Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DUSTY IN MEMPHIS- SO MUCH LOVE
I was just listening to `Welcome Home' from Dusty Springfield's `Where am I Going' album. It's a lovely soulful song and you can tell from sides like this, and even the album title, that she had to leave the UK to sing soul (which was all she wanted to do by 1967-8) and try to crack the USA market where she belonged. She was going to Memphis and New York where she...
Published on 1 April 2008 by Phillysound2

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have read previous reviews
With 8 duplicate mono tracks this is an odd way to present an album as remastered. As mentioned previously it would have been far better to have included the three tracks from the 1990 Rhino version. A great British singer no doubt but Aretha Franklin she aint.
Published 18 months ago by Nick Paul


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DUSTY IN MEMPHIS- SO MUCH LOVE, 1 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
I was just listening to `Welcome Home' from Dusty Springfield's `Where am I Going' album. It's a lovely soulful song and you can tell from sides like this, and even the album title, that she had to leave the UK to sing soul (which was all she wanted to do by 1967-8) and try to crack the USA market where she belonged. She was going to Memphis and New York where she recorded this great album while wracked with self-doubt, knowing she was risking her career to do what she loved. It didn't work. `Dusty in Memphis' bombed and helped ruin her confidence. The album was deleted and unavailable for a long time; it became a hard to get connoisseur's classic.

Listen to Dusty laying her heart on the line. Listen to those breathtaking notes, the great music, recording quality and the fantastic Sweet Inspirations. This is a master-class. The first 6 tracks and 10-11 are amazing and sublime. The rest is gorgeous icing. This album should always be available. Whatever you pay, it's an absolute steal for this totally classic album.

Dusty sounds like she's not earthbound any more like Memphis has released her soul and its floating free at last. Dusty totally lives the lyrics and exposes a deeply intelligent, sensual sensibility. She reaches into a deep sadness and vulnerability too. You get a little of this on some of her other albums but its totally realized on 'Memphis'. There's a raw, yet controlled, emotional quality that astonishes at every listen. Listen at night with the lights turned down, relax, just give in and make contact. Everything will disappear and it will just be you, ethereal Dusty, and your emotions in free fall.

On`So Much Love' she takes my breath away every time she sings `You show your love in so many ways, I'm gonna love you for the rest of my days...' I just don't know how she gets those notes; they come from another world. I can just about remember Dusty on TV singing 'Preacher Man'. This is such a groovy song but I sometimes skip this to get to the amazing ' I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore'. `Just a Little Lovin' is so great too. So is `Breakfast in Bed' (with that slow wink at 'You Don't Have to Say You Love Me'). `Don't Forget About Me' (an ultimate favourite of mine). `No Easy Way Down' (oh Wow), `I Can't Make It Alone' (brilliant) and like the alchemist she was she takes `Windmills of Your Mind' and `Just One Smile' and turns them from silver plate into spun gold.

This is the only time musical craftsmanship was truly up to Dusty's high mark of musical artistry, intelligence and ambition and good enough in its own right to push Dusty beyond the safe zone to produce a brave, coherent, consistent, matchless album. It must have cost a lot of money to make because everything here is the absolute best. Other UK artists went to Memphis to get this `sound' but most only exposed their limitations. There wasn't a Memphis `sound'; there were just great artists that were up to Atlantic Records highest production standards (epitomized in Aretha Franklin). I'm hard pressed to think of any other album of any genre that has knocked me out so much and which I can still play today just like the first time. Maybe one track or another can compete but not a whole album.

I've never been without this album since I bought it on vinyl in the early 1980s. The Rhino version is a great package but this version is fine. I don't have any gripes with the quality of the transfer. It's just a shame `Memphis' never came out on SACD or DVD-Audio when those super hi-fi formats were in vogue. There's something in my own soul that leads me back to `Memphis'. I don't know what that is but this album is a perfect response. It just makes me feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter perfection, 2 Sep 2004
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
If you think soul singing is about wailing up and down the scales (as seems to be the current trend), just listen to this album. Her voice embraces and caresses each song. Just one listen will convince you that Dusty was the best female singer the UK ever produced. Not only that, here she is backed by the cream of 60s Atlantic R&B players. The typically modest Dusty didn't believe she deserved to be in such company. As another great female artist once said, "You don't know what you've got till it's gone". Your collection isn't complete without 'Dusty In Memphis'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Not Do The Right Thing?, 30 Aug 2003
By 
Remaster Bob (Hong Kong, China SAR Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
An amazing album which deserves it's accolades as a piece of magical timless music, and this new remaster has a clear edge over the previous Rhino 1990 version. However one star docked in dedication to the eejit (Paul Reidy?) who decided we would rather have eight repeat mono tracks of lower quality sound rather than the three contemporary and tasty additional songs which appeared on the 1990 Rhino edition. Go figure. Those 1990 tracks added to the original collection; these mono mixes just disappoint.
Nonetheless, this is a superb original album, along with engaging sleeve notes and a better sound than ever realised before. If you have the 1990 Rhino version, you may need to keep both editions, courtesy of another careless record company decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you love Soul?, 19 Oct 2006
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
If you do love Soul music, then this represents a new take on things. Here Dusty works with some of the most famous of Southern Soul's musicians, and the legendary Tom Dowd and Jerry Wexler, to produce a new type of Soul.

The greatest compliment I can pay Dusty is that this stands comparison with Aretha - but where Aretha lets it all go, Dusty uses control and implies the emotion. There is little doubt that the various performers bring out the best in one another.

There are superb notes to accompany the wonderful music, with Elvis Costello introducing the set, and memoirs from Tom Dowd, Arif Marden, and Jerry Wexler as well as Dusty herself.

Stand out tracks for me are "So Much Love", I Don't Wanna Hear It", and "No Easy Way Down", but this is a fine album, representing the best that 60's music had to offer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album with improved sound, 27 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard this album and perhaps mainly associate Dusty Springfield with "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" and "I Only Want To Be With You", do buy it.

Nobody is disappointed by "Dusty in Memphis", and it comes as a revelation to most.
For Dusty fans, who probably already own at least one version of this album on CD, is it worth buying this issue? In my opinion, it is. If you have a good stereo system, you will notice that the sound is cleaner and less hissy, even better than the excellent US Rhino re-issues. On top of this, the essays by Elvis Costello, Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd and Arif Mardin are interesting and perceptive.
The mono versions of the tracks issued in single form do not add much: the mixes sound almost identical to the stereo ones to my ears (apart from being in mono of course). On "Son of a Preacher Man", Dusty's vocal is slightly further forward in the mix.

It would have been more sensible to include the later 'Memphis' tracks ('Willie & Laura Mae Jones','Hi de Ho','What Do You Do When Love Dies') as on previous re-issues. There is certainly enough room on the CD for them to be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty's masterpiece, 22 May 2004
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
No matter how many times I listen to this album, and it has to be once a week to check that my own soul is still functioning, I feel a special glow inside me knowing that this music will endure. There are some pieces of music that take on the element of autobiography. You can remember where you were the first time you heard Dusty's take on Son of a Preacherman etc Knowing that this classic album has now taken on iconic status and is being listened to by an ever increasing new fanbase must have the great lady smiling sweetly down on us. Thanks Dusty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope she knew how much this album was loved....., 23 July 2006
By 
S. Bradnam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Although not receiving huge critical acclaim when first released, this album has steadily grown in stature to become an absolute CLASSIC (in the same way that Shawshank Redemption has on film). You'll listen the first time and love "preacher man" cos you know it, and then slowly and surely, with subsequent re-visits you will realise that this is one of THE best female soul albums ever made. She is mesmerising; her voice is sensual, and every song is perfect - you also get some of the mono recordings as extras on the re-mastered version. Quite simply, a classic that you be very hard pushed to ever tire of. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 12 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
Dusty Spingfield is one of the greatest interpretative singers ever and this album is her masterpiece.
The song choices and arrangements are excellent, and unlike the orchestration on her earlier hits which often drowned her out, the instrumentation always puts her unique voice at the forefront. It is that voice, sensual, intimate, vulnerable and technically perfect, that makes this album a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album - poor remastering, 31 Dec 2007
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
I was so excited when this remastered version first appeared as I hoped, at last, that I'd have a decently remastered CD of Dusty's greatest album. What a disapointment then to discover remastering engineer Gary Moore's crude use of CEDAR noise reduction - the CD is heavily no-noised with noise reduction artifacts all over the place and many tracks have been EQ'd quite badly to compensate.

Oddly, some of the tracks sound like they're from inferior tapes to the Rhino edition of 1999 (which, even though it's hissy, is much better than this) as the sleeve notes claim to have sourced the best extant tapes.

I presume that the original multi-track tapes have been lost, as not one of the CD issues of this album have remixed them, but if you want this great album on CD, then the Rhino edition (with all the unecessary 'bonus' tracks) is much more consistant.

Re-mastering aside, this is a sad, beautiful and poignant album, full of amazing playing and the best singing Dusty ever recorded. Even the absurd 'Windmills of Your Mind' is made profound (the prologue clearly recorded as an afterthought and edited on, and the impossible metre of the original changed by Tom Dowd in order for Dusty to breathe between lines).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of all times, 4 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusty In Memphis (Audio CD)
For those of you who don't have this album already - buy it, because it is one of the best albums ever by any artist. For those of you who have - buy it again, because even if you know all songs, they have never sounded better. The sound quality is improved and is much better than the Rhino issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dusty In Memphis
Dusty In Memphis by Dusty Springfield
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews