Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They've almost got it right...
At last, Polydor releases a proper Style Council singles collection - almost.
Unlike 'The Singular Adventures...', which included re-worked or remixed versions of early tracks ("You're the best thing", "Money-go-round", "Long hot summer"), all the tracks on 'Greatest Hits' appear in their original mixes - and in chronological order,...
Published on 6 Sep 2000 by Kevin O'Conner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars style council
great CD unfortunately case was smashed and cover was ripped , still great music should have been 5 stars though .
Published 12 months ago by andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They've almost got it right..., 6 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
At last, Polydor releases a proper Style Council singles collection - almost.
Unlike 'The Singular Adventures...', which included re-worked or remixed versions of early tracks ("You're the best thing", "Money-go-round", "Long hot summer"), all the tracks on 'Greatest Hits' appear in their original mixes - and in chronological order, even - which alone makes this collection worth getting. Even "Come to Milton Keynes" and "The big boss groove", which were left off the earlier collection, are here - though "Soul deep" is still missing, and "Long hot summer 89" was presumably not included in order to avoid redundancy.
At the same time, 'Greatest Hits' and 'The Singular Adventures...' are sort of funhouse mirror opposites of each other:
1. 'Greatest Hits' includes the 12-inch or LP versions of "Shout to the top!", "The lodgers", and "It didn't matter", which appeared on 'The Singular Adventures...' in their 7-inch versions. Similarly, it includes the 7-inch versions of "Long hot summer", "My ever changing moods", and "Have you ever had it blue", which appeared on 'The Singular Adventures...' in their 12-inch versions.
Then there's the weird case of "You're the best thing". On 'The Singular Adventures...', we got a re-worked/remixed version of the 7-inch, with the extra half-verse in the middle repeated. On 'Greatest Hits', what we get is essentially the 7-inch arrangement of the LP version (minus the brief percussion-only intro), with the extra verse completely absent. I don't recall this being on the 12-inch, so its inclusion here is a bit of a mystery.
2. Like 'The Singular Adventures...' and 'Here's Some That Got Away' before it, 'Greatest Hits' sports a 'Cost Of Loving'/'Jerusalem'-era cover photo. Why Polydor insists on using photos and design motifs (especially that orange!) associated with the period widely considered to be the band's nadir on what are otherwise supposed to be "best of" collections is still baffling.
That said, 'Greatest Hits' is still a welcome addition to anyone's Style Council collection, and a vast improvement on the three other compilations released since 'Here's Some That Got Away'. The tracks here don't seem to suffer (or suffer as much) from the over-compression that mars the rest of the Style Council remaster series (you'd think that this would have been addressed in the two years since the release of the box set); and the versions of "Money-go-round", "You're the best thing", "The lodgers", and "Have you ever had it blue" have not been available on CD until now; and the liner notes are probably the best I've seen on a TSC compilation. A few Cappucino Kid sleevenotes would have been nice, though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TSC & What was good about the 80's, 21 May 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I sometimes feel TSC were often overlooked in the 80's, sadly maybe due to the principal songwriter's changing career from his previous band.
From 1977 - 82, Paul Weller was a serious young man, not really smiling just creating some of the most energetic,influential music of all time, but from 83 - 89 he became less serious, adding humour, soul and fun with TSC, ably co-coordinated by Mick Talbot.
That previous band ceased whilst at their peak and this new career direction evolved into the soulful, political and much more pop venture The Style Council.
Some band's simply run their course before they and their audience grow tired and like the TSC leave us with some wonderful music to reflect on.
83' was a great year for music, the wonderful and charming debut 'Speak Like A Child' soulful and catchy, the political follow up 'Money Go Round' then the summer track of all summer tracks, 'Long Hot Summer' perfect radio music to unwind too then the wonderful 'Solid Bond In Your Heart'.
The lovely 'You're the best thing' came from the diverse and jazzy LP 'Cafe Bleu' and was a summer song for 84' before TSC
peaked at around the 'Our Favourite Shop' period, tracks 'The Lodgers' and the much criticized but in my opinion the comically and charming 'Come to Milton Keynes', which had a wonderful video.
Even the last few years of TSC produced some lovely singles in
'Wanted' , 'How she through it all away' so we are left with a lovely snapshot of the 80's
I suggest alongside purchasing this CD, try the DVD 'The Style Council on film' it just is a nice companion to the collection here and shows how Paul Weller and Mick Talbot let their hair down and just enjoyed themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the fashion, just listen to the quality of the tunes..., 25 Jun 2009
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Considered for quite some time to be the awkward & dated part of the Weller back catalogue, even the most hardened fan of the Jam or his post 1990 work has to acknowledge now, that the style council period not only contained some finely crafted songs (he performed 'Shout to the top' on his recent 22 dreams tour) but was in fact an essential part of his growth as a song writer.

Weller could never have written modern classics such as Changing man, Broken stones and Wild Wood without this period of experimentation and reflection with his future wife Dee c. Lee, future long time collaborator Steve White on drums and Mick Talbot on the keys.

Songs included are Have you ever had it blue, Long hot summer, Wanted, Shout to the top, Speak like a child (the style council debut single), You're the best thing, and the glaringly autobiographical My ever changing moods are all here, and wrapped around them are other Style Council classics which are thankfully mainly from the Style Council's most prolific output between 1983 and 1987.

For the now low cost of purchasing the album, one can forgive the inclusion of the plodding watered down house music cover version of Promised Land (presumably included on the basis of chart success) as in the humble opinion of this reviewer this would struggle to qualify as a classic single from the Weller collection. I also see little reason to elaborate upon the politics of the day in relation to the music as for me it neither adds nor detracts from the quality of the songs.

So here we have it, with the odd exception, this is a superb collection of the Modfather's Style Council back catalogue all in one place, and for some this collection will be investigation enough of his 80's output, but the fact that in retrospect the quality of the songs written during this period now stand up on their own, and are worthy of fresh interpretation by the man himself in his live set, says a great deal about the man and his music. If you are a Weller fan than you owe it to yourself to get a copy of this and hear where the song writing roots of his current Mod revivalist musical direction were formed. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost all the greatest hits, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a pretty good "Greatest Hits" collection but would more accurately be called "Almost All the Greatest Hits" as not all of them are here. The band didn't have a vast number of hits, though it did release many decent records that charted. even so, this is the best of the hits albums out there, until someone has the sense to put all the hits on one album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a low career point after all, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Weller never lost it, and this compilation proves it. Great music and memories. Eclectic and brilliant, sandwiches The Jam and solo phases excellently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weller tastic., 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Love the Jam. Love Weller. Love this. Caught up in a whirlwind and an ever changing mood. Pouring soup in my flies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Just wonderful. All the hits are on here and more. Love Paul Weller and everything he has done from The Jam to now so this lovely bit of in-between is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unjustly overlooked band, 26 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. J. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Speaking about this band the other day with workmate, he said "The Style Council...wasn't that when Weller went a bit gay and French?" (I'm only quoting). They don't have the obvious integrity and outsider status of other great '80s bands like Smiths as they were deliberately making slick pop music. The range of influences on their music made them a conundrum to many Jam fans and still inspires love/hate reaction: socialist nouvelle vague 80s casual cockney synthesiser soul. But 25 years later you can clearly hear the progression from the later Jam to earlier TSC: Speak Like a Child, Solid Bond in your Heart, You're the Best Thing, Money Go Round, Shout to the Top, Walls Come Tumbling Down and Come to Milton Keynes for example are every bit as good as Beat Surrender. It's peerless get-up-and-go Saturday morning music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Style Council's greatest hits is the best of sweater rock., 20 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD reminds me of Top of the Pops in the eighties ---- Paul Weller in a punt with a lemon coloured jumper tied over his shoulders, singing to camera through a misty filter in flaming June. I love the sound of the Style Council and Paul Weller -- to me it summarises the best of eighties cool. I find this to be Mr.Weller's finest hour ------ freed from the burden (as they admitted) of carrying The Jam, his solo period was a great wave of freshness producing a sound which I have never heard anywhere else. Produced using piano/synthesizer in association with a mellower Paul Weller guitar it has reminiscences of a pre-great war music hall, parodying the London cultural inheritence, so often his subject matter. "Speak like a child", the first track, begins with this swirling, anachronistic electric organ sound and seems to say ; don't judge me on my New Wave creations alone, my heritage goes back further into the Cockney maelstrom which I'm a part of. Weller's socialism was a breath of fresh air amidst the all encompassing growth of Thatcherism, and this music is the respectable face of the eighties left. Just how it is that some people can pull a song and sound out of the air will always be a mystery. A complex character? An over developd conscience? Who can say...... However, the sheer warmth of Paul's character and the long hot summers of the eighties can literally be felt in these tracks. My favourite is "you're the best thing", a unique melody which sounds as fresh now as then, and will always stand as a timeless love song celebrating the intoxicating suffusion of twenrty-something love. I prefer Paul Weller to be in love, with his M&S Cardy on, punting down the River Cam mimicking the middle class people rather than fund raising for a refuge in Kings Cross. For nostalgic reasons as well as artistic ones buy The Style Council's greatest hits, if only to remind you of the long hot summers and Paul's inimitable sweater wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish album, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This DVD purchase was to replace my LP. Forgot how much I loved this band. WOW....what have I been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits (Digitally Remastered)
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews