Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£1.39
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2004
I've always liked the Charlatans - from the falsetto of Tim's voice in Wonderland to the hammond organ in Between the 10th & 11th & Some Friendly, I always thought of them as a quality groups. However, I was surprised at just how good Up At The Lake Was. Catchy, well crafted, fresh and summery, this is one CD you want playing as you laze around in the sun this summer. My personal faves are Up At The Lake, Try Again & Hymn For You, although I don't think there are any weak tracks on the whole album ( a first for any band - including The Charlatans) Well done boys, a definate career high!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2004
I saw the Charlatans preview show for this album last night, and it is an absolute blinder!
The opening tracks of "Up at the Lake" and "Feel the Pressure" herald a stomping return to the rocky side of the Charlie vibe, with Tim dropping the falsetto of Wonderland. There's a couple of slow ones which build superbly in true Charlatans style on the rest of side 1, and then it's on to the masterpiece that is "Loving You is Easy", with Tony Rogers (keyboards) on lead vocals, and Tim backing. Sounds weird, I know, but it's sure to become a live favourite, and if you've not experienced them live yet, you haven't lived!
Apples and Oranges is also a stand out track, so called as it needed to have an English type title apparently! The final number "Dead Love" is a fab guitar and keyboard led ballad which closes the album beautifully.
From beginning to end, this is sure to please any fan, new or old. I loved Wonderland, but the vibe has returned bigger, better and rockier than last time!
Buy it now... it's going to be hard to beat as the album of 2004.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2004
I had the great pleasure of attending the charlatans albumn preview show in islington on 4th May 2004. In my opinion this band deserve to be at the very top of the British music tree. Their show was absolutely awesome. My fave tracks for all out bounce around rock and roll were, Apples and Oranges, Up at the Lake and Bonafide Treasure. The whole albumn is an absolute pleasure though with some blindingly good slower numbers. The Charlatans certainly knows how to write a love song and Dead Love and I'll Sing a Hymm are among two of their best. The albumn as a whole feels very British and i'm sure in a few years time it'll be talked about like how classic rolling stones and david bowie albumns are talked about now. An essential summer purchase.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2004
A classic from a classic. Elements of the whole history of the band combine to produce a masterclass in how to pluck every music/emotional string. A brilliant example of how a band is so much more than the sum of it's parts.
Some tracks make me feel a little to long-in-the-tooth with some of the licks reminding me of 10th and 11th, 1992 seems so very long-ago...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2004
How does a band keep on keeping on for so long and consistently get better and keep things fresh? Who knows but the Charlatans have figured it out so sit back and enjoy the ride. After the ace electric-soul groove of WONDERLAND, Tim and the lads return with an album of rockin' scorchers and fragile beauties. Inspired and inspiring, UP AT THE LAKE captures the band in top form. FEEL THE PRESSURE and BLUE FOR YOU already sound like anthems. Long may they run!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
since the 80s when the charlatans first appeared with the sound of madchester the've gone from strength to strength...their secret (well it's not really a secret at all) is to change or more to the point they have evolved! is a must album for any charlatans fan, and a must have for any one into good old honest rock with some lustful blues and some gentle soul!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
The Charlatans have beena round for a long time now and always seem to produce consistently good albums. This one is no different. The single "Up at the lake" opens up the album with an up tempo beat and a good melody.
"Feel the pressure" is next up and is probably the fastest and upbeat song on the album, certianly one to get ya dancing and singng along to in the car and was a live favourite at the recent shows.
The album slows downa bit through to the end but the beautiful "Loving you is easy" is a majestic and heart warming song, a true slow emotional love song. Also Tim on backing vocals is wierd but a welcome change.
"Try again today" is a typical Charlatans, a good tuen, the lyrics are meaningful and it gets your foot tapping.
Definitely worth a buy, go and buy it now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2004
Every morning I wake up with a different track from this album whirling round and round and round in my head.
Please help as it is now affecting my performance at work and also an ability to sleep!!!
Top stuff!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
How can a band stay so fresh and so good for so long? Who knows ... butTim and the lads have figured it out so enjoy the ride. After the lush,funky, electronic soul and rock of Wonderland, Up at the Lake is a returnto the band doing what they do best - being the Charlatans. Raw androckin' at times and beatifully fragile at others, this album features theband at their best. Blue For You & Feel The Pressue are early standouts.Could be another classic from these proper charlies ....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 April 2016
Although I wouldn't class The Charlatans' eighth record 'Up At The Lake' as being up there with the very best of this Manchester formed band's studio albums, it does have a lot of high points. It was probably the greatest thing that these guys had done as a whole since 1997's 'Tellin' Stories', or at least, it's the one which sounds the closest to it.

Here you'll find some good, well-crafted story-telling songs, including two hit singles, the rocking title track, and the optimistic Beatles-like 'Try Again Today', the latter providing a real highlight. Also particularly good are the funky 'Feel the Pressure', the emotional, Eagles-isque love song 'Loving You is Easy', which carries the unusual occasion of keyboard player Tony Rogers on lead vocals instead of Tim Burgess, and the closer 'Dead Love'. I found this to be a rare example of a record which actually improves halfway through, as good as the early tracks, two of which ('Up At The Lake' and 'Feel The Pressure') I've highlighted, are.

'Up At The Lake' is ultimately, a typical feel-good indie-rock album filled with catchy songs and irresistible melodies too sing-along to in the Summer. If you don't like all of it at first, and I admit that I wasn't particularly overwhelmed on this 2004 affair upon my first listen, chances are that it will grow on you eventually, so keep on spinning it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)