Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you're funkin with the funk family
i wouldn't call myself a fan of the BEP but after hearing this album i must say it is a pretty good mix of hip hop, funk and rnb. There are so many good tracks on here its hard to pick a favourite although i dont like Anxiety or Rock my S**t, i think they are the unwelcome rock-based interruptions in what is mainly a very enjoyable album.
Tracks which i think are...
Published on 14 Mar 2004 by nellpatel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
The Black Eyed Peas have been on the scene longer than one would expect. They charmed smaller circles before and achieved some popularity with "Request + Line," their collaboration with Macy Gray. An image revamp and a dreadfully fine-looking blonde later, suddenly they are the hottest group to hit the waves. Fergie, the new addition, does not only make the group easy on...
Published on 29 July 2004 by Nasser Alqatami


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you're funkin with the funk family, 14 Mar 2004
i wouldn't call myself a fan of the BEP but after hearing this album i must say it is a pretty good mix of hip hop, funk and rnb. There are so many good tracks on here its hard to pick a favourite although i dont like Anxiety or Rock my S**t, i think they are the unwelcome rock-based interruptions in what is mainly a very enjoyable album.
Tracks which i think are truly brilliant are Fly Away, with its catchy vocals and heavy backing track, and Third Eye which is quite strange on first listening but is one of those tracks that just grows on you which you can't get out of your head afterwards. Other highlights include the disco beats of The Boogie That Be, the catchy Hands Up, the ultra-funky Smells Like Funk, the cheerful Labor Day and the booty-shaking Hey Mama.
Overall it is a good album with some memorable songs, some strange, but a couple that sound completely out of place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter brilliance, 29 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Some people tend to down play this album but its amazing. It has well thought out vocals and beats on all of the songs, A few of my most favourite and most played songs include Latin Girlds, sexy and Whats Goin down. This album bites you and doesn't let to, A must be for all those who enjoyed Shut up and where is the love, If you hav'nt yet purchased this fantastic upbeat you really are missing out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Feb 2004
Excellent album. It has more than just the 3 big singles on it, and if you dont like it right away it will tend to grow on you. The lyrics are great, especially those to 'third eye' the extra song tacked on to the end of 'where is the love'.
This is an album with a message, and a powerful one. "where is the love' provides a sound with more meaning behind it than anything else out there in the hip hop scene, and judging from the response there is actually a place for it.
For those you say that the Black Eyed Peas have sold out by changing their sound from their last albums, its your own fault. Their following consisted of perhaps 100,000 fans prior to Elephunk, and this was the demographic that would rather download than buy. This is not enough to actually support the band and they had to drastically change their sound just to stay alive. If you dont like it, pretend that they disbanded then, because thats what they would have had to do if they were to keep their sound. This is the argument that sold them on the idea, and i think its a pretty good one. So put up or shut up.
This is a free thinking band with things to say, and are not afraid to state it with their music. Although if you are a big fan of GW Bush you may not be so happy with their left wing attitude, but i thought it hit the spot just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elephunked!, 9 Nov 2005
What a strange mix of a dozen different music types and influences! The Black Eyed Peas have made an album for everyone, and no one! The songs are completely different one from another, as there are so many types of music involved: rap, hip-hop, pop, dance... The true gem of this album is the vocalist Fergie, a new adition to the band which carries most of the songs and makes them good. If you liked the videos and songs released as singles, then you'll like the album as well! Just remember that the video versions of the songs "hey mama" and "let's get it started (retarded)" are a litte different than those on the album.
To sum up: If you like goin' crazy, dancing and singing: buy this album! You'll get Elephunked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Aug 2004
By 
kathryn colbourne (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
When I bought this album I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. The tunes I had heard "Where is the love" and "shut up" had been great but i wondered whether these where the better tracks they released. I was so wrong! Each track is fantastic and I can listen to it over and over without getting bored. In fact going to put it in my car now to listen to as I drive around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy addition to my collection - Fergie and all, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Bernard Smith (Somewhere, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephunk (Audio CD)
I came across the Black Eyed Peas for the first time with the track "Where is the Love?" and the interesting and rather dark video. Part of me wants more of that harder revolutionary sound, but for me this is one of the richest modern music discs to appear in the last few years. Almost all the tracks are original and worth a listen. I play a lot the 3-track combination "The APL Song", "Anxiety", and "Where is the Love?", that are quite different one from the other, but stress the originality of the band. I understand the group has its origins in LA as a hip-hop group, but on this disc they have certainly evolved and you can find some hard-rock, some disco, some Latin funk - a bit of everything but done with quality and style. Love the name Will.i.am and I understand that this disc is the first with Fergie - now that's what I call a fantastic new acquisition to the team. Effectively she brings something more to the group - you just have to hear her voice on "Shut Up" to be permanently addicted. Like someone said the more you play it the better it gets. Some reviewers criticise the diversity of music types and influences on the one and same disc, but for me that's its strength. This is a worthy addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 29 July 2004
By 
The Black Eyed Peas have been on the scene longer than one would expect. They charmed smaller circles before and achieved some popularity with "Request + Line," their collaboration with Macy Gray. An image revamp and a dreadfully fine-looking blonde later, suddenly they are the hottest group to hit the waves. Fergie, the new addition, does not only make the group easy on the eyes but also adds enough vocals to make them sound less like an imposter Tribe Called Quest.
However, the music has become more manufactured and radio-ready. For example, the first single, "Where Is the Love?" is a hit too big for its own good, with a schmaltzy chorus sung by non-other than current poster-boy Justin Timberlake. The other hit, "Shut Up," starts on a good note but is then overwhelmed by its catchphrase.
The real star on Elephunk is "Hey Mama," a true dance number with enough dazzle to keep everyone shaking after many spins. The bass arrangement on that track alone deserves its own award.
Fergie shines on "The Boogie That Be" and "Fly Away." Papa Roach helps out with the only rock track on Elephunk, titled "Anxiety." The rest of the tracks fall short of even mediocre, like the disturbing "Let's Get Retarded" and the pointless "Labor Day (It's A Holiday)." Moreover, the summer-y "Latin Girls" is a genuine nag.
Elephunk carries hits and misses. However, downloading the songs will save you some hard-earned cash. The reconstruction of the band makes them more presentable and creates a niche for them in the pop market, but they still need to create a more complete record to earn some credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elephunky!, 1 Sep 2003
The peas return but this time with a new female member, Fergie. She adds some silky smooth vocals amongst some highly infectious but varied beats and hooks. The sound of this album differ from previous peas albums and it is hard to categorise the style of the album. Standout tracks include shut up, lets get retarded, where is the love, hands up and the boogie that be. Elephunk is an eclectic mix of styles from the poppy labor day (its a holiday), the dissapointing collaboration with Papa Roach on anxiety feels out of place but the slower smoother where is the love finishes the album strongly. Overall a unique variation of the rap genre that works. Some "Hardcore" rap fans of DMX style big noisy beats may be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars May grow on me, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
I really like the two songs where is the love and shut up so I bought this album thinking there would be a few other songs similar. I was wrong! There are hardly any other songs with the excellent vocals by Fergie and there is a bit too much rapping. You never know though I have only had this album for a week so some of the others may grow on me. We will see.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars conversion of opinion, 20 Mar 2004
The only way I actually listened to this album was because i was converting it to MP3 for one of my freinds. there was no way you would get me to listen to it otherwise, i thought it was going to be crap from what i had already heard from the singles (except where is the love that was massively overplayed). but then it got to Anxiety, being more of a rock person i immediatly recognised the collaboration with paparoach. this was the track that changed my mind about the whole album, the rest of track kinda grow on you after you listen to them a couple of times.
In fact, just from doing somebody a favour and hearing it i went out and bought it!!!! It is a way better album than i thought, so before you pass judgement, listen to al
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephunk
Elephunk by The Black Eyed Peas
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews