Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great American Recording.
Johnny Cash has with his American Recordings finally found his place in the world of pop music. With his versions of more recent hits by artists like U2 and Nick Cave and re-recordings of some old songs he has brought country music to a new generation, whose knowledge of mr. Cash was limited to a version of "Ring of Fire" on a heavily discountet compilation CD.
"The...
Published on 27 Oct 2002 by Henrik Sunde Wilberg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
a few excellent tracks some dreadful ones too
Published 23 days ago by scminkstein


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great American Recording., 27 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Man Comes Around (Audio CD)
Johnny Cash has with his American Recordings finally found his place in the world of pop music. With his versions of more recent hits by artists like U2 and Nick Cave and re-recordings of some old songs he has brought country music to a new generation, whose knowledge of mr. Cash was limited to a version of "Ring of Fire" on a heavily discountet compilation CD.
"The Man Comes Around" sees Cash taking on "Hurt" by Nine Inch Nails and "Personal Jesus" amongst others. Even a version of "Bridge Over Troubled Water" ends up sounding remarkably fresh. The highlight of the album is the title track, where Cash describes the scene of Judgement Day, complete with Bible readings at beginning and end. That song alone, together with the massive acoustic build-up of "Hurt", makes the fourth American Recording a true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly one of the great albums of all time., 14 Feb 2004
When Johnny Cash passed away recently the music world wept. And with good reason. One of the pillars of integrity and greatest songwriters of the last 50 years lost forever is a sad thing indeed. His American Recordings cycle will forever stand out as one of the great recording cycles of all time, and the astonishing thing is that he completed them at a time of his life where he not only was discounted by most of the music establishment but also battled against illness for many years.
Like the other albums in the cycle, The Man Comes Around is a mix of his own songs, reworkings of his earlier materiel and carefully selected covers. The album starts off with the title track that surely must be one of the strongest songs in recent years with its old testament view of things to come. The whole album goes from strength to strength, but there is one real stand out tracks for me, this being his cover of Nine Inch Nails "Hurt". I am a fan of NIN, but this version blows the original out of the water. It is both powerful and moving and for me this is the standout musical moment of the last 5 years, it makes me want to cry every time i hear it. You NEED to own this album, amongst my 2000+ albums this is in the top 3. And i wonder if he did know something we didn't when he ended the album with "We'll meet again".
Truly a classic and an album that should be in every record collection. I can not recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash - someone your Dad listens to..., 29 Mar 2006
Buy it, buy it, buy it.
Like a Roy Orbison song, this collection of cover versions and Cash's own material, drips with emotion. Cash never had the greatest voice, but it was undeniably distinctive.
The frailty and pain evident in 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' more than compensates for the lack of perfect pitch and adds to the uplifting end of the song. 'I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry' - after listening to Cash's version you'd better believe it.
We should be grateful for this kind of music - only a very few people could have lived a life that would allow recordings like these to be made.
A masterpiece from a TRUE legend of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He'll be sorely missed, 13 Nov 2003
By 
Patrick Kelly "astralweex" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the latest in the line of American Recordings produced by Rick Rubin and continues the successful formula of Johnny Cash, with a minimum of backing, mostly covering songs which you wouldn't associate with country music.
The real triumph on this album is his cover of "Hurt" a song about drug addiction, which Johnny brings a whole new meaning to, and if listened to in conjunction with the award winning video, in which he looks so vulnerable, in contrast to that strong bass voice, it's extremely moving.
His own song, the title track "When the man comes around" is the strongest song he's written in years.
I always think his voice works best when he sings songs you don't expect and this is demonstrated on "personal Jesus" which is another standout track.
I don't think the covers of "Brige over troubled water","Desperado",I hung my head" or "streets of Laredo" work to the same degree. They are not badly done, they just don't drag you out of your comfort zone in the way covers of artists such as Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode and on his previous album U2, Nick Cave and Will Oldham do.
All considered, definitely a good buy, but doesn't quite match the heights achieved by American III, Solitary Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking beyond the line!!!, 10 Mar 2006
By 
Simon Lee (Co. Down) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I promise you that you will not regret buying this album (unless of course you have no taste!). This was probably the last recording the man in black made and I would have to say it is as good as it gets. Sell your granny and buy it if you know whats good for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect swansong for The Man In Black, 16 Sep 2003
By 
J. W. Bassett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Comes Around (Audio CD)
After more than five decades of making tremendous music that made listeners angry, enchanted and touched in equal measure, it would turn out that 'The Man Comes Around' would be Johnny Cash's swansong. For his final studio album, Cash (alongside producer Rick Rubin) presents a collection of simply overwhelming passion and beauty.
His final album begins with the finest track Cash had written for twenty years. 'The Man Comes Around' is an epic tale of the apocalypse, interpreting the Book of Revelations with uplifting exuberance. Restraint, resignation and a desire for peace pervade the prophetic imagery. 'The Man Comes Around' is truly beautiful and furious in equal measure.
Later he exhumes ancient standards like 'Danny Boy' and 'Streets of Laredo' and allows them to harness a new elegance. Cash even delves into his own bag and rearranges the dark humour of 'Sam Hall' as well as adjusting the already beautiful 'Give My Love To Rose'. Elsewhere, The Beatles' 'In My Life' becomes breathtakingly poignant. How could it not be when sung by a man with such a wealth of experience (especially when one bears in mind how young both Lennon and McCartney were when they wrote it)? The song becomes everything it should be when it falls into Cash's world-weary hands - touching the heart and soul with every hint of its deeper meaning.
It is a tribute to Cash's immense talent that he takes a song as hoary as 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' and totally reanimates it. Simon and Garfunkel's masterpiece has been played so many times the listener has become utterly numb any impact it once had. Cash, with his weathered, frayed voice makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end. At 72 years of age, few, if any could match the emotional power Cash could generate.
At times the track selection may seem odd but Cash is always up to the task at hand. He captures 'I Hung My Head', leaving the listener in no doubt that the song was always more Cash's than it was Sting's. Then along with Nick Cave, he does justice to Hank Williams' 'I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry'. The slithering blues groove of Depeche Mode's 'Personal Jesus' is another unexpected highlight. On these tracks Cash taps into the essence of each song and truly makes them his own.
However, it will be his staggering rendition of Nine Inch Nails' 'Hurt' that ensures this album's prominence. Where Reznor's original was a troubled paean to drug addiction, Cash infuses the track with genuine heart to accompany the bitterness. Cash treats the song with such honesty that adds to what was an already powerful mantra in Reznor's hands. Frankly it's the only song of the last decade to move me into an awed silence every single time I hear it.
Perhaps fittingly the album comes to an end with the sentimental classic 'We'll Meet Again'. It closes with the prophetic line, "We'll meet again, don't know where, don't know when / but I know we'll meet again some sunny day." Rest In Peace Johnny. You will be greatly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to The Man for Coming Around!, 30 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My rock/grunge/metal-loving teenagers introduced me to 'Hurt' last year. I have always preferred rock, metal, folk, soul, classical music to anything remotely Country & Western. I knew nothing of Johnny Cash but his early reputation. So I went to see 'Walk the Line' on the basis of that one song and its staggering video. The film itself proved inspirational too and I owe much to Joaquin Phoenix for that. My kids are clearly more broad-minded than I have ever been - the loss is mine. This CD has so much to give, such range and so much depth. I hope that anyone reading this will benefit from my mistake and discover the Man in Black sooner than I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stark, beautiful, powerful. Awe-inspiring, 27 April 2003
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cash has never sounded better. His own songs on this album are fantastic, but the covers are the stars. "First Time Ever I Saw Your Face", "In My Life" and (astonishingly) "Personal Jesus".
"In My Life" is one of those exceedingly rare moments on record when you can feel the hairs on the back of your neck standing up. An old man singing a song about a full life, it's beautiful, sad and immensely powerful at the same time.
Minimal production pushes Johnny's fantastically craggy voice to the forefront.
A stunning album. Could it be Johnny's best yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash - American Legend, 28 Dec 2005
As a diehard fan of the late, great John Ray Cash I was left saddened when I heard of the great deteriation of the man in black's health and general well being.
This album left me in tears, like many others who have followed him through thick and thin, through the years when JC was suffering and a victim of drugs and alcohol abuse and also through those great times and there were many.
The songs featured in this album are moving, hearing John's voice in the songs is not much different from the old times and his early years and still contains the unique characteristics which make him so well known throughout the music world - but what has changed and it is noticed as soon a sthe first song hits you - is the emotion and frailty in his voice. Emotion really does pour out from his songs, even though some are covers example Desperado and the Nine Inch Nail's song Hurt he still manages to make them his own for the album and his fans. The song hurt is especially apt in that he is now an old man, feeble and weak and after his home/museum 'The House of Cash' was struck by flooding it goes to show that every empire turns to dirt no matter how rich, in money terms or in health and family. In this song he sings 'everyone I know goes away in the end' and not long after this song was released his wife June Carter Cash sadly passed away after a battle with major heart problems.
When June died Johnny knew his life would crumble. He was already wheelchair bound and sufferring from Diabetes and respiratory problems added to his sight which was partial and he wanted to do something, to take his mind off of it and do what he enjoys best - singing. Sadly in September 2003 he died at Nashville baptist memorial hospital. This album is a fitting end to a staggering career and is the perfect farewell to his fans of all creeds, colours and ages. If you are a fan of Cash you will love it, if you are a fan of Music you will acknowledge it and if you are a human you will respect it.
John Ray Cash
RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man coming full circle, 27 Jun 2005
By 
Ian Watson (Oldham, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Many of the songs on the album I like by the original artists, and as a rule I am one of those people who rarely likes a cover version. However the giant of music who was Johnny Cash takes each one and adds such poignancy. Another reviewer was right get to his cover of In My Life and you damn well better cry, the Beatles sang as young men this song Johnny was looking down the barrel of his own mortality and was prepared. Even if you are not a fan listen to his American recording as stand alone pieces of work and if you can afford the time read his autobiography. The man in black will surely be sitting next to the man in white now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews