Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platinum classic album
I grew up listening to Blondie and to find this album on CD, thus replacing my old vinyl copy, was a real treat. Each track on here is a gift in its own right. From disco-driven "Heart of Glass" to heart-thumping "Union City Blues", sneering (yet insecure) "Rip Her To Shreds" and timeless, erotic "Atomic" this Best Of ... album is a masterpiece. It is much better than...
Published on 29 July 2003 by Littlepig Littlepig

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
cd was marked and jumped alot. dissapointed.
Published 19 days ago by shakespeare


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I never get tired to listening to this album, 11 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
If the number of times I listen to it each year means anything, "The Best of Blondie" is the best greatest hits CD in my collection. Yes, the New Wave classics like "Dreaming," "Hanging on the Telephone," "One Way Or Another" and "Call Me" are here, but like with most artists the songs I really seem to enjoy are those great songs that never got a lot of air play, like "Atomic," "Sunday Girl" and my personal favorite, "(I'm Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear." Yes, it would be nice to have a bit more representation from the punk stage of vocalist Debbie Harry and guitarist Chris Stein (e.g., "I'm Not Living in the Real World"), but you do get the proto-rap hit "Rapture." What else can I say, except that pretty much everybody I know has this CD and loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Goes Without Saying, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
A Brilliant compilation of some of Blondie's best songs. Debbie Harry has proven her timeless brilliance by returning to the stage recently and blowing us all away with "Maria". This album shows how it all began. Songs like "Heart of Glass", "Sunday Girl" and "Call Me" show off Debbie's great voice - with amazing power and range. Her fun side comes out in "Rapture", but my all-time favourite by far has to be "Tide is High". This song is a classic and makes the album worth buying all by itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic CD � a must for every CD collection, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Every record on this CD is fantastic. Blondie are great, one of the all-time classic bands. Step back an era, it is hard to believe that some of these tracks were released as far back as the Seventies - 20 years ago! Never-ageing tunes - a must for your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Present, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
The person wanted this as a present and loves it! Nothing more to be said! Debbie Harry at her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best at their best, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
All the great songs in one place. Nicely packaged, it brought back memories of years gone by. It is currently anoying the neighbours as I keep playing it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goodie!, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit it,Blondie still is a great singer! Lady gaga is not too bad,but Blondie still knows what her fans want!She never seems to change-she always wore those high-heeled wooden sandals!
I have this cassette in my Sony Walkman-it helps make my cycle journeys alot more fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories !, 11 Feb 2012
By 
ray buddin (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Received on time, as usual. All I can say is as good as i thought it might be, brought back some great memories. All the tracks were great hits and you'll never be sick of hearing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Times!, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
So easy to stick on and hear some classics. You get the most famous but not necessary all of the best of but that's a matter of debate. Still a good album though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the very best, 5 Jan 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Blondie was one of the most exciting 1970s bands, with its roots in New York punk, its spectacular exploration of pop and its later ventures into synthpop and dance. This Best Of collection is weighted towards their later work and is not comprehensive at all. It opens with the brilliant Heart Of Glass, a hypnotic slice of synth-driven dance-pop from the Parallel Lines album.
The next track, Dreaming (from Eat To The Beat), is a wistful pop ballad whilst The Tide Is High (from AutoAmerican) is a catchy reggae ditty. Sunday Girl is another lovely pop tune, but Hanging On The Telephone sounds a bit jarring now and Rapture doesn't work for me. One Way Or Another isn't great either, but (I'm Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear remains a masterpiece.
Of the synthpop tracks, Call Me was a huge hit but it always lacked a good melody and hasn't aged nearly as well as Heart Of Glass, whilst Atomic remains at least interesting. In The Flesh and Rip Her To Shreds are excellent early pop-rock numbers from the Blondie debut album and still sound good.
The worst omissions are Picture This, Denis, Fan Mail and Bermuda Triangle Blues, all exceptional tracks from the Plastic Letters and Parallel Lines albums. Although Best Of is an enjoyable collection, Greatest Hits with its 19 tracks definitely has the edge as it includes memorable hits like Denis, Picture This, Island Of Lost Souls and Maria.
The two best Blondie albums are Plastic Letters and Parallel Lines, and they are like greatest hits collections themselves plus they contain great album tracks found nowhere else, such as Fade Away And Radiate and the aforementioned Fan Mail and Bermuda Triangle Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews