Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platinum classic album
I grew up listening to Blondie and to find this album on CD, thus replacing my old vinyl copy, was a real treat. Each track on here is a gift in its own right. From disco-driven "Heart of Glass" to heart-thumping "Union City Blues", sneering (yet insecure) "Rip Her To Shreds" and timeless, erotic "Atomic" this Best Of ... album is a masterpiece. It is much better than...
Published on 29 July 2003 by Littlepig Littlepig

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
cd was marked and jumped alot. dissapointed.
Published 29 days ago by shakespeare


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platinum classic album, 29 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
I grew up listening to Blondie and to find this album on CD, thus replacing my old vinyl copy, was a real treat. Each track on here is a gift in its own right. From disco-driven "Heart of Glass" to heart-thumping "Union City Blues", sneering (yet insecure) "Rip Her To Shreds" and timeless, erotic "Atomic" this Best Of ... album is a masterpiece. It is much better than the later released "Atomic - Best of Blondie" because it has the full versions of "The Tide is High", "Rapture" and "Atomic" and dispenses with the pointless 3 remixes of the latter track.
You will not need to use the "skip" button on your CD player when playing this timeless album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie makes it magnificent indeed, 28 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
When I was young, I loved Blondie but never owned any Blondie records. This CD contains all the classics I remember from years ago along with some great songs I was unfamiliar with. I'm no Blondie expert, so I can't comment on what should and should not have been included in a greatest hits CD. All I know is that each of these songs works quite well for me. The whole album has a terrific flow to it, alternating between several different styles of music--new wave, punk, disco, reggae, rap, you name it. Blondie was a trailblazer who redeemed the music of the 70s and paved the way for the great music of the 80s, 90s, present, and future. The variety and freshness of Blondie's musical stylings ensure the group's longevity and influence indefinitely.
"The Tide is High" has a reggae-type sound and evokes a real "island" feel; this song actually ranks as my favorite song on the CD. Of course, "Heart of Glass," "Rapture," "One Way or Another," and "Call Me" are terrific songs I never forgot over the years. "Rapture" actually introduced rap music to my ears--that ending rap was like nothing I had ever heard before; everyone I knew loved that bit about the man from Mars and the great guitar riffs at the end. The "Rapture" video is also one of the very first videos I ever remember seeing. "Hanging on the Telephone" has a driving rhythm that makes it impossible for you to sit still as you listen. "Sunday Girl" is a fast-paced, fun song with a strong beat and great vocals (including the French verse), as is "Dreaming." "(I'm Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear" is another surprisingly good gem, featuring a slightly softer side of Blondie. I basically love every single song on this album; Blondie's music has not lost a bit of originality, brashness, or power over the years, nor has the enjoyment I receive from listening to it diminished one single bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best Blondie collection out there, 30 Nov 2001
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
The Best of Blondie (released in the mid-80s) is still the finest Blondie compilation currently on the market (although now tricky to get hold of)and is certainly better than the tacky Atomic Blondie collection released in the late-90s. All Blondie's classics are present and correct in their original form, including Heart Of Glass, Hanging On The Telephone, Sunday Girl and the brilliantly innovative Rapture, surely their finest moment, which features the first ever rap by a female artist.
It sensibly sticks to their best songs whilst avoiding any filler-fodder or annoying remixes and the track order, while not chronological, is a fluid and well-blended balance of their material.
Perhaps an up to date and chronologically correct collection inclusive of their 1999 No.1 Maria and Island Of Lost Souls (their last interesting single prior to this), free of needless remixes, would be a worthy testimonial to one of the greatest and most prolific bands of the New Wave era. Until this appears, your best bet is this excellent compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Goes Without Saying, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
A Brilliant compilation of some of Blondie's best songs. Debbie Harry has proven her timeless brilliance by returning to the stage recently and blowing us all away with "Maria". This album shows how it all began. Songs like "Heart of Glass", "Sunday Girl" and "Call Me" show off Debbie's great voice - with amazing power and range. Her fun side comes out in "Rapture", but my all-time favourite by far has to be "Tide is High". This song is a classic and makes the album worth buying all by itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
cd was marked and jumped alot. dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This music runs in my blood!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Blondie (MP3 Download)
My adult life has had as a background the idiosyncratic music of BLONDIE which unlike other fads never seems to bore or date. I watched her at the Maida Vale studio production recently she still has a great voice and her band still have a great sound - more mature but good.

This recording has all the original vibrancy and magic of the Blondie factor with the 'hook' which continues to play in your mind long after the player has been turned off - charismatic and quirky Blondie surrounded by superb musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Pop Pleasure, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD with all the hits that will transport you back in time - a delight for all Blondie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of Blondie, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
I had this album years ago. Lent it to someone who never returned it. Blondie at their best - I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews