Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TURN OFF THE PHONE - OPEN UP ANOTHER BOTTLE
This album features original compositions mainly co-written by the wistful, bluesy, sleepy-time-down-south voiced Madeleine Peyroux. Brim-full of wist, it offers no great stylistic surprises but it's still a fascinating album.

Peyroux can produce wonderful studio tracks but is said to be variable in live performance. I suspect this is because she's a private...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Jim Brooks

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid, standard jazz album
Whilst this album offers something of a departure from Peyroux sounding like a Billie Holiday cone it is fairly one track and fails to stir the senses beyond the feeling laden, "Love and Treachery." Bare Bones is the kind of record that quickly disappears towards the back of your shelf to collect dust.
Published 21 months ago by David Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Peyroux CD, 16 May 2009
By 
Mr. D. A. Smedley "Dave" (Crosby, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
The CD arrived almost instantly following the order. That was a bonus as I was going to see Madeleine later in the week & I knew she'd be performing some of her new repertoire. An excellent service, and great CD & concert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MADELEINE AT HER MESMERIZING BEST, 15 May 2009
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
This is a wonderfull CD full of original material,and has some very good musicians in support.Madeleine smooth relaxing style is mesmerizing.
Great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet !, 14 May 2009
By 
A. Godsall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Her she is singing her own work which has been beautifully arranged. Good mix of songs which show her to be a beautiful singer and talented song writer. Top muscians complete the package. Best album yet !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, moody, captivating, wonderful, 4 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
I saw MP in concert in Liverpool late April, and bought the CD in the foyer at an inflated price just because I enjoyed the concert so much. Interestingly, MP seemed to want more back from the audience, but the songs she sang (mostly her own) and the introspctive tone with lyrics to listen to didn't need footstamping or whistling. The quiet attention and appreciate applause was testament enough to a superb concert. Thank you MP!

I haven't stopped listening to the album since! It's so, so good. Favourite tracks "River of Tears" and "Our Lady of Pigalle". Best album yet, and the move into her own songs augurs well for a brilliant future. One thing that really gets me is the cleverness of the writing - words and music sometimes seem to be out of sync, but the way she slides the end of a line into the next is really distinctive and grabs the attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid, standard jazz album, 30 Oct 2012
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whilst this album offers something of a departure from Peyroux sounding like a Billie Holiday cone it is fairly one track and fails to stir the senses beyond the feeling laden, "Love and Treachery." Bare Bones is the kind of record that quickly disappears towards the back of your shelf to collect dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ossified, 5 May 2009
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you're unfortunate enough to be invited to dinner by a Dido fan, take "Bare Bones" along; you might get some blessed relief from Dido's motel lobby muzak and your host/hostess might learn something. Because in her favour, Madeleine Peyroux does have an interesting voice, quite sultry, quite smoky at times. Disappointingly, the album does not do what it says on the tin. The bones are actually fleshed out with rather too lush arrangements. They're too "tasteful" for the sometimes quite heartbreaking lyrics. Peyroux probably gets played in better motel lobbies than Dido, and this album is pleasant enough background music, but its lack of light and shade soon begins to pall when you give it your undivided attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll want to hug yourself in joy...., 23 April 2009
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This album is fantastic. From the first track to the last it surrounds you, caresses you, sometimes (as with track 5) admonishes you, but you just can't turn it off. Madeleine Peyroux has a voice that is absolutely mesmerising, up there with the greats. She is backed at just the right level and rhythm throughout...
How can you define that pleasurable warmth that seeps through you when hearing the perfect song for the moment?
I'll say it again; this album and the artist on it is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When bland is required, 26 Mar 2011
By 
R. Maitland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
"When Bland is Required"
You're tired and you've got guests coming for dinner, who you don't particularly like. You would rather not make dinner but as you've promised, you do. You don't want this dinner party to go on too long so you settle for the 'Bare Bones' as this will guarantee that your guests get restless at the lack of melody and the missing light and shade in one 'bare boned' effort after another. They will not want to stay too long, just incase you've got a supply of blandness to follow. Nice voice, ideally suited to singing covers of old jazz and blues standards. Perfect for wee cafes and busking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continuation, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Roy Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
another great collection of Songs from ms Peyroux ,never fails to entertain ,another for my Collection ,this Lady is the Tops and only gets Better all the Time keep them coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peyroux Perfection, 7 July 2013
By 
Mr. Vincent Waterfall "Oregolac" (Exeter UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones (Audio CD)
Another good selection from this excellent performer. This is my fourth album of Madeline Peyroux and lives up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare Bones
Bare Bones by Madeleine Peyroux (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews