Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
164
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

During the seventies, the Carpenters had considerable success in the pop charts on both sides of the Atlantic with their brand of pop music. Richard's expert arrangements and Karen's superb voice combined to create something special.
They recorded plenty of original songs but some of their biggest hits were covers. Close to you is a Bacharach-David song, originally recorded by Dionne Warwick, but her version was not released as a single. Please Mr Postman was a huge American success for the Marvelettes (and was covered by the Beatles on one of their early albums). Jambalaya is an old Hank Williams song, while Ticket to ride is a Beatles classic.
Of the original songs, Top of the world was never originally intended to be a single. However, Lynn Anderson covered the song and had a major country hit with it. She might have had a pop hit, too, but the Carpenters wisely decided to release their own version.
The strangest song here is Calling occupants of interplanetary craft. Whether you like it or not, it demonstrates that Richard and Karen were always trying to do something different.
There are so many classics here including For all we know, We've only just begun, Rainy days and Mondays, Goodbye to love, Only yesterday, Yesterday once more and I won't last a day without you. You can't get all the great Carpenters songs on a single CD but the songs here are all excellent. Among the omissions are Hurting each other, Sweet sweet smile and All you get from love is a love song, but if those were included, others would have to be left out.
If you only want a single CD of Carpenters music, this is a good one to choose.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 September 2002
There is nothing cool about liking the Carpenters. They are one of the squarest bands in history. Even Karen's tragic death isn't really very rock & roll. This doesn't change the fact that they were responsible for some of the most beautiful pop music ever, and this disc has a pretty good selection of that music. Sure they can be twee, as with 'Sing' and their sickly version of 'Please Mr Postman', but songs like 'Goodbye to Love' & 'I Need to be in Love' make up for this by just being so heartbreakingly gorgeous. In Richard and Karen's hands, 'We've Only Just Begun' transforms from a saccharine advertising jingle into something truly inspiring, while 'Close to You' changes from a so-so Bacharach and David number to a song that retains its spine-tingling loveliness despite being so over-used everywhere.
'Lovely' is the word that really sums up the Carpenters' music. Karen possessed one of the most uniquely haunting voices there will ever be, and it is destined to live forever. For me the most wonderful moments here are 'Superstar', with its irresistible sing-along chorus, and 'Rainy Days and Mondays', which sums up the experience of depression better than any song I've heard. And as for 'Calling Occupants', well what better greeting could we give to extra-terrestrials than the sound of Karen Carpenter? Sheer magic. Buy it.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2004
For me, Karen Carpenter had one of the greatest voices popular music has ever heard - and she could play drums with the best. Richard Carpenter was no slouch, either. He could write, was a brilliant pianist and could arrange a piece of music like a magician.
So there were too squeeky clean for some people's tastes, but not mine! Their music came at a good time - between the Beatles and the beginnings of punk. Although there was a lot of other good music around, they shone like a bright beacon.
So after the positioning of their music, how can this review do justice to their music?
Well, these are the songs which made them famous, which demonstrate why they were seen as perfectionists in what they did and what they expected from the backing band - all brilliant musicians. The 20 tracks are wonderfully arranged and sung with such clarity and beauty that knowing that Karen appears to been a troubled person no only makes them all the more wonderful, but also poignant. They seem to fit Karen personality perfectly and she sounds as if she is living the words of a lot of the songs.
Another reviewer has suggested that the track order could have been different, and I agree with that a chronological order would have been my preference, but that does not detract from what is a wonderful collection of music.
I would also like to congratulate those involved in the production of the booklet. The accounts written by John Tobler are right on the money and gives a full account of the Carpenters careers and there is a lot of good information about each track.
All carpenters fans will have their favourites, but "Close To You" is the best debut song I have ever heard and is not bettered here, but I can't choose between all 20, as I love them all.
So, in conclusion, a wonderful collection of Carpenters music and a bonus in the well put-together booklet. Value for money was never this valuable.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
I bought this CD because it reminded me of the early and mid-70's. The music of the Carpenters was the first I'd ever heard and had quite an impact on me. This is pop music as it should be. Simple, catchy, memorable tunes that can be uplifting and moving. You'd be hard pressed to find an equal to the Carpenters in the charts these days. There's a refreshing innocence reflected in this music, although many of the tracks are tinged with a deep, underlying sadness. There's something for everyone here. If you are familiar with The Carpenter's then treat yourself to some classic songs. If you've never heard them before, then get a taste of what you've been missing.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2013
This is probably one of the best compilations of the Carpenter's songs I've yet come across.

The final, and longest, track - 'Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft' - is very, very different from the remainder of the album, and, as another reviewer has noted, shows that Richard and Karen were always prepared to experiment, to try something different.

Listen and enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the best-selling albums of all-time...
Brother and Sister act Richard and Karen Carpenter were both born in New Haven, Connecticut, Richard in 1946, Karen 1950.
They began their music / recording career in L.A 1969 as 'The Carpenters'
Richard a talented song-writer and musician, 'Karen' the vocal sound of the duo, her distinctive and easy on the ear voice soon
made them an almost instant success....quite a combination of talent.
They first became recognised in the U.K in 1970 with the song (They Long To Be) Close To You - which peaked at number '6' in
the U.K (was indeed a Chart-Topper in many countries including the U.S)
This album does of course include all the duo's major U.K hits including - Goodbye To Love (Chart U.K '9' 1972) - Yesterday Once
More (This my personal favourite - Chart U.K '2' 1973) - Top Of The World (Chart '5' also 1973) - Jambalaya (Chart UK '12' 1974)
Please Mr Postman (Chart UK '2' 1975) - Only Yesterday (Chart UK '7' again in 1975) - There's A Kind Of Hush (Chart UK '22' 1976)
and the song set out as a message to planets in the far beyond as a part of 'Contact-Day' - Calling Occupants Of Interplanetary Craft
(Chart UK '9' 1977) - Ironically and somewhat surprisingly they did not achieve a U.K number '1' in the Singles-Chart.....in addition to
the songs i've highlighted they did have several lower-order successes many of which are indeed included on-board.
The Album is for me an easy-listening delight and a treasured part of my music collection.
Sadly as many will know 'Karen' died at the young age of just 32 - February 4th 1983 as a consequence of Anorexia
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I still possess my original purchase of this album on vinyl. But what I no longer possess is the necessary equipment on which to play it!

It was whilst watching a biopic documentary shown recently on tv, chronicling the tragically short life of Karen Carpenter, that I was reminded of just what a truly special voice she had ; and what in their day might perhaps have seemed cheesey pop tunes are now more a major contribution to the world of song, recorded (fortunately) for posterity. The very next day I downloaded this fine collection in mp3 format, and I now have ready access to much of the musical legacy of The Carpenters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
It's been so many years since I last heard any of the tracks on this album, the first track bringing a tear to my eye! The production alone on this excellent album is worth buying if only for the production alone which is absolutely superb!! All or most of the tracks bring back so many good memories to me too, I'm just glad I was around when these tracks were first released, way back in the day! So to music lovers anywhere if you wish to hear what I believe is fantastic music? this album is a must for anyone's collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
A basically 'competent Silver Surfer', I purchased some 'media' material for my son and, to my surprise, was awarded a small credit against an mp3 download. My wife has an mp3 player which makes the household chores flow better, so I thought "Why not". A wide selection of musical tastes to choose from but I came across this 'very easy listening' in the first page or so. Apart from having to download on of those 'download installer' programmes, the whole process was realatively quick and easy.
With the bonus deducted I picked up a classic album of 20 'full' tracks of fabulous music from right at the top of its genre for, literally, just pennies.
These are almost all readilly identifiable titles, beautifully reproduced, of real 'chill out and relax' music.
If you want a bit of quiet time, to get away from the noise of pop and beat music, this is the perfect album to calm the soul.
Very highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
I have always liked the Carpenters but never got around to buying any of their material before. Karen Carpenter has the most interesting voice you could imagine its soothing, relaxing, exciting, angelic and everything else in between. This album contains most of their big hits, a fantastic album sung by the best ever female singer. If you have never heard liquid gold before then you need to listen to this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)