Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential music for the Dee Jay`s, 9 Feb 2008
By 
Derrick Page "Dr.Delboy" (Uckfield. Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
`Yello` are Dieter Meier and Boris Blank, male vocal and instrumental duo from Switzerland. If this was to be your first purchase of Yello, then this sampler CD is the best one to buy. This `Yello` compilation CD contain`s 18 tracks of which 10 were top single release`s of the top 100 British charts. Only two tracks are missing from this album to complete every single ever released on one album, they are Blazing Saddles 1989, which got to 47 in the charts and 1994, How, How, went to number 59. Essential Yello has been prouduced as a Album sampler covering Nine `Yello` top chart albums. This album also contains `Jingle Bells` as featured in Walt Disneys `The Santa Clause` film soundtrack along with a bonus track `Tremendous Pain`.
As a Ex-Proffesional Disc Jockey this album would have been used with selected tracks. It is certainly ideal for the Mobile Disco DJ`s around the country, excellent for Driving music in the car or just pure Hi-Fi enjoyment. For all music fans who love electronic tracks this is a must for your collection. Has great Stereo effects on most tracks.
Shirley Bassey is featured on `The Rhythm Divine` track which sounded very 007 Style. I personally would recommend this album for your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello to Yello, 12 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
Before I get a minor grumble off my chest, I would just like to state that this is an excellent compilation, featuring many of Yello's greatest musical moments. However, the title of this release is a little dubious, as how can an album called 'Essential Yello' be released without the inclusion of tracks such as She's Got A Gun, La Habanera, Pumping Velvet, Daily Disco, Angel No and You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess. I could go on. So this is really 'Yello-The Singles Collection', and a very fine testament to the band it is too, just not containing all that is essential from this great group.
However, I would recommend it to people who have not listened to Yello before, as it does give a very good account of the diversity and flavour of Yello. Beginners might also like to try '1980-1985:The New Mix In One Go' as a starting point
So five stars from me, for being a great release anyway, and I live in hope that Yello will release a definative retrospective in the near future( and a new album too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 12 Aug 2007
By 
J. Marks (Winchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is great as an introduction, but the quality of Yello's regular albums is so high that you might be better off starting with and Stella and One Second to get yourself hooked, and then end up buying their entire back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you don't know yello,then get the albums and give it to someone else who doesn't know yello!, 4 July 2010
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
A brilliant compilation only hampered by the fact that as any sane (or insane) person who hears it will obviously buy all the albums, they will have all the tracks again.Yello albums are smorgasboards of lush noir-ish electronic soundscapes with the kitchen sink somewhere in the mix and cry out to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mello Yello, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
Great memories. Still as good today. Try driving with it bumping out those bases. I'd forgotten how much I liked them. In fact I'd forgotten about them until I heard them on Radio 2 recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb Synth Hit Album., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
A really fabulous selection of Yello's biggest hit songs. A great addition to my collection, A fantastic quality Cd and all services regarding this brilliant purchase. So very many happy memories from that excellent decade. Thanks so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a fan, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
Yello are just different and keep it musical and creative even with some modern sounds in there.... Sounds great in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
i did enjoy this cd the german electonic chaps delivered with great attitude and the driving beats and vocals make this a cd worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOTTA SAY YES TO ANOTHER EXCESS!!, 17 Mar 2011
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Essential Yello (Audio CD)
Switzerland's premier musical export (aside from Krokus!) are a superb musical duo, whose electronic and vocal dexterity is second to none. This album pulls together tracks from the first eight albums and is utterly scintillating. The standard of innovation and creativity is immensely high, with obscure vocals, wonderful rhythms and the most extraordinary compositions. This is a great place to start and if you are new to Yello, you will be pleasantly surprised at the familiairty of some of the tracks (many of which regularly cropped up in films during the Eighties).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars forgotten favorite, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Yello (MP3 Download)
Took me back to my youth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Yello
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews