Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2010
Yes, it's another of many Kiss compilations and there are so many of them out there, a newcomer to the band's output (of which I'm hoping there are a few more soon due to the Sonic Boom tour) would be baffled as to where to start. I'm not going to agree or disagree with the other reviewers of this disc as everyone is right. But in my opinion, if you are looking for a starting point for buying Kiss CDs, this is a good choice. It's cheap and it offers a good overview of the end of the back catalogue you really need to be concerned with (i.e. everything up to Lick It Up - though as a die-hard I'm not ruling out later albums, you just need to save these for later). More crucially, though, is that the songs on here don't suffer from dodgy remixes like on other compilations (notably the more official but rather insulting early compilation Double Platinum - Strutter '78? Oh dear). Perhaps you would be better served by just buying the classic debut album and working from there, but if you're wondering where best in the Kiss catalogue you'd like to begin your journey, want a decent compilation containing a lot of their best and best known songs (to a fan, no compilation is gonna be satisfactory) or just have a few quid to spend after seeing them live recently, then this CD is just the ticket.
(For fans reading this, I bought it cos my original Love Gun vinyl now has a scratch through the title track and I needed a faithful re-issue of the song)
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2002
Another Kiss compilation hits the racks, all the usual songs rear their heads again, how many copies of Rock n Roll All Nite can a person own? The music without a doubt is of the highest standard, but it's just the fact that it's another compilation with mostly the same old songs on as the othe Greatest Hits CD's we've already bought, that makes this a CD just for the completists or a great starting place for new fans.
Five Stars for the music, One star for the umpteenth Best of CD!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 December 2008
without including sure know something/shandi/heavens on fire and crazy crazy nights this disc cannot be termed the best of,its a brave attempt but ultimately unsuccessful,yet another record company cash in,the music contained is superb and is a great place to begin your kiss love affair as it does try to include all areas of kiss but just falls short,maybe one day a fan will get to compile the ultimate kiss disc.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2003
It's downright sad to see Stanley & Simmons keepin on milking the cash cow like this. Instead of offering the fans something exciting, the umpteenth compilation of studio material sees release. Since "greatest KISS" and the "box set" came out in recent years, all containing remastered studio material, there's simply no point in buying this. If you're a fan you already have all of these songs like, 10 times, if you're new to the band check out Alive I, II and III. This provides you with a much wider and more varied selection of the band's music throughout the years to begin with, and the live versions of the songs are nearly always the better and more energetic ones. If you prefer studio material, consider the box set, or the 1978 "Double Platinum" compilation combined with a few later albums like, depending on your taste in music, the heavier albums Creatures Of The Night ('82), Animalize ('84), Revenge ('92). If you like a more poppy sound, check out "Dynasty" ('79), "Unmasked" ('80) and "Crazy Nights" ('87) as well. Lastly, I also wholeheartedly recommend Ace Frehley's 1978 solo album. It's a trip. If you don't know KISS's music, go listen to some of this stuff, but just don't buy this half-a***d "Very Best Of" -compilation.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
On this CD songs were borned in studium, so they are very clear with perfect sound of all accords.Problem KISS is that they are top musician but bad singers but on this CD their singing is quite good and the music is really excellent. Collection of song is quite nice. CDs from live concerts are't so perfect as this CD-noise by fans canceled perfect music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Some great music from a world class multi platinum band showing their range of styles and commitment to their fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Good collection of their hits really good album n perfect for the car when driving wot more can b said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
wow what an amazing collection of classic kiss songs thru out the last thirty years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
Well time again to spew another collection out that never finds any justice to their albums. WHY !?
Well its like fitting 20 persons in a mini Cooper. These 20 persons represent their original released studio albums. And the mini Cooper represents this collection. Why are Kiss downrationg their achievements to a 1 CD collection ? Are you telling the general public we only have 20 good songs to our name ?!
I hope not.
The Albums made Kiss big. Not individual songs. Listen to Alive I, II (and III). The first two are the best ones.
Get most of the original albums Starting with "Destroyer". Their absolutely best Cult status album.
Don't buy this hacked piece of crap to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)