be worried - it's absolutely brilliant! The three settings are more than enough to blend everything down and the fact that you use the cups themselves to make the smoothie is brilliant. I take my smoothie in the cup to the gym so I can have it after a workout and it has never leaked even though I just chuck it in my gym bag! I love that it all fits in the corner of my cupboard as well ... it's just such a handy product to have and I recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really good, until it burn out, 2 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
Really good idea and works well, then the motor burnt out after a couple of months from using it to make smoothies and soups.

Cheap electrics inside are not designed to last. Everything else works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
For around £20, you can not go wrong with this product. There is a slightly newer more expensive model, but they seem identical, only varying in colour.
This is a very powerful blender which easily cuts through fruit and chocolate (Don't ask). However, do make sure you cut the fruit into cubes, as if you cut slices they sometimes seem to evade the blades resulting in a bit of a shock when you come to drink the smoothie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better., 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main benefit of this product is that its easy to manage portion size if you use the travel mug as the instructions state, it is able to safely hold 500ml of blended smoothie, there is additional space in the mug that could seemingly take more ingredients but i wouldn't recommend taking that risk as the contents can leak out while blending. While you can blend frozen elements you must always make sure there is enough liquid inside to aid this otherwise you will put the motor under strain, its not the best product for blending things that are frozen solid but it will eventually get the job done. i find that it can also blend flax and hemp seed without needing to bash them about a bit before adding them to smoothies. The travel lid is very secure and i have not experienced any leaks in my time using it. The only downside is that my smoothie maker did not last a year, the underside to the blade seems to have come loose which renders it useless. I am now looking for a replacement part and if i find i will continue to use my smoothie maker. I would recommend it to people just starting out with making smoothies as its quite cheap and as i said previously does blend quite well with a bit of effort but i'm not sure it stands up to the rigor of everyday use especially when more than one person is using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing I've bought in ages, 10 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver (Kitchen & Home)
Trying to get into eating healthily after a difficult year. Bought this on the offchance. Have been using it at least once a day. Great smoothies, experimenting with lots of different ingredients, so easy to use and clean, compact so storing is no problem. Love the travel mugs just make your smoothie and wander round the house with it or take it out with you. Makes making smoothies effortless, no fiddling cleaning inaccessible blades. Already looking forward to my next smoothie. Great product. Don't hesitate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 10 Feb. 2010
These are great little blenders and there is no two lots of washing up, just drink out of the Jug/Mug.
The only draw back are the holes in the lids on the mugs are to small for thick style smoothie drinks and the liquid inside can barely come out (personally I just drink from the mug without the lid on but it is a waste of time if you are planning to use on the go in the car etc.)
Overall though very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kenwood SB055 Smoothie 2GO - Silver
£22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews