Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of somber beauty and emotional intensity
Following up a remarkable debut album can pose quite a problem for a musical artist or group, but the Cranberries shrugged off any hint of a sophomore slump and really outdid themselves with this album. It doesn’t have quite the appeal and ethereal magic of Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?, but the complexity and maturity of No Need To Argue is...
Published on 30 Mar 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never received
I didn't receive this and took ages to get my money back. Shame because it's a great album. I ordered to replace my old damaged one.
Published 10 months ago by claire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of somber beauty and emotional intensity, 30 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Need To Argue (Audio CD)
Following up a remarkable debut album can pose quite a problem for a musical artist or group, but the Cranberries shrugged off any hint of a sophomore slump and really outdid themselves with this album. It doesn’t have quite the appeal and ethereal magic of Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?, but the complexity and maturity of No Need To Argue is really quite remarkable. Rather than trying to repackage the appeal of their first effort, the Cranberries greatly extended their musical tendrils into the solid ground of serious, socially conscious, heart-stirring lyrics. This album doesn’t have the instantaneous listenability of what came before, but that is largely due to the fact that this album is a much more personal, revealing statement on the part of singer and songwriter Dolores O’Riordan. We see a richer, somewhat darker side of the Cranberries in these thirteen songs. Leading the charge is Zombie. I for one love this song; some might say its atypically heavy, rocking delivery doesn’t fit the Cranberries’ style or O’Riordan’s voice, but I say the song merely goes to show the versatility of the band. This was not the type of music expected from this group at the time, and that makes it an eye-opening triumph in my opinion. Ridiculous Thoughts contains traces of the same hard-driving presentation of Zombie, but really and truly this album is one of plaintiff, melancholy songs. There is a touching sadness to tracks such as Ode To My Family, 21, Empty, Daffodil Lament, and Disappointment. Dreaming My Dreams is a quiet love song O’Riordan wrote and dedicated to her husband. Yeat’s Grave is a somber and respectful tribute to poet W.B. Yeats, while the title track is funereal in its presentation. Raw emotion does appear in a couple of songs: the specter of child abuse puts O’Riordan’s voice on edge in The Icicle Melts, while lonely frustration fuels the passion of I Can’t Be With You.
This album put to rest any suggestions that the Cranberries’ music lacked substance. No Need to Argue comes across as a deeply personal album that, if anything, is slightly too introspective and serious. This being the case, it takes several listens before the beauty and incredible, emotional intensity of this album really comes across completely. If you only listen to the album a couple of times, you might well dismiss it as a somewhat disappointing followup to the much more accessible music of the group’s first album. In time, though, the depth and beauty of this album manifests itself, grabbing you with its incredible intensity. In its own way, No Need to Argue is even more remarkable than Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? With their debut album, The Cranberries soared into the sky; with No Need To Argue, they proved they could fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than best of, 17 Dec 2003
By 
here provided is a collection of such soothing and harmonic, yet at times intense and explosive tunes. zombie and cant be with you (perhaps the most well known songs from the album and indeed from cranberries) provide an upbeat rocky start to the album yet as the album progresses we are subject to, at times, some of the most soothing and tender voices. believe when i say that most impressive songs from the cranberries are the slower, less well known songs that you have to listen out for. personal favourite from the album is dreaming my dreams, yet when one listens many times to the whole albm one realises there is not a weak track on the entire album.
there is that irish folky feel all throughout, so, whether soothing or explosive, every tune is catchy and you will be humming and singing the melodies - guaranteed. by far the best on offer from the cranberries, and dare i say probably a better collection of songs than the 1992-2002 cranberries best of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the BEST Cranberries album?, 22 Dec 2002
No Need To Argue is a masterpiece for any music collector or enthusiast of the genre. Their biggest hit single Zombie is the main attraction for many on this CD. Also released was Ode To My Family, I Can't Be With You and Ridiculous Thoughts. This was created when the Cranberries were low in confidence and growing up. Dolores' vocals were at their most angelic and powerful. The album is sometimes perceived as angst and close to morbid, but the lyrics are a reflection of the World not always being perfect and are very bare and honest.
No Need To Argue, the title track is simplistic and moving. Also contained on this special edition are the B-sides from the single releases. (They Long To Be) Close To You, is a cover version of the Carpenters classic, which is pulled off in true Cranberries style. So Cold In Ireland is like a continuation of Zombie, crying out against pain and fighting.
This is deffinatly a must for Cranberries fans and anyone who enjoyed Zombie, will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic of the 1990s, 16 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: No Need To Argue (Audio CD)
Definitely the best album of the 1990's.The exquisite and angelic voice of Dolores O' Riordan had me listening again and again and again.
'Ode To My Family' has a universal beauty that most of us can relate to and 'The Icicle Melts' is another brilliant masterpiece that makes a hard hitting comment on another blight of modern society There is 'Yeats Grave' which is great peace of Irish poetry itself and 'Daffodil Lament' another exquisite and poetic masterpiece.I kept going back to Dolores beautiful voice singing 'I have decided to leave you forever...oh ,and the daffodils look lovely today'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie!, 25 Mar 2008
Make no mistake about it most people bought this great record for one song and thats Zombie!
I saw them performing this track on a dodgy guest show in the early nineties and was really taken by it. It reminded me of two Smashing Pumpkins songs sorta fused, Disarm meets Today kinda, so it definitely tells you who Dolores was listening to at the time a lot. well me thinks anyway as i love both bands so much! The powerful aura that came from petite Dolores blew me away, coz she is a giant in many ways. They received a loada death threats for it too which is typical of the small mindedness that sometimes an artist has to endure. Great statement though and i embrace it impartially.
The Icicle Melts is another sweeping powerful statement as Mrs O'Riordan sings "how could you hurt a child, hurt a child, does that make you satisfied, satisfied?? I often sing along with her being a musician myself its a great free lesson!! "a child, child ,child was taken away. . . ."
Such a heavenly voice with all her tics and accents and she's a mother too now which makes some of her earlier work even more poignant.
21 is a beautiful folk song and seems to indicate their obsession with nostalgia a lot. How at such a young age you can be? - but maybe they've all lived past lives or something??!
I Cant Be with You i dont really care much for as they couldve released other better songs but still Dolores always entertains us with her amazingly spartan yet wonderfully honest lyrics, almost like the innocence of a child.
Daffodil Lament is another gem of a tune as it really builds those dreamscapes that make this record so completely Cranberries.
Ridiculous Thoughts is just too good with Dolores showing us why she's one of the best singers in the world.
Empty wells tears up in my eyes everytime with some more sugar and spice and all things nice. Yeat's Grave offers up more of Dolores' beautiful high end nodes and is a showcase for her most excellent guitar work too which often gets overlooked. She is a one woman army in many ways and i would have her as my general anyday!
Elsewhere, Dreaming My Dreams does just that and makes a superb acoustic piece on many a world's stage.
However Zombie is their piece de resistance and will always be the song they are remembered for including those who dont know them that well. As for all the add ons, like i keep saying do they really need to be there when these 13 say it all.
So on the strength of that I wouldnt argue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album rocks!, 29 Dec 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: No Need To Argue (Audio CD)
I am 12 and when i first heard this album i couldn't get enough of it. It is really amazing as now i am an absolute Cranberries fan and know all their songs by heart. Anyone who is a real rock fan should definately try this as it will open up a whole new load of bands and songs for you to try. If you are moved by music, make sure you have a tissue near for some of the songs such as "Zombie" are very moving. Try this and you will never think of modern music the same again! It totally ROCKS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 28 July 2002
This review is from: No Need To Argue (Audio CD)
I am fully convinced that after the current spite aimed at the cranberries for recent musical follies has subsided this album will be generally recognised as being one of the best of all time.
It is rare for an album to be so consistently strong all the way through but with the possible exception of the limp single "I can't be with you" that is the case here.
While the first album merged somewhat into a fusion of pleasent melody, No Need To Argue consists of powerful plaintive songs in their own right. Delores' lyrics so laughably weak on "To the Faithful Departed" are coherent and affecting - coming straight from the heart.
From the touching and beautiful Ode to my family through to the crushingly sad title track this is an album of immense proportions. Angry, bitter, melancholic but above all deeply upsetting, it is the perfect soundtrack to any failing or failed relationship.
Listen and weep....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cranberries, my favourite band!, 8 Aug 2007
This review is from: No Need To Argue (Audio CD)
Fantastic, this is how I describe this CD... when I was a child of about 4 or 5 I heard this song, Zombie, and was thrown back into where my mother comes from, where my family originated from, and what happens on the streets of Belfast.
Later I watched the news with my parents and saw scences of violence, in Belfast, my mothers upbringing. I live very near Guildford, where an IRA bomb hit a pub once.
This CD underlines WHY? WHY? Just this question WHY?
The words to Zombie:
What's in your head, in your head?
Zombie, Zombie, Zombi bi bi
It's the same history,
like it's 1916,
coz in your head there're still fighting,
with their tanks,
and their bombs,
and their guns and their guns,
it's not me, it's not my family,
in your heeeeeeeeeeeeed etc!
Put this with a fantastic Irish womans voice that really makes you want to weep and dance at the same time, this is one to be watched.
The songs are sometimes mellow, rocky and different.
This has got to be my favourite CD of all time! Buy it now or miss out on something wonderful... it's your choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Need To Argue (Audio CD)
Great album. Everyone should listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't buy this for the extra songs (over the original album) they're pants.
But put that aside, this album in my opinion is excellent.
As are the Cranberries - if you buy this you'll love it. Also go for the "Everybody Else" album, another 5 star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews