Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent compilation
During the seventies, the Carpenters had considerable success in the pop charts on both sides of the Atlantic with their brand of pop music. Richard's expert arrangements and Karen's superb voice combined to create something special.
They recorded plenty of original songs but some of their biggest hits were covers. Close to you is a Bacharach-David song, originally...
Published on 12 Oct 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia
Case not in the greatest condition but pretty good value for the age of the CD. Gets me back in touch with my youth
Published 8 months ago by DHead


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent compilation, 12 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
During the seventies, the Carpenters had considerable success in the pop charts on both sides of the Atlantic with their brand of pop music. Richard's expert arrangements and Karen's superb voice combined to create something special.
They recorded plenty of original songs but some of their biggest hits were covers. Close to you is a Bacharach-David song, originally recorded by Dionne Warwick, but her version was not released as a single. Please Mr Postman was a huge American success for the Marvelettes (and was covered by the Beatles on one of their early albums). Jambalaya is an old Hank Williams song, while Ticket to ride is a Beatles classic.
Of the original songs, Top of the world was never originally intended to be a single. However, Lynn Anderson covered the song and had a major country hit with it. She might have had a pop hit, too, but the Carpenters wisely decided to release their own version.
The strangest song here is Calling occupants of interplanetary craft. Whether you like it or not, it demonstrates that Richard and Karen were always trying to do something different.
There are so many classics here including For all we know, We've only just begun, Rainy days and Mondays, Goodbye to love, Only yesterday, Yesterday once more and I won't last a day without you. You can't get all the great Carpenters songs on a single CD but the songs here are all excellent. Among the omissions are Hurting each other, Sweet sweet smile and All you get from love is a love song, but if those were included, others would have to be left out.
If you only want a single CD of Carpenters music, this is a good one to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remembering a truly great brother and sister, 11 Jun 2004
For me, Karen Carpenter had one of the greatest voices popular music has ever heard - and she could play drums with the best. Richard Carpenter was no slouch, either. He could write, was a brilliant pianist and could arrange a piece of music like a magician.
So there were too squeeky clean for some people's tastes, but not mine! Their music came at a good time - between the Beatles and the beginnings of punk. Although there was a lot of other good music around, they shone like a bright beacon.
So after the positioning of their music, how can this review do justice to their music?
Well, these are the songs which made them famous, which demonstrate why they were seen as perfectionists in what they did and what they expected from the backing band - all brilliant musicians. The 20 tracks are wonderfully arranged and sung with such clarity and beauty that knowing that Karen appears to been a troubled person no only makes them all the more wonderful, but also poignant. They seem to fit Karen personality perfectly and she sounds as if she is living the words of a lot of the songs.
Another reviewer has suggested that the track order could have been different, and I agree with that a chronological order would have been my preference, but that does not detract from what is a wonderful collection of music.
I would also like to congratulate those involved in the production of the booklet. The accounts written by John Tobler are right on the money and gives a full account of the Carpenters careers and there is a lot of good information about each track.
All carpenters fans will have their favourites, but "Close To You" is the best debut song I have ever heard and is not bettered here, but I can't choose between all 20, as I love them all.
So, in conclusion, a wonderful collection of Carpenters music and a bonus in the well put-together booklet. Value for money was never this valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection in a quite imperfect world, 4 Sep 2002
By 
I. Kirby (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There is nothing cool about liking the Carpenters. They are one of the squarest bands in history. Even Karen's tragic death isn't really very rock & roll. This doesn't change the fact that they were responsible for some of the most beautiful pop music ever, and this disc has a pretty good selection of that music. Sure they can be twee, as with 'Sing' and their sickly version of 'Please Mr Postman', but songs like 'Goodbye to Love' & 'I Need to be in Love' make up for this by just being so heartbreakingly gorgeous. In Richard and Karen's hands, 'We've Only Just Begun' transforms from a saccharine advertising jingle into something truly inspiring, while 'Close to You' changes from a so-so Bacharach and David number to a song that retains its spine-tingling loveliness despite being so over-used everywhere.
'Lovely' is the word that really sums up the Carpenters' music. Karen possessed one of the most uniquely haunting voices there will ever be, and it is destined to live forever. For me the most wonderful moments here are 'Superstar', with its irresistible sing-along chorus, and 'Rainy Days and Mondays', which sums up the experience of depression better than any song I've heard. And as for 'Calling Occupants', well what better greeting could we give to extra-terrestrials than the sound of Karen Carpenter? Sheer magic. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the greatest songs ever written!, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I bought this CD because it reminded me of the early and mid-70's. The music of the Carpenters was the first I'd ever heard and had quite an impact on me. This is pop music as it should be. Simple, catchy, memorable tunes that can be uplifting and moving. You'd be hard pressed to find an equal to the Carpenters in the charts these days. There's a refreshing innocence reflected in this music, although many of the tracks are tinged with a deep, underlying sadness. There's something for everyone here. If you are familiar with The Carpenter's then treat yourself to some classic songs. If you've never heard them before, then get a taste of what you've been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immortal and beautiful melodies, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Terry D "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpenters Gold (MP3 Download)
This is probably one of the best compilations of the Carpenter's songs I've yet come across.

The final, and longest, track - 'Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft' - is very, very different from the remainder of the album, and, as another reviewer has noted, shows that Richard and Karen were always prepared to experiment, to try something different.

Listen and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good listen, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a joy to hear Karen Carpenter's lovely voice again. She made a recent car journey a pleasant experience. A real 'golden oldie. She is such a loss. Reading the material that came with the CD, was interesting. I learned so much more about her brother, who was such a talented guy, but let his sister take all the praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful voice delivering some memorable songs, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Larry G (Hertford, Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpenters Gold (MP3 Download)
I still possess my original purchase of this album on vinyl. But what I no longer possess is the necessary equipment on which to play it!

It was whilst watching a biopic documentary shown recently on tv, chronicling the tragically short life of Karen Carpenter, that I was reminded of just what a truly special voice she had ; and what in their day might perhaps have seemed cheesey pop tunes are now more a major contribution to the world of song, recorded (fortunately) for posterity. The very next day I downloaded this fine collection in mp3 format, and I now have ready access to much of the musical legacy of The Carpenters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday Once More!!!, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Relax, sit back and unwind. This CD brings back the distant memories of Winter evenings when I was a child, these tunes played on Mum's stereogram. Karen Carpenter's voice is guaranteed to warm the cockles of your heart, the whole CD homage to her memory. I thought that the mix of the tunes lacked any real flow however, and needs to be rethought. A sojourn into a world of your own could be disrupted by a change of tempo! However, a must for all fans of the Seventies and the Carpenters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpenters Gold (MP3 Download)
Nice and easy to listen to on my Kindle Fire. Not much else to say really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpenters Gold (MP3 Download)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carpenters Gold
Carpenters Gold by Carpenters
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews